English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. AMOS

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 July 2023, 21:23   #261
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post
@Karlos

feel free to open a feature request on git to remind me
Done!
Karlos is online now  
Old 26 July 2023, 23:54   #262
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,490
I have to say, it's come a long way. I'm starting to forget what it was like, (in)stability wise.

The only common crashes now are, I think, something akin to null pointer bugs when doing things like moving a control point and accidentally trying to place before choosing.
Karlos is online now  
Old 27 July 2023, 00:09   #263
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 2,023
I like to think it is becoming more user friendly

Like you said, there are still areas that need attention before looking into proper 'new' features though
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 27 July 2023, 19:10   #264
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,490
This isn't a LevelEd issue per se, but I didn't want to create another huge stampede of posts from the horde of AMOS practitioners here...

I wasted my entire lunch break today trying to figure out why on Earth I couldn't generate non-corrupted lightsourced bitmaps using the included 256Lit / CompressHQN (formerly called compresslight in the original editors).

The workflow is that you provide 5 images. The first is a basic colourmap of the object frames. The next four are 31-greyscale images (index 0 the background is reserved and can be any colour) of the object frames illuminated from top, bottom, left and right respectively. The 256lit converts these to a cryptically named HQN file (I am assuming that N might stand for "normals" here, in the bumpmappy sense) and a palette file. You then have to use the other tool to compress the HQN file into the more regular "wad" and "ptr" files.

Each time I was getting an in-game result where the overall colourmap was sensible but the lighting components were totally trashed. This is odd, because I successfully incorporated other examples from the source code release back in the 90's.

It turns out the problem was something stupid. My left/right/top/bottom lightmap .iff files had been saved with a stencil from the edits I was making. Reloading and freeing those resulted in the "correct" lightmapped in game result.

The connection with LevelEd is that it's built-in IFF -> HQN converter doesn't seem to work at all.
Karlos is online now  
Old 28 July 2023, 00:43   #265
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 2,023
@Karlos

Quote:
The connection with LevelEd is that it's built-in IFF -> HQN converter doesn't seem to work at all.
for me if I try to covert say the 'ashnarg' it works right up till I select what/where to save the output and then bombs with 'bank not reserved'

is this the same behaviour you get?
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 28 July 2023, 01:41   #266
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 2,023
IFF -> HQN converter raised as an issue on github
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 28 July 2023, 09:54   #267
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post
@Karlos



for me if I try to covert say the 'ashnarg' it works right up till I select what/where to save the output and then bombs with 'bank not reserved'

is this the same behaviour you get?
That is one behaviour. If I tell it the filename wirh a .hqn extension, it fails silently. You end up with a .wad and .ptr file that are basically empty.
Karlos is online now  
Old 03 August 2023, 18:40   #268
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 2,023
Quote:
The only common crashes now are, I think, something akin to null pointer bugs when doing things like moving a control point and accidentally trying to place before choosing.
here is a build which addresses this issue with the moving of control points before selecting one, removed the 'stats button' as it is now redundant due to the title bar option, so have included the original EditorGUI.IFF, also includes an early experiment to cycle through the buttons with 'F1'

Last edited by abu_the_monkey; 04 August 2023 at 00:56.
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 03 August 2023, 22:16   #269
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 2,023
started working on having different keyboard shortcuts for different edit modes.
F1 cycles the mode
top row number keys select the button

mode 1. geometry
keys
1 = +/- points
2 = define zones
3 = define heights
4 = define doors
5 = define lifts

mode 2. textures
keys
1 = lower roof graphics
2 = lower wall graphics
3 = lower floor graphics
4 = upper roof graphics
5 = upper wall graphics
6 = upper floor graphics

mode 3. lighting
keys
1 = upper point brightness
2 = lower point brightness
3 = upper wall bright offset
4 = lower wall bright offset

mode 4. objects
keys
1 = add object
2 = move object
3 = delete object
4 = place player

mode 5. control points
keys
1 = add control points
2 = move control points
3 = link control points
4 = link lower zone to control points
5 = link upper zone to control points

still need to add text to indicate what mode you are currently in but seems to work as expected. which is nice
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 03 August 2023, 22:16   #270
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post
here is a build which addresses this issue with the moving of control points before selecting one, removed the 'stats button' as it is now redundant due to the title bar option, so have included the original EditorGUI.IFF, also includes an early experiment to cycle through the buttons with 'F1'
Will give it a spin momentarily!
Karlos is online now  
Old 03 August 2023, 22:17   #271
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,490
Big grin

Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post
started working on having different keyboard shortcuts for different edit modes.
F1 cycles the mode
top row number keys select the button

mode 1. geometry
keys
1 = +/- points
2 = define zones
3 = define heights
4 = define doors
5 = define lifts

mode 2. textures
keys
1 = lower roof graphics
2 = lower wall graphics
3 = lower floor graphics
4 = upper roof graphics
5 = upper wall graphics
6 = upper floor graphics

mode 3. lighting
keys
1 = upper point brightness
2 = lower point brightness
3 = upper wall bright offset
4 = lower wall bright offset

mode 4. objects
keys
1 = add object
2 = move object
3 = delete object
4 = place player

mode 5. control points
keys
1 = add control points
2 = move control points
3 = link control points
4 = link lower zone to control points
5 = link upper zone to control points

still need to add text to indicate what mode you are currently in but seems to work as expected. which is nice
Most of these tools open a window anyway, right?
Karlos is online now  
Old 03 August 2023, 22:22   #272
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 2,023
they do but if you are in the mode for lighting you will not know and will not know how many times to cycle the mode select with F1 to get to say geometry mode.
maybe the F keys 1-5 should set the edit mode?
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 03 August 2023, 22:34   #273
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post
they do but if you are in the mode for lighting you will not know and will not know how many times to cycle the mode select with F1 to get to say geometry mode.
maybe the F keys 1-5 should set the edit mode?
Right, yes, I see what you mean. Maybe it can be displayed as an extra string in the stats overlay panel?
Karlos is online now  
Old 03 August 2023, 22:36   #274
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 2,023
I was going to see if there was a way to shoehorn it into the title bar so it will not add any more furniture to the main window.
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 03 August 2023, 23:07   #275
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,490
I've donwnloaded the version you posted but at least for me, F1 appears to cycle through the buttons on the main toolbar in order and the regular number keys don't appear to do anything?
Karlos is online now  
Old 04 August 2023, 00:31   #276
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 2,023
give me 10 minuets, I will upload the latest build
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 04 August 2023, 00:34   #277
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 2,023
here it is, the correct version this time
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	108.png
Views:	20
Size:	40.6 KB
ID:	79853  

Last edited by abu_the_monkey; 01 October 2023 at 16:53.
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 04 August 2023, 09:59   #278
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post
here it is, the correct version this time
Sorry man, I flaked out!
Karlos is online now  
Old 04 August 2023, 20:37   #279
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 2,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karlos View Post
Sorry man, I flaked out!
no worries, there is no rush
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 05 August 2023, 00:23   #280
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post
no worries, there is no rush
This is awesome! Very simple to navigate. I do have a couple of things to note though:

1. It would be nice to have an option to switch to "no tool view", e.g. press zero or something to move to one of the unused tool modes.

2. If a popup window is selected, the main application still switches context when pressing any of the shortcut keys. This may be a problem because some have numeric input boxes and if you type accidentally without highlighting the box, you are suddenly in a different tool view. OTOH, maybe you really do want to switch tool views immediately. I think the best way to do that is to perhaps use the other function keys rather than the number line.
Karlos is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RemApollo Help required please. Pollock support.Hardware 2 20 September 2019 21:30
Help required with A1500 Hoops support.Hardware 7 05 August 2008 20:46
Required? girv project.SPS (was CAPS) 1 24 December 2006 15:47
Required ICONS... nikvest request.Other 2 10 July 2006 02:23
More help required Galahad/FLT request.Demos 2 16 August 2002 21:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:02.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10756 seconds with 14 queries