English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old Today, 08:45   #81
Bruce Abbott
Registered User
 
Bruce Abbott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hastings, New Zealand
Posts: 2,840
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammer View Post
[ Show youtube player ]
AMD's Shader Intrinsic Functions for GCN from 8 years ago. This is developing a specific instruction set code path for a specific GCN instruction set on the PC. This bypasses the DX's DXIL and driver-side shader compilers.

With the RDNA 3 era, AMD is silent on this initiative. Hint: RDNA 3 CU's dual-issue feature can only run in wave32 instructions.

You're out of touch.
Out of touch? What has your PC spam got to do with RTG on the Amiga?
Bruce Abbott is offline  
Old Today, 09:14   #82
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Abbott View Post
Out of touch? What has your PC spam got to do with RTG on the Amiga?
It's Numberwang!
Karlos is offline  
Old Today, 09:36   #83
Bruce Abbott
Registered User
 
Bruce Abbott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hastings, New Zealand
Posts: 2,840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorham View Post
Such a waste
My A1200 has no floppy drive. Is it somehow less Amiga like too?
Yes, it is 'less of' an Amiga.

But how much can you take away before it becomes not an Amiga? Remove the keyboard, the hard drive, and the case. Now you have an Amiga motherboard. I have one of those. Add a floppy drive and it's enough of an Amiga to run most games etc., and it would be wrong to call it anything other than an Amiga.

Now take away the custom chips and add an RTG card. Is it still an Amiga? Most would say not. But it's still got CIA chips, so now you have something similar to the DraCo, which ran Amiga OS 3.1.

But the CD32 didn't have CIA chips and we call that an Amiga, so let's remove those too, replacing them with just enough logic to keep the OS happy (like the CD32 did). Add a PCI slot so we can use a 'standard' graphics card, and USB ports for mouse and joystick, and keep calling it an Amiga because people have those things on their A1200s and quite rightly still call it an Amiga.

And it's still got Motorola inside, so we can keep calling it an Amiga even if all the other chips are different, right? But hang on, what's that I see plugged into the trapdoor slot - a PiStorm32! That's it, the final straw - now it's not an Amiga!
Bruce Abbott is offline  
Old Today, 09:37   #84
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,802
In my experience both using RTG as a dev but also having worked on the driver side (as well as 3D), the problem for RTG on the Amiga is impedance mismatch. Apart from basic rectangular blits, a lot of what the graphics.library does, and how it does it, isn't a superb match for the hardware. Often the hardware was designed to work with some simple single threaded driver model so managing locks and queues and things was quite simple. But on the Amiga you are often doing all this from the context of the application which is any number of different threads. So simple operations end up with overhead of doing locking and stuff themselves as and when they need to make a drawing call. Then there's the whole Pens system, which still has value on an indexed colour display but is a hindrance on any RGB display.

I could go on, but I'm sure you get the drift. In essence it was a decent kludge, but what we needed was an updated API.
Karlos is offline  
Old Today, 10:00   #85
TCD
HOL/FTP busy bee
 
TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 32,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karlos View Post
It's Numberwang!
The superhero with the calculator in his breast pocket and a periodical table blanket as a cape?
TCD is online now  
Old Today, 10:30   #86
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by TCD View Post
The superhero with the calculator in his breast pocket and a periodical table blanket as a cape?
Karlos is offline  
Old Today, 10:36   #87
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,802
Quote:
But hang on, what's that I see plugged into the trapdoor slot - a PiStorm32! That's it, the final straw - now it's not an Amiga!
Yeah, I don't get this attitude either. The CPU was the only commodity part of the core architecture. As long as the "processor" executes 68K object code with sufficient compatibility and performance for your needs, why care what the implementation is?

The only obvious exception here is if you are writing assembly. Then I totally get it. You are doing something you love and want to craft it to be the best if can be on your target processor. You want your intuition and cycle calculations to be valid. This doesn't make a PiStorm powered Amiga not an Amiga it just makes a hardware CPU a better fit for *your* needs.
Karlos is offline  
Old Today, 11:31   #88
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karlos View Post
Apart from basic rectangular blits, a lot of what the graphics.library does, and how it does it, isn't a superb match for the hardware. Often the hardware was designed to work with some simple single threaded driver model so managing locks and queues and things was quite simple. But on the Amiga you are often doing all this from the context of the application which is any number of different threads.
Not really, at least not as far as 2D graphics go. Graphics has a semaphore to grand exclusive access to the blitter, and that is OwnBlitter(). P96 has its BoardLock, which is also a semaphore and through which it grants exclusive access to the onboard "accelerator" of most contemporary graphic chips. The operational model of these chips is very similar to that of the blitter: You indicate the graphics operation you want to perform by writing to custom chip registers, and let the blitter or accelerator perform its magic. You wait by testing a particular hardware register for the chip to have done its duty. That's really it, and there is no significant difference.


The complexity comes from the organization of the display hardware, which is planar on the Amiga, and chunky for the graphic chips. Amiga structures are ill-designed to accomodate chunky models, and thus the RTG stack has to do all kinds of tests and tweaks to hide chunky pixel organization behind structures that have been prepared for planar operations. Each bitmap not only requires information where the graphics is, but also how it is organized, and wether it is on board of the graphics card, or in an off-screen buffer because the graphics memory is full.


Note well this is much more flexible than what the native graphics.library could do. Here you had to allocate the graphical elements in chip memory, and then they would stay in chip memory forever, and if chip memory becomes full, you're out of luck. RTG does not work this way. You allocate structures abstractly, and the graphic system puts them wherever is room, and even brings them to graphics memory if there is an advantage, or removes them if it needs room. For blitting, either the CPU on the on-board accelerator is used, depending on where the source graphics is located.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Karlos View Post
I could go on, but I'm sure you get the drift. In essence it was a decent kludge, but what we needed was an updated API.
The API you have right now is the best you can get if you need compatibility to existing Amiga software that operates on bitmaps and rastports. The API is restricted to how the graphics.library implemented things (in a less forward-looking way by using explicit structures rather than opaque objects).


It's not that there haven't been attempts to provide a better API that is better suited for RTG. That was EGS. What killed EGS wasn't the improper API, it was the lack of applications and the lack of critical mass.
Thomas Richter is online now  
Old Today, 13:32   #89
minator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2024
Location: France
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Abbott View Post
But hang on, what's that I see plugged into the trapdoor slot - a PiStorm32! That's it, the final straw - now it's not an Amiga!
So Amigas back in the day with Blizzard PPCs were not Amigas?
Do people really think that???
minator is offline  
Old Today, 14:45   #90
HornBeamSoft
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Namestovo/Slovakia
Posts: 19
ppc in blizzard ppc can work together with motorola for ex PowerUP or WarpUp
so it is still Amiga
HornBeamSoft is offline  
Old Today, 15:26   #91
TCD
HOL/FTP busy bee
 
TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 32,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by minator View Post
Do people really think that???
Bruce does
TCD is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the best Amiga OS for PC(Amithlon or Amiga OS XL) spannernick support.Other 4 04 September 2012 16:07
PortablE r4 released (now runs on Windows) ChrisH Coders. General 1 30 May 2009 02:40
You know you're in trouble when a 1.4ghz PC runs Dizzy at 5fps... Echo Retrogaming General Discussion 11 28 January 2003 15:06
Windows API for Amiga OS? Pyromania Amiga scene 3 11 April 2002 13:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:16.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12748 seconds with 15 queries