English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General > Coders. Releases

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 September 2022, 23:38   #341
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 2,022
sneaky
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 07 September 2022, 09:59   #342
pipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post

line 323 in menunb.s :- move.ld0,WTagScreenPtr-WindowTags(a1) ; WA_CustomScreen
line 45 in screensetup.s :- move.ld0,MainWTagScreenPtr-MainWindowTags(a1) ; WA_CustomScreen

any ideas?
What these lines do is to stick the newly created Screen pointer into the WA_CustomScreen Tag in the window taglist. It lets the OS know that we want to open the window on this specific screen. So it seems the system doesn’t like our screens to open a window in?!
pipper is offline  
Old 07 September 2022, 10:02   #343
grond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post
so put everything back in menunb.s and screensetup.s and the only thing that allows me to run it under ks3.1 (in winuae) is commenting out the following.

line 323 in menunb.s :- move.l d0,WTagScreenPtr-WindowTags(a1) ; WA_CustomScreen
line 45 in screensetup.s :- move.l d0,MainWTagScreenPtr-MainWindowTags(a1) ; WA_CustomScreen

any ideas?
What are those lines supposed to do? Why the complicated address calculation when you only need to move the pointer to the slot after the corresponding tag? I would do something like "move.l d0,MainNewScreen" and be done with it. This is setup code, I wouldn't care about a few bytes and cycles wasted on the absolute address mode.

Should I perhaps dig out my setup code for system-friendly 8bit screens with invisible input window, cleared mouse pointer etc?
grond is offline  
Old 07 September 2022, 10:51   #344
grond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,926
Some things I noticed: are you using a single BitMap structure and update the actual pointers in the structure when you do double buffering? (There are two Rasters allocated but I can only see one BitMap). I think I use two BitMap structures with fixed pointers each.

I would remove the WA_Flags tags. And I would use the corresponding tag for the empty custom mouse pointer instead of doing a separate call to SetPointer().
grond is offline  
Old 07 September 2022, 11:37   #345
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by vroom6sri View Post
I'm not the greatest with this but it looks to me like you haven't filled in the path for where all your AB3D2 assets are saved so they won't be found.

The first line needs to read:

assign tkg1: "[the path to your AB3D2 folder]"
This is only necessary if you use an old OS version, i.e. OS 1. OS 3 is using current directory (as explained already) if you choose "" as path. OS 2 should also work but I'm not sure. Just check the docs or try it.
daxb is offline  
Old 07 September 2022, 13:41   #346
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 2,022
@grond
Do Please share anything you feel is relevant to the project
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 07 September 2022, 19:26   #347
pipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 676
Code:
 Why the complicated address calculation when you only need to move the pointer to the slot after the corresponding tag? I would do something like "move.l d0,MainNewScreen" and be done with it.
No particular reason. Saves a relocation. Is it wrong, though?

Code:
Some things I noticed: are you using a single BitMap structure and update the actual pointers in the structure when you do double buffering?
Currently this is done via ScrollVPort. Its not done VSync'ed, thats why sometimes you'll notice a flicker on screen which looks like corrupt colors.

Code:
				; Flip screens
				move.l	MainScreen,a1
				lea		sc_ViewPort(a1),a1
				move.l	a1,a0
				move.l	vp_RasInfo(a1),a1
				move.l	ri_BitMap(a1),a1
				lea		bm_Planes(a1),a1

				moveq.l	#7,d1
.putPlanePtr	move.l	d0,(a1)+
				add.l	#10240,d0
				dbra	d1,.putPlanePtr
				; viewport still in a0
				CALLGRAF ScrollVPort
Eventually this should be replaced via ChangeScreenBuffer http://amigadev.elowar.com/read/ADCD.../node039A.html
pipper is offline  
Old 07 September 2022, 19:45   #348
pipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 676
@Karlos, I really like those test levels. They really show the rendering artifacts. Especially the floor rendering looks appalling…. Desperately needs more precision and some rethinking on how to properly sample from the floor textures.

The inverted floor textures likely stem from a mismatch between the game‘s coordinate system ( x pointing right, z pointing away from the player) and the floor texture coordinate system. We could try to invert this mismatch at various places, but the easiest would probably be to flip the floor texture upside down upon loading.
pipper is offline  
Old 07 September 2022, 20:14   #349
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,475
@pipper - due to work commitments they are all that I can manage in a lunch break. I'll get back to some actual software effort when it dies down.

