English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 August 2024, 17:51   #1
dissident
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 268
OS3.x - Open a screen with 1x bandwidth

Again something special.

Is there a smart way to open a screen on OS3.x with the 1x bandwidth?

The only solution I know is poking in the graphics base like this:

Code:
  move.l	_GraphicsBase,a6
  move.b	#BANDWIDTH_1X,gb_MemType(a6)
And after that open the screen. But you have to disable multitasking with Forbid() to be sure that the bandwidth won't be changed.

Not very system friendly. I did some investigations in the autodocs, but did not find a way to change the bandwidth, after the screen is opened or before with a special tag. Looking in the vieport/viewport extra structure didn't help.

Last edited by dissident; 07 August 2024 at 18:00.
dissident is offline  
Old Yesterday, 07:23   #2
dissident
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 268
Do you have any hints for me, Thomas Richter?
dissident is offline  
Old Yesterday, 20:25   #3
Ernst Blofeld
<optimized out>
 
Ernst Blofeld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: <optimized out>
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by dissident View Post
Do you have any hints for me, Thomas Richter?
You need to say his name three times for him to appear.
Ernst Blofeld is offline  
Old Today, 08:44   #4
aros-sg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Italy
Posts: 194
Maybe create your own screen bitmap with manually allocated planes that are misaligned (address multiple of 2, but not 4 or 8) such that only 1x is possible. And then open screen with custom bitmap (SA_Bitmap tag).
aros-sg is offline  
Old Today, 14:31   #5
dissident
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by aros-sg View Post
Maybe create your own screen bitmap with manually allocated planes that are misaligned (address multiple of 2, but not 4 or 8) such that only 1x is possible. And then open screen with custom bitmap (SA_Bitmap tag).
Not a bad idea. I guess I have to tell what should be the purpose of this screen. It‘s part of a display downgrader to get BPL1MOD / BPL2MOD to 0 values. I doubt that the system is smart enough to detect misaligned bitmaps. There must be a reason for the global entry in the graphics base for the bandwidth.
dissident is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Programatically open NTSC screen on PAL amiga dalton Coders. System 5 28 June 2022 04:37
OS3.2 Blank Screen torrind support.AmigaOS 8 06 November 2021 18:25
Why the screen does not open? TCH Coders. Asm / Hardware 23 23 July 2021 19:38
open chunky screen grond Coders. System 7 02 February 2016 16:31
Open Screen / Open Font AGS Coders. System 7 02 March 2014 05:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:19.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07783 seconds with 15 queries