English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 August 2021, 14:42   #21
ross
Defendit numerus
 
ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 54
Posts: 4,483
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
That could be the case, of course


Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthWay View Post
I have one that came with a B2000 rev 4.2(or was it 4.1?), but I'm pretty sure it works fine with 85ms. IIRC I used E-Clock syncing to busy-wait.
It does definitely not work with a whole lot of stuff that assumes instant reaction like A500 keyboards.
Is your keyboard now on a base machine with a 68k 7MHz processor?
It might be interesting to try this stupid code, which practically zeroes the times of the 'extra' operations (whether they are loops, CIA timer checks or IRQ).

Code:
us	equ	85

	lea	$dff000,a5
	lea	$bfee01,a4
	move.w	#$4000,$9a(a5)
	move.w	#$0200,$96(a5)
	move.w	#$0200,$100(a5)
	moveq	#$40,d0
	moveq	#~$40,d1

.lo	btst	#6,-$e00(a4)
	bne.b	.tk
.ex	move.w	#$8200,$96(a5)
	move.w	#$c000,$9a(a5)
	moveq	#0,d0
	rts
.tk	btst	#3,-$100(a4)
	beq.b	.lo

	or.b	d0,(a4)
	REPT	us/5-1
	move.l	0.l,0.l		;36c ~5us
	ENDR
	and.b	d1,(a4)         ;36c
	move.w	6(a5),$180(a5)
	bra	.lo
EDIT:
[pedantic mode on]
The line
REPT us/5
really need to be
REPT us/5-1
because
and.b d1,(a4)
requires two accesses to the very slow CIAs, driven by E-clock @(CCK/5 D=.4).
This add another 36c to the count.
[pedantic mode off]

Last edited by ross; 03 August 2021 at 15:27.
ross is offline  
Old 03 August 2021, 19:10   #22
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 851
All my machines are more or less incommunicado at the moment, and to write out a floppy with that on requires them to be up and running. The kb is hooked up to my A1000 which would ofc be a perfect place to test it.

I had a 28MHz 040 in the B2000 at one time, and IIRC I just threw a bunch of REPT/ENDR to do a number of CIA accesses. I think I used it in my Bubble Bobble patch.
NorthWay is offline  
Old 03 August 2021, 19:35   #23
ross
Defendit numerus
 
ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 54
Posts: 4,483
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthWay View Post
All my machines are more or less incommunicado at the moment, and to write out a floppy with that on requires them to be up and running. The kb is hooked up to my A1000 which would ofc be a perfect place to test it.

I had a 28MHz 040 in the B2000 at one time, and IIRC I just threw a bunch of REPT/ENDR to do a number of CIA accesses. I think I used it in my Bubble Bobble patch.
It would be interesting to look at your patch, to understand how many cycles are actually used.

When it happen to use your A1000 and be able to use that code, let us know
ross is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga and multiple IRQs at the same time. ross Coders. Asm / Hardware 14 15 May 2019 17:31
WANTED: Mitsumi/Amiga Keyboard for parts to mod A1200 keyboard! ProdigalAmigan MarketPlace 13 09 July 2017 02:08
Keyboard Problem with AOS 4.1 FE Classic in WinUAE.. Keyboard doesn't work! QBit support.WinUAE 1 07 January 2015 13:43
Wanted: Amiga 600 keyboard membrane (Blue) or full keyboard assembly RetromanIE MarketPlace 8 19 August 2012 14:48
IRQs Big-Byte support.Hardware 5 01 June 2002 20:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:39.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08097 seconds with 13 queries