Regarding the floors, unless we plan to have text on the floor textures (which you might have in places), I think that's a non issue really. We'd never have noticed it without specifically trying to see the size info.
Karlos is offline  
Old 07 September 2022, 20:52   #350
grond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post
@grond
Do Please share anything you feel is relevant to the project

This is code I have reused many times, perhaps it helps. It has quite some stuff that isn't necessary here but I erroneously posted a different (cut-down) version a few minutes ago that didn't have all the features I thought it had. Thus, I just keep this one as it is, I bet you can cut out the unneeded stuff easily.


Code:
*	install
*
*	opens a screen and sets palette

*	uninstall
*
*	closes the screen

		machine	68020

		xdef	setup
		xdef	time1
		xdef	time2
		xdef	cleanup
		xdef	chipout
		xdef	do_dblbuf
		xdef	fastbuffer
		xdef	workbuffer

		incdir	"include:"
		include	"lvo/exec_lvo.i"
		include	"lvo/intuition_lvo.i"
		include	"lvo/graphics_lvo.i"
		include	"lvo/timer_lvo.i"
		include	"exec/memory.i"
		include	"exec/interrupts.i"
		include	"hardware/intbits.i"
		include	"intuition/screens.i"
		include	"graphics/modeid.i"
		include	"graphics/gfx.i"
		include	"devices/timer.i"
		include	"intuition/pointerclass.i"

WIDTH		equ	320
HEIGHT		equ	256
DEPTH		equ	6
CHIPSIZE	equ	WIDTH*HEIGHT*DEPTH/8
PLANE		equ	CHIPSIZE/DEPTH
FASTSIZE	equ	WIDTH*HEIGHT


********************************************************************************

setup:
		movem.l	d1-a6,-(sp)

; store interrupt parameters to interrupt struct
		move.l	a0,vbis_Data
		move.l	a1,vbis_Code

		move.l	4,a6

		move.l	#INTB_VERTB,d0
		lea	struct_int,a1
		jsr	_LVOAddIntServer(a6)

		lea	timername,a0
		lea	timerrequest,a1
		moveq	#0,d0
		moveq	#0,d1
		jsr	_LVOOpenDevice(a6)
		move.l	timerrequest+IO_DEVICE,timerbase
		move.l	d0,timerflag
		bne	error_exit

		moveq	#39,d0
		lea	intlib,a1
		jsr	_LVOOpenLibrary(a6)
		move.l	d0,intbase
		beq	error_exit

		moveq	#39,d0
		lea	gfxlib,a1
		jsr	_LVOOpenLibrary(a6)
		move.l	d0,gfxbase
		beq	error_exit

		move.l	gfxbase,a6
		moveq	#-1,d0
		jsr	_LVOSetChipRev(a6)

		lea	bestidtags,a0
		jsr	_LVOBestModeIDA(a6)
		move.l	d0,idtag
		beq	error_exit

		move.l	4,a6
		move.l	#FASTSIZE,d0
		move.l	#MEMF_FAST|MEMF_CLEAR,d1
		jsr	_LVOAllocVec(a6)
		move.l	d0,fastbuffer
		beq	error_exit

		move.l	gfxbase,a6
		move.l	#WIDTH,d0
		move.l	#HEIGHT,d1
		move.l	#DEPTH,d2
;		move.l	#BMF_CLEAR|BMF_INTERLEAVED|BMF_DISPLAYABLE,d3
		move.l	#BMF_CLEAR|BMF_DISPLAYABLE,d3
		sub.l	a0,a0
		jsr	_LVOAllocBitMap(a6)
		move.l	d0,bitmap1
		beq	error_exit
		move.l	d0,scrbm

