English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 May 2015, 11:41   #341
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!
 
Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobody View Post
Uploaded one rygar palette iff. 0-15 colors are sprites colors
Note that I converted those graphics before you uploaded that file. Sprite colours must be 16-31, not 0-15.

Also if you intend to have a single palette entry that changes colour down the screen, you need to allocate a garish colour ($ff00ff is a good choice) that won't be used anywhere in the graphics. So one of your 32 colours must disappear from the palette.

If your background sprites use that colour, it must be one of the entries 16-31 (and avoiding the divisible by 4 numbers), or use colour 0 - but that introduces another issue in that you will have to change that palette entry at the start of every vertical pixel and change it back to black at the end of each row, or have it bleed out the sides (which usually looks naff).
Codetapper is offline  
Old 09 May 2015, 12:49   #342
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codetapper View Post
Check the zone for Rygar_Level1_V2.zip. It's not exactly what you want, because I have no idea where each palette entry is supposed to be. You will have to remap the colours to whatever the final place is.

But you don't need me to reconvert the map, the original 256 colour graphics are rygar_level_1_2816x192.png, the 32 colour remapped graphics are rygar_level_1_2816x192_32col.png and you can just alter Level_1_16x16_Tiles.png in your paint program and remap them and use those.

Also be aware those rocks that Rygar stands on are drawn on later by the game, so they are not currently in the map. Someone else is welcome to add them.
Thanks mate, I just want to put sprite trick into copperl list to see how much power we left after that.

I was thinking the same thing about rock. It's a waste of time to draw them with blitter. It's better to have them into map.

I think that sprite's map should be done a little bit different. Since blitter need one word more to do shift, we have do add a 16pix betweem each frame, and put them aligned on byte into that .iff.

After that we have to have every rygars' frame as single file so I can convert them into sprite.

@Nobody, some help Mate?

Last edited by TCD; 09 May 2015 at 14:14. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 09 May 2015, 13:39   #343
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!
 
Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,187
You need to walk before you can run. Get a full sprite background and the player sprite appearing on a scrolling background before you do anything else!

I'm confused why you need 16 pixels between each frame of a sprite anyway? If you need to shift graphics, you simply blit an extra word for the width and use a modulo of -2 and a mask to make those bits 0.

Why on earth do you need to convert sprites into single files either? A table of offsets offsets should be enough! But if you can't get the code above working properly, doing all this extra work when the design might change again is a waste of time.

Once the design is proven to work, then you need to work out how many colours are available, which can be changed by the copper, which entries are going to be needed for sprites etc etc...
Codetapper is offline  
Old 09 May 2015, 13:43   #344
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codetapper View Post
You need to walk before you can run. Get a full sprite background and the player sprite appearing on a scrolling background before you do anything else!

I'm confused why you need 16 pixels between each frame of a sprite anyway? If you need to shift graphics, you simply blit an extra word for the width and use a modulo of -2 and a mask to make those bits 0.

Why on earth do you need to convert sprites into single files either? A table of offsets offsets should be enough! But if you can't get the code above working properly, doing all this extra work when the design might change again is a waste of time.

Once the design is proven to work, then you need to work out how many colours are available, which can be changed by the copper, which entries are going to be needed for sprites etc etc...
Since rygar is a sprite, I have to convert it into hw sprite and use it. I have all set as code.

About bob you're right, I just have to polish my Amiga skills..
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 09 May 2015, 17:20   #345
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Since we have this sprites parallax issue, I put it to side and going to works on buddies routines
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 11 May 2015, 14:18   #346
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
To All.

Rygar sprites' sheet is not usable, there are some issue there. First buddy is 33 pxl width, and if we keep this size we're going to waste blitter power.

The others are to close in the sheet, and if I try to use them, I'll ended up to write other frames' on screen.

Since blitter works on words, all buddies must be aligned to byte.

In order to speed up games' set-up I need to have left and right frames for each buddies.

And Last, some helpo to have for each buddies and item their size, and position on bit-map?
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 11 May 2015, 21:03   #347
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!
 
Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,187
Surely you mean "aligned to words" (not bytes), otherwise you will have to load the data and rearrange it in memory yourself. Consider an object 32 pixels wide and located at $1 in memory. The blitter would have to blit 3 words with a shift of 8 to extract it and put it on a word boundary in memory. Madness!
Codetapper is offline  
Old 12 May 2015, 06:25   #348
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codetapper View Post
Surely you mean "aligned to words" (not bytes), otherwise you will have to load the data and rearrange it in memory yourself. Consider an object 32 pixels wide and located at $1 in memory. The blitter would have to blit 3 words with a shift of 8 to extract it and put it on a word boundary in memory. Madness!
You're right! aligned to word 16 pixel.
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 12 May 2015, 09:56   #349
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
We've one buddy on screen, but we have a miss match palette with background.

Some helo to unify background and buddies?

sandruzzo is offline  
Old 12 May 2015, 10:05   #350
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!
 
Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,187
Nobody can see your links...
Codetapper is offline  
Old 12 May 2015, 10:07   #351
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codetapper View Post
Nobody can see your links...
Try this:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B03...hXMy1abmM/view
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 12 May 2015, 16:25   #352
CFou!
Moderator
 
CFou!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 51
Posts: 4,277
hi guys,

interesting thread

I liked code it if I had more free time

on aga a dualplayfield mode (16 colours per playfield) will by interesting...

or why not 5 bitplans for first plan (32 colours) and 3 bitsplans for background (8 colours+copperlist to add some colours) but coder lost dualplayfield advantages....

regards

Last edited by CFou!; 12 May 2015 at 17:02.
CFou! is offline  
Old 12 May 2015, 16:47   #353
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFOU! View Post
hi guys,

interesting thread

I liked encode if I had more free time

on aga a dualplayfield mode (16 colours per playfield) will by interesting...

or why not 5 bitplans for first plan (32 colours) and 3 bitsplans for background (8 colours+copperlist to add some colours) but coder lost dualplayfield advantages....

regards
to easy on aga
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 12 May 2015, 22:18   #354
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 3,590
@sandruzzo

Mentioned your efforts on NonSoloAmiga.com
saimon69 is online now  
Old 13 May 2015, 09:54   #355
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 3,590
@sandruzzo

Probably early but i drafted a bit the soundtrack in .mod;

you can find:
- begin at position 00 (not finished)
- main loop at position 02
- end stage at position 0b
- game over position 10 (not finished)
- new challenge position 11

Was considering to use a different original mod in the attractor mode (style r-type) but got no ideas yet.
rygar_test_1c.zip
saimon69 is online now  
Old 13 May 2015, 09:56   #356
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by saimon69 View Post
@sandruzzo

Probably early but i drafted a bit the soundtrack in .mod;

you can find:
- begin at position 00 (not finished)
- main loop at position 02
- end stage at position 0b
- game over position 10 (not finished)
- new challenge position 11

Was considering to use a different original mod in the attractor mode (style r-type) but got no ideas yet.
Attachment 44195
thanks mate!
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 14 May 2015, 13:56   #357
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
I need ammo
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 15 May 2015, 14:28   #358
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
No more stuff Mates?
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 15 May 2015, 18:53   #359
Amiga1992
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: ?
Posts: 19,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
No more stuff Mates?
What do you need at this point? Maybe I can help.
And how are you progressing?
Amiga1992 is offline  
Old 16 May 2015, 06:15   #360
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
What do you need at this point? Maybe I can help.
And how are you progressing?
I need the final background gfx and baddies too. Now their palette doesn't match
sandruzzo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rygar? Prosonic support.Games 7 09 June 2013 14:18
two more that borrow heavily from Rygar & Black Tiger NfernalNfluence Nostalgia & memories 5 30 September 2012 18:57
SCIENCE 451-RYGAR: same disks mrodfr project.TOSEC (amiga only) 0 26 December 2006 15:38
Wordworth conversion vertigo support.Apps 5 09 December 2003 14:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:10.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13527 seconds with 14 queries