English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old Yesterday, 18:05   #2061
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 56
Posts: 2,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Richter View Post
Which means that the amount of users that profit from that is extremely limited, and the amount of hard-to-detect errors due to improper error checking increases. Besides, as I already said, it conflicts with existing hardware.




That depends on the configuration.



Again, the purpose of the zero page is *not* to act as a trampoline for MuRedox. The purpose of the zero page is to detect NULL pointers by MuForce. How large that area needs to be depends on the MMU page size, and the MMU page size you can configure. It is not by accident that the maximum MMU page size *also* matches the 32K zero page size, and conveniently also matches the size of the MacOs globals.
MacGlobals are relocated to other memory area by Mac emulators, Fusion and Shapeshifter.

Whow, you want to made with every Amiga debugging machine?
For what?
This is very useless option for average Amiga user.
And for about 99% cases, 1KB of zero page is enough to find wrong access bugs.

As choosable OPTION it can be acceptable.
As DEFAULT this only wasted Amiga resources.
And is totally useless for Amigas with 68000, 68010, 68020,68080, 68040 (PiStorm version).

Too bad that you are not Amiga games player.
You can learn how bugs are catched by WHDLoad.
Don_Adan is offline  
Old Yesterday, 18:08   #2062
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 56
Posts: 2,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Richter View Post
Correct, in case you haven't understood it so far.
Really,? You made one BIG HOLE in Amiga memory. Available for strange programs.
Even in C new viruses can be written, due many free and unused memory for 68000/68020.
Don_Adan is offline  
Old Yesterday, 18:16   #2063
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 873
Just a curio: I patched my KS(3.1) to start chipmem from $0000F000, but I have a well expanded machine so I'm not bothered.
Oh, and I tried using $00010000 but I'm not sure what happened there: I just got a grey screen. I looked a lot at it, but couldn't find any obvious bug in what I did. *Shrug*
NorthWay is offline  
Old Yesterday, 20:39   #2064
aros-sg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Italy
Posts: 197
Maybe it would be possible to ~delay the 32k reservation in boot sequence. Make it such that ~relocatable "stuff" ends up in this low memory area and somewhere later in startup-sequence (a chip memory hungry game would start before that) move the stuff out of the way.

Relocatable things may be copperlists, buffer for sprite, bitplanes, ...

Known/~fixed MEMF_CHIP allocations that happen at every boot would/could be built into a table at kickstart build/compile time and early in the boot sequence the entries in the table would be AllocAbs()ed. So they are basically pre-allocated at build time.
aros-sg is offline  
Old Yesterday, 20:55   #2065
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Adan View Post
MacGlobals are relocated to other memory area by Mac emulators, Fusion and Shapeshifter.
Are you now making up such statements? You *cannot* relocate the globals - point being that they are accessed by MacOs programs. These are globals because programs access them there.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Adan View Post
Whow, you want to made with every Amiga debugging machine?
No, getting rid of bad patches. Which is not so uncommon because that was already the reason for enlarging the zero page to 4K in 3.1 Oh well..


Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Adan View Post

As choosable OPTION it can be acceptable.
It *is* an option in case that wasn't clear to begin with.
Thomas Richter is offline  
Old Yesterday, 21:00   #2066
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by aros-sg View Post
Maybe it would be possible to ~delay the 32k reservation in boot sequence.
*Sigh* This entire discussion is pointless. The people that argue here do not have the techical insight to even understand the problem.


Again, you cannot *delay* the reservation because something is already *initialized* in this region to begin with when the system starts before it even boots. That is expansion, graphics, trackdisk... whatever runs early, and sometimes so early not even a KickTag can kick in. Which is exactly *why* PrepareEmul is such an ugly hack that, depending on the machine, has to choose between several strategies to work from, and is even kickstart depending in some cases.