; test bitmap properties
		move.l	d0,a0
		cmpi.w	#WIDTH/8,bm_BytesPerRow(a0)
		bne	error_exit
		cmpi.w	#HEIGHT,bm_Rows(a0)
		bne	error_exit
		move.l	#WIDTH/8*HEIGHT,d0
		lea	bm_Planes(a0),a0
		moveq	#DEPTH-2,d2
.loop1
		move.l	4(a0),d1
		sub.l	(a0)+,d1
		cmp.l	d0,d1
		bne	error_exit
		dbra	d2,.loop1

		move.l	#WIDTH,d0
		move.l	#HEIGHT,d1
		move.l	#DEPTH,d2
;		move.l	#BMF_CLEAR|BMF_INTERLEAVED|BMF_DISPLAYABLE,d3
		move.l	#BMF_CLEAR|BMF_DISPLAYABLE,d3
		sub.l	a0,a0
		jsr	_LVOAllocBitMap(a6)
		move.l	d0,bitmap2
		beq	error_exit

; test bitmap properties
		move.l	d0,a0
		cmpi.w	#WIDTH/8,bm_BytesPerRow(a0)
		bne	error_exit
		cmpi.w	#HEIGHT,bm_Rows(a0)
		bne	error_exit
		move.l	#WIDTH/8*HEIGHT,d0
		lea	bm_Planes(a0),a0
		moveq	#DEPTH-2,d2
.loop2
		move.l	4(a0),d1
		sub.l	(a0)+,d1
		cmp.l	d0,d1
		bne	error_exit
		dbra	d2,.loop2

		move.l	intbase,a6
		sub.l	a0,a0
		lea	screentags,a1
		jsr	_LVOOpenScreenTagList(a6)
		move.l	d0,myscreen
		beq	error_exit

		move.l	d0,a0
		move.l	bitmap1,a1
		moveq	#0,d0
		jsr	_LVOAllocScreenBuffer(a6)
		move.l	d0,screenbuf1
		beq	error_exit

		move.l	d0,nextscrbuf
		move.l	d0,a0
		move.l	sb_BitMap(a0),a0
		move.l	bm_Planes(a0),a0
		move.l	a0,chipout

		move.l	myscreen,a0
		move.l	bitmap2,a1
		moveq	#0,d0
		jsr	_LVOAllocScreenBuffer(a6)
		move.l	d0,screenbuf2
		beq	error_exit

		move.l	gfxbase,a6
		move.l	#16,d0				;xsize
		move.l	#1,d1				;ysize
		move.l	#2,d2				;depth
		move.l	#BMF_CLEAR|BMF_DISPLAYABLE,d3	;flags
		sub.l	a0,a0				;FriendBitMap
		jsr	_LVOAllocBitMap(a6)
		move.l	d0,mysprbm1
		beq	error_exit

		move.l	intbase,a6
		sub.l	a0,a0
		lea	pointerclass,a1
		lea	pointertags,a2
		jsr	_LVONewObjectA(a6)
		move.l	d0,pointerobject
		beq	error_exit

		move.l	intbase,a6
		sub.l	a0,a0
		lea	windowtags,a1
		jsr	_LVOOpenWindowTagList(a6)
		move.l	d0,mywindow
		beq	error_exit

		moveq	#0,d0
		movem.l	(sp)+,d1-a6
		rts

error_exit:
		moveq	#-1,d0
		movem.l	(sp)+,d1-a6
		rts


********************************************************************************

do_dblbuf:
		move.l	a6,-(sp)
		move.l	intbase,a6
		move.l	myscreen,a0
		move.l	nextscrbuf,a1
		jsr	_LVOChangeScreenBuffer(a6)

		move.l	framecount,d0
		addq.l	#1,d0
		move.l	d0,framecount
		btst	#0,d0
		beq	.oddframe
		move.l	screenbuf1,a0
		move.l	a0,nextscrbuf
		bra	.endif
.oddframe:
		move.l	screenbuf2,a0
		move.l	a0,nextscrbuf
.endif:
		move.l	sb_BitMap(a0),a0
		move.l	bm_Planes(a0),a0
		move.l	a0,chipout

		move.l	(sp)+,a6
		rts


********************************************************************************

time1:
		move.l	a6,-(sp)
		move.l	timerbase,a6
		lea	first,a0
		jsr	_LVOReadEClock(a6)
		move.l	(sp)+,a6
		rts


********************************************************************************

time2:
		movem.l	d2/a2/a6,-(sp)
		move.l	timerbase,a6
		lea	second,a0
		jsr	_LVOReadEClock(a6)
		move.l	d0,d2
		lea	second,a0
		lea	first,a1
		jsr	_LVOSubTime(a6)

