English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 January 2014, 23:31   #21
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
I've talked to cebulba. ... Maybe an ADF dump too, if it has manual protection only. We will see.
adf dump will be good, HOL says, it has hd-install, so this will be fine, i think.
he should try to create an extended adf - like dlfrsilver is doing all the time - so we can share this dump and are not restricted by CrAPS guidelines.

Last edited by emufan; 26 January 2014 at 23:40.
emufan is offline  
Old 27 January 2014, 01:48   #22
modrobert
old bearded fool
 
modrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangkok
Age: 56
Posts: 779
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
very cool. the crash is gone - "Build Fort" responses now with "not enough gold ..." - no more crash
no further testing done, but you can call yourself eab h3x05 - hope you dont mind
Thanks! I tested the "Build Fort" entry via cheat, you need roughly 5000 gold to afford a fort. The game lets you pick a general and place it on the war map.
modrobert is offline  
Old 27 January 2014, 02:24   #23
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,269
Thanks. It's a pretty interesting game with interesting graphics design. This series of games are probably the only Amiga games ever made in Japan, and the whole of East Asia. At least I've never seen any other Amiga games from there, so they stand out in this way, too.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 28 January 2014, 12:22   #24
rofl0r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: mt meru / hyberborea
Posts: 33
thanks, modrobert - works very well so far. i tested a couple of hours and everything seems alright. will let you know if some issue arises.

btw, maybe we should document the bugfix here, so other ppl using the bad floppies can fix it with a hexeditor (just in case the fixed files disappear from the web again). iirc the problem was that the value 0x16 is written into the d0 register instead of 0x15, right ? what's the exact byte sequence one has to look for ?
rofl0r is offline  
Old 28 January 2014, 14:58   #25
modrobert
old bearded fool
 
modrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangkok
Age: 56
Posts: 779
On the first disk 'ROMIIA' the file to patch is: data_a/rom2

Look for:

Code:
BF EC 5F 3C 65 00 05 38 70 00
...and replace it with:

Code:
70 16 BE 80 66 04 70 15 60 04

For those who are interested, here's the assembly with some comments.

Original (with "Build Fort" bug):

Code:
        cmpa.l $5F3C(a4),a7
        bcs $80CB16A ;this will never happen, c compiler bloat?
        moveq #0,d0

        move.b $B(a5),d0 ;d0 will be #$16 when bug occurs after selecting "build fort"
        asl.l #2,d0 ;now d0 is #$58 with bug
        lea -$17B4(a4),a0 ;get jump table offset start
        movea.l 0(a0,d0.l),a0 ;bad a0 now points to string data instead of correct jump vector (which is -4)
        jsr (a0) ;the instruction causing "address error" when a0 points to memory with odd address
        unlk a5 ;a lot of this shit going on in almost every subroutine, C or Pascal?
        rts
Patched:

Code:
        moveq #$16,d0 ;bug command for "build fort"
        cmp.l d0,d7 ;check if "bad fort", register d7 includes current menu command from previous check
        bne.s foo1 ;if other command, lets skip this
        moveq #$15,d0 ;d0 was bad #$16, lets move #$15 there instead
        bra.s foo2
;end patch, byte count match

foo1    move.b $B(a5),d0
foo2    asl.l #2,d0 ;after patch, d0 will be #$54 when "build fort" was selected
        lea -$17B4(a4),a0 ;get jump table offset start
        movea.l 0(a0,d0.l),a0 ;a0 now points to the correct jump vector for "build fort"
        jsr (a0)
        unlk a5
        rts
I debugged this on my A1200 (see sig) using MonAm (the debugger for Devpac 3), since it lacks direct assembly the opcodes were entered manually using the "hex edit" window.

Last edited by modrobert; 28 January 2014 at 17:04.
modrobert is offline  
Old 28 January 2014, 21:00   #26
rofl0r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: mt meru / hyberborea
Posts: 33
that's really cool. thanks!
rofl0r is offline  
Old 29 January 2014, 16:31   #27
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by rofl0r View Post
that's really cool. thanks!
i second this, thanks again, modrobert
emufan is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 09:06   #28
jedvard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Falun
Posts: 36
Hi does anyone know where to find this patched file?
jedvard is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 09:22   #29
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
 
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 46
Posts: 10,474
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
I have access to an original dump of ROTK II
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 09:47   #30
jedvard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Falun
Posts: 36
Would you please share?

Last edited by jedvard; 17 September 2018 at 12:14.
jedvard is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 12:30   #31
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
 
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 46
Posts: 10,474
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
yes but not yet, i'm at work.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 12:55   #32
DamienD
Banned
 
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 47
Posts: 20,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedvard View Post
Hi does anyone know where to find this patched file?
Have a look on the EAB File Server, 3rd file listed: click
DamienD is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 12:56   #33
jedvard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Falun
Posts: 36
Thanx alot in advance!
jedvard is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 13:12   #34
jedvard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Falun
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Have a look on the EAB File Server, 3rd file listed: click
Thanx alot but unfortunately they have the bug that makes the game crash when building forts
jedvard is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 13:29   #35
DamienD
Banned
 
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 47
Posts: 20,420
That's a shame, but should be easy to fix using modrobert's instructions:

Quote:
Originally Posted by modrobert View Post
On the first disk 'ROMIIA' the file to patch is: data_a/rom2

Look for:

Code:
BF EC 5F 3C 65 00 05 38 70 00
...and replace it with:

Code:
70 16 BE 80 66 04 70 15 60 04
...give me a few minutes.
DamienD is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 13:47   #36
DamienD
Banned
 
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 47
Posts: 20,420
Silly me; it's "Disk 1" that needs patching

Take a look in The Zone!, I've put an archive named "Romance of the Three Kingdoms II (1991)(KOEI)[f AGA BSC][f Build Fort modrobert][h Aeon].zip" which contains:

... Romance of the Three Kingdoms II (1991)(KOEI)(Disk 1 of 2)[f AGA BSC][f Build Fort modrobert][h Aeon].adf
... Romance of the Three Kingdoms II (1991)(KOEI)(Disk 2 of 2)[f AGA BSC][h Aeon].adf

Please test and report back.
DamienD is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 14:39   #37
jedvard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Falun
Posts: 36
Vow really amazing thanx for helping me im at work now but cant wait to get home tonight and try the files...and report. Again Thanx!
jedvard is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 14:43   #38
jedvard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Falun
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
yes but not yet, i'm at work.
Thanx and i really looking forward to compare your files to the files that damienD posted
jedvard is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 16:58   #39
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
 
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 46
Posts: 10,474
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Please check the zone
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 17:10   #40
Avanze
Amiga User
 
Avanze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 47
Posts: 563
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Please check the zone
You wouldn't happened to have an original of the first one too?
Avanze is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kingdoms of England 1 & 2 Mindrax Games images which need to be WHDified 5 23 August 2010 01:05
Kingdoms of England 1+2 Fieldday Games images which need to be WHDified 0 27 September 2009 12:42
Kingdoms of england Widriksen request.Old Rare Games 1 19 May 2006 17:39
Cloud Kingdoms config? Tim Janssen support.Games 2 08 July 2003 12:25
Cloud Kingdoms please Konrad request.Old Rare Games 4 10 May 2002 20:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:13.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10630 seconds with 14 queries