Yes, I'm really serious, the entire thing is a really really ugly hack that is absolutely not future proof, and no, it does not make sense to write a different version for each kickstart to come.
Thomas Richter is offline  
Old Yesterday, 21:01   #2067
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Adan View Post
Really,? You made one BIG HOLE in Amiga memory. Available for strange programs.
No, a 24K hole. And now go troll elsewhere, thank you.
Thomas Richter is offline  
Old Today, 00:27   #2068
malko
Ex nihilo nihil
 
malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 5,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Richter View Post
[...] The solution is available in Aminet since day 1 [...]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Richter View Post
[...]It *is* an option in case that wasn't clear to begin with.
It is an *option* when you can choose to activate it (opt-in) NOT when you have to deactivate it (opt-out) with a tool that you have to download from a third party site .
malko is offline  
Old Today, 04:36   #2069
Docent
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Richter View Post
Again, you cannot *delay* the reservation because something is already *initialized* in this region to begin with when the system starts before it even boots. That is expansion, graphics, trackdisk... whatever runs early, and sometimes so early not even a KickTag can kick in.

How about this approach:
Reserve 32kb as of now but, depending on an option from boot menu, leave it as is for emulation or mmu tables use, otherwise add 24kb from 32kb of reserved memory as another chunk to free memory list. The option should be by default off, so users can have this memory available for allocations. Maybe even would be possible to merge back this chunk with main free chip ram memchunk, making the largest block larger

Last edited by Docent; Today at 04:49.
Docent is offline  
Old Today, 06:04   #2070
cloverskull
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 369
Hey guys, didn’t boemann say this chip ram thing is going to change in a future update?

Might I request that if this IS the case, that the entire chip ram argument move into a different thread so that this thread can continue to focus on other things? I feel like the point of this thread is completely derailed at this point.
cloverskull is offline  
Old Today, 07:22   #2071
aros-sg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Italy
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Richter View Post
Again, you cannot *delay* the reservation because something is already *initialized* in this region to begin with when the system starts before it even boots

With "boot sequence" I did not mean the late stuff that is done from startup-sequence onwards. I meant from the earliest code executed when machine starts up.

Said otherwise: you keep having your 32k reserved very early as it is now, but you still put - through whatever means - some of memf_chip requiring stuff in this low memory area if it's such stuff that can be relocated (moved out of the low 32k) sometime after startup-sequence starts being processed (and after chip hungry game would be started) before there is any program (Mac emu) that relies on this 32k being available for use.


So at very beginning of s:startup-sequence free chip memory is higher. Then ~"Relocate32k" is executed: stuff in reserved area gets removed, rebuilt, whatever and it ends up in memory after 32k area. Free chip memory gets lower. But a chip hungry game is not affected, because it would start before that. And an mac emulator would only run after.


Just need to find/identify those memf_chip allocations done by the OS during boot(strap) that are safe for such relocations.
aros-sg is offline  
Old Today, 07:50   #2072
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by aros-sg View Post
Said otherwise: you keep having your 32k reserved very early as it is now, but you still put - through whatever means - some of memf_chip requiring stuff in this low memory area if it's such stuff that can be relocated (moved out of the low 32k) sometime after startup-sequence starts being processed (and after chip hungry game would be started) before there is any program (Mac emu) that relies on this 32k being available for use.
You cannot relocate AmigaOs structures once they have been placed in this memory area because you do not know which other structures or processes already took pointers to such structures. Just to name one, it is absolutely not uncommon to have ConfigDevs of expansion devices in that memory area, and it is neither uncommon that device drivers (required for booting) keep pointers to these ConfigDevs. That is, once they are placed in that memory, they have to stay for the lifetime of the system.


What you can do is to reinitialize the chip memory pool MemHeader structure to also include additional memory at lower end. While that formally gives you memory back, it probably does not help much because at this point the memory is already fragmented - the part above the allocated structures, and the new area below what has been allocated already.


Quote:
Originally Posted by aros-sg View Post
Just need to find/identify those memf_chip allocations done by the OS during boot(strap) that are safe for such relocations.
You cannot, simply because that's not under control of the Os.
Thomas Richter is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 8 (2 members and 6 guests)
meynaf, h0ffman
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmigaOS 3.1.x v 3.9 steve_mynott New to Emulation or Amiga scene 35 19 April 2020 06:23
AmigaOS 3.9 PoLoMoTo support.WinUAE 8 27 August 2011 18:06
AmigaOS 3.5 or 3.9 maddoc666 support.Apps 12 22 February 2010 08:02
AmigaOS koncool request.Apps 6 04 June 2003 17:45
AmigaOS XL sturme New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 15 January 2002 02:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:31.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13623 seconds with 16 queries