; average:
		move.l	lasttime,d1
		bne	.skip
		add.l	4(a0),d1
.skip:		
		add.l	4(a0),d1
		asr.l	#1,d1
		move.l	d1,lasttime

		move.l	d2,d0
		mulu.l	#1000,d0
		divu.l	d1,d0
		lea	outputstring,a0

		move.l	#10000,d1

		divu.w	d1,d0
		move.b	d0,d2
		beq	.leadingzero

		add.b	#"0",d2			; convert to ASCII
		move.b	d2,(a0)+
		bra	.next

.leadingzero:
		move.b	#" ",(a0)+

.next:
		sub.w	d0,d0
		swap	d0
		divu.w	#10,d1
		divu.w	d1,d0
		move.b	d0,d2
		add.b	#"0",d2			; convert to ASCII
		move.b	d2,(a0)+

		move.b	#",",(a0)+

		sub.w	d0,d0
		swap	d0
		divu.w	#10,d1
		divu.w	d1,d0
		move.b	d0,d2
		add.b	#"0",d2			; convert to ASCII
		move.b	d2,(a0)+

		sub.w	d0,d0
		swap	d0
		divu.w	#10,d1
		divu.w	d1,d0
		move.b	d0,d2
		add.b	#"0",d2			; convert to ASCII
		move.b	d2,(a0)+

		move.l	#" fps",(a0)+
;		move.b	#" ",(a0)

		move.l	gfxbase,a6
		move.l	myscreen,a0
		lea	sc_RastPort(a0),a1
		lea	sc_ViewPort(a0),a0
		move.l	vp_RasInfo(a0),a0
		move.w	ri_RyOffset(a0),d1
		move.l	a1,a2
		clr.l	d0
		add.w	#10,d1
		ext.l	d1
		jsr	_LVOMove(a6)

		lea	outputstring,a0
		move.l	a2,a1
		moveq	#9,d0
		jsr	_LVOText(a6)
		movem.l	(sp)+,d2/a2/a6
		rts


********************************************************************************

cleanup:
		movem.l	d0-a6,-(sp)
		move.l	4,a6

		move.l	#INTB_VERTB,d0
		lea	struct_int,a1
		jsr	_LVORemIntServer(a6)

		tst.l	timerflag
		bne	.skip1
		lea	timerrequest,a1
		jsr	_LVOCloseDevice(a6)
.skip1:
		move.l	intbase,d0
		beq	.skip2
		move.l	d0,a6
		move.l	pointerobject,d0
		beq	.skip2
		move.l	d0,a0
		jsr	_LVODisposeObject(a6)
.skip2:

		move.l	gfxbase,d0
		beq	.skip3
		move.l	d0,a6
		move.l	mysprbm1,d0
		beq	.skip3
		move.l	d0,a0
		jsr	_LVOFreeBitMap(a6)
.skip3:

		move.l	intbase,d0
		beq	.skip4
		move.l	d0,a6
		move.l	mywindow,d0
		beq	.skip4
		move.l	d0,a0
		jsr	_LVOCloseWindow(a6)
.skip4:

		move.l	intbase,d0
		beq	.skip5
		move.l	d0,a6
		move.l	myscreen,d0
		beq	.skip5
		move.l	d0,a0
		move.l	screenbuf1,d0
		beq	.skip5
		move.l	d0,a1
		jsr	_LVOFreeScreenBuffer(a6)
.skip5:

		move.l	intbase,d0
		beq	.skip6
		move.l	d0,a6
		move.l	myscreen,d0
		beq	.skip6
		move.l	d0,a0
		move.l	screenbuf2,d0
		beq	.skip6
		move.l	d0,a1
		jsr	_LVOFreeScreenBuffer(a6)
.skip6:

		move.l	intbase,d0
		beq	.skip7
		move.l	d0,a6
		move.l	myscreen,d0
		beq	.skip7
		move.l	d0,a0
		jsr	_LVOCloseScreen(a6)
.skip7:

		move.l	gfxbase,d0
		beq	.skip8
		move.l	d0,a6
		move.l	bitmap1,d0
		beq	.skip8
		move.l	d0,a0
		jsr	_LVOFreeBitMap(a6)
.skip8:

		move.l	gfxbase,d0
		beq	.skip9
		move.l	d0,a6
		move.l	bitmap2,d0
		beq	.skip9
		move.l	d0,a0
		jsr	_LVOFreeBitMap(a6)
.skip9:

		move.l	4,a6
		move.l	gfxbase,d0
		beq	.skip10
		move.l	d0,a1
		jsr	_LVOCloseLibrary(a6)
.skip10:

		move.l	intbase,d0
		beq	.skip11
		move.l	d0,a1
		jsr	_LVOCloseLibrary(a6)
.skip11:

		move.l	fastbuffer,d0
		beq	.skip12
		move.l	d0,a1
		jsr	_LVOFreeVec(a6)
.skip12:

		movem.l	(sp)+,d0-a6
		rts

********************************************************************************

diminfo:	ds.b	dim_SIZEOF
bitmap1:	dc.l	0
bitmap2:	dc.l	0
chipout:	dc.l	0
nextscrbuf:	dc.l	0
screenbuf1:	dc.l	0
screenbuf2:	dc.l	0
framecount:	dc.l	0
fastbuffer:	dc.l	0
intbase:	dc.l	0
gfxbase:	dc.l	0
timerbase:	dc.l	0
timerflag:	dc.l	-1
first:		dc.l	0,0
second:		dc.l	0,0
lasttime:	dc.l	0
mywindow:	dc.l	0

struct_int:
vbis_Succ:	dc.l	0
vbis_Pred:	dc.l	0
vbis_Type:	dc.b	NT_INTERRUPT
vbis_Pri:	dc.b	-127
vbis_Name:	dc.l	0
vbis_Data:	dc.l	0
vbis_Code:	dc.l	0

timerrequest:	ds.b	IOTV_SIZE
timername:	dc.b	"timer.device",0
outputstring:	dcb.b	10
intlib:		dc.b	"intuition.library",0
gfxlib:		dc.b	"graphics.library",0
pointerclass:	dc.b	"pointerclass",0

	cnop	0,4

screentags:	dc.l	SA_Left,0,SA_Top,0,SA_Width,WIDTH,SA_Height,HEIGHT,SA_DisplayID
idtag:		dc.l	0,SA_BitMap
scrbm:		dc.l	0
		dc.l	SA_Type,CUSTOMSCREEN,SA_Quiet,1
		dc.l	SA_Colors32,palette,SA_Draggable,0,TAG_END

bestidtags:	dc.l	BIDTAG_NominalWidth,WIDTH,BIDTAG_NominalHeight,HEIGHT,BIDTAG_Depth,DEPTH
		dc.l	BIDTAG_DIPFMustHave,DIPF_IS_EXTRAHALFBRITE,TAG_END

windowtags:	dc.l	WA_Left,0,WA_Top,0,WA_Width,WIDTH,WA_Height,HEIGHT
		dc.l	WA_IDCMP,IDCMP_VANILLAKEY,WA_CustomScreen
myscreen:	dc.l	0,WA_Borderless,1,WA_Activate,1,WA_Backdrop,1,WA_RMBTrap,1
		dc.l	WA_Pointer
pointerobject:	dc.l	0
		dc.l	TAG_END

pointertags:	dc.l	POINTERA_BitMap
mysprbm1:	dc.l	0
		dc.l	POINTERA_WordWidth,1,TAG_END


palette:
		incdir	"."
		include	"palette.i"

Last edited by grond; 09 September 2022 at 09:52.
grond is offline  
Old 07 September 2022, 21:44   #351
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,475
@pipper

Just one more thing (Columbo mode) on the floor sampling. Each zone has a scale factor for the flat textures, where 0 is the default, each successive negative number magnifies by a factor or 2 and each successive positive number reduces by a power of two. I think, at least subjectivity looking at the outputs that the errors in the sampling get magnified, which likely suggests some sequence of fixed point operations that could be reordered to reduce the sampling error.

I will have to make an area to test that idea
Karlos is offline  
Old 07 September 2022, 22:13   #352
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 2,022
so shoe horned some of the pointer/window handling from Grond into the menunb.s and screensetup.s and it works for me in ks3.1

changes and an executable in attached .zip

thanks Grond

edit: also had to add 'include intuition/pointerclass.i' to system.i

Last edited by abu_the_monkey; 15 September 2022 at 01:01.
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 07 September 2022, 23:28   #353
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,475
@abu_the_monkey

Have you checked this in UAE without any memory at $10000000 (i.e. the 32-bit chip ram) ?
Karlos is offline  
Old 07 September 2022, 23:35   #354
grond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,926
Glad I could help! I always liked how far you could get with AmigaOS without killing the OS. In my opinion people that always kill the system first are rather ignorant.
grond is offline  
Old 07 September 2022, 23:45   #355
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 2,022
@Karlos
yes. just a plain 3.1 install ks3.1 040 2mb chip and 64mb z3 fast.
there is a glitch when exiting a game back to menu, the scrolling background is out of whack but other than that seems ok.

@Grond
nice one
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 08 September 2022, 00:38   #356
pipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 676
For shutting down the OS to a bare minimum there's also lowlevel.library's "SystemControlA" function. Maybe one day this could be used. But the hardware we target should be capable of leaving the OS alive.

http://amigadev.elowar.com/read/ADCD.../node046F.html

I'll try tonight and see if I can incorporate some of Grond's code. In particular the mousepointer code. This way I can skip creating a window altogether.

The issues with this executable are getting weirder and weirder. In my minimal-3.1 WinUAE setup the latest executable runs just fine. But when I switch to a setup closer to my real machine (Blizzard 1230-IV plus memory, Blizkicks and other patches) and kickstart 3.1 it refuses to start or it gets into the main menu but then crashes when actually attempting to play the game.
pipper is offline  
Old 08 September 2022, 00:57   #357
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 2,022
Some of the issues could be caused by me hacking bits in/out I guess, if you are referring to the executable I posted.
So yeah, probably needs someone with a better understanding to go over it and work their magic

edit: I have just tested (not extensively obviously) the executable I posted with winuae, emulated blizzard 1230-IV, 4mb fast mem, no patches just maprom and it seems to run ok. (the menu is plain i.e. no fire or scrolling backdrop as I had commented them out but have tested with them back in and it seems the same)

Last edited by abu_the_monkey; 08 September 2022 at 01:32.
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 08 September 2022, 01:44   #358
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 2,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by pipper View Post
I'll try tonight and see if I can incorporate some of Grond's code. In particular the mousepointer code. This way I can skip creating a window altogether.
I think you will still have to open a window as that is when the WA_Pointer tag gets used, or am i reading things wrong as per usual?
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 08 September 2022, 07:09   #359
grond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post
I think you will still have to open a window as that is when the WA_Pointer tag gets used, or am i reading things wrong as per usual?
You are correct. But the window doesn't hurt.
grond is offline  
Old 08 September 2022, 13:49   #360
Angus
Amiga Games Database
 
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 1,288
I tried the pipper_HiRes and the Grond Hires exes on my 1200 Blizzard 1260 system:


Pipper's behaved the same as the earlier one, black screen, locked up, and my WB
mouse pointer left visible.

The Grond one behaved the same, except the mouse pointer could not be seen.

Incidentally, I usually run Newmode, but have been disabling it with this TKG project, however when I keep it in place and run any of these TKG exes, the freeze happens on workbench as soon as the Newmode prefs window opens, not allowing me to select anything. Don't know if that is indicative of anything useful.

Oh, I assume the 2 other files (screen and menu .s files) just get placed in the main game directory with the exe? I couldn't find files with similar names to replace.
Angus is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alien Breed 3D II The Killing Grounds RTG patch Angus Retrogaming General Discussion 63 14 December 2022 15:20
Alien Breed & Alien Breed '92: SE - delay when picking up items / opening doors Ian support.WinUAE 16 23 December 2016 15:50
Alien Breed 3D II : The Killing Grounds code booklet alexh support.Games 19 10 October 2012 22:17
Alien Breed 3D 2 - The Killing Grounds Ironclaw support.Games 12 13 September 2005 13:07
HD Version of Alien Breed I ? Kintaro request.Old Rare Games 20 31 July 2003 10:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:28.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.22595 seconds with 14 queries