English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 April 2024, 05:46   #121
a/b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: europe
Posts: 1,072
Aminet, same place as 1.18:
http://aminet.net/dev/asm/ASMPro1.20.lha
http://aminet.net/dev/asm/ASMPro1.20src.lha
That's for 1.20b.
1.20c (or d, ...) is still work in progress, once there's more bugfixes and/or improvements I'll release a new version. The one I put in the zone for 8bitbubsy is basically 1.20b + optional multiline scroll when assembling.
a/b is offline  
Old 14 April 2024, 05:54   #122
hitchhikr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: somewhere else
Posts: 538
I've seen that one but it seems to be old.
I'll wait then.
hitchhikr is offline  
Old 14 April 2024, 09:26   #123
malko
Ex nihilo nihil
 
malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 5,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
[...] I'm still finding time to finish the todo-list for a finished AsmTwo [...]
!
Keep up the good work
malko is offline  
Old 12 July 2024, 22:17   #124
kamelito
Zone Friend
 
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 1,870
@a/b
I tried to assemble a source, the source include graphics/gel.i at line 138 of this include there is : AC EQU 0
Asmpro (and probably one) trigger the error ; ** Reserved word
I can understand that ac is a command in the assembler shell but why complain about it in the source code?
I got the same thing because in the source there is a label named : tt1, dunno what is the purpose of tt1 in that case I just changed the label name but I can’t do that in official includes.
There is maybe other cases…
kamelito is offline  
Old 12 July 2024, 22:27   #125
a/b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: europe
Posts: 1,072
Those are MMU registers.
a/b is offline  
Old 13 July 2024, 00:09   #126
kamelito
Zone Friend
 
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 1,870
So because Asmpro set MMU registers as reserved keywords a developer cannot use gel.i include in his code and label like tt1 and probably others ?
This is not a problem with Devpac for example and I have MMU enabled in the settings.

Last edited by kamelito; 13 July 2024 at 00:15.
kamelito is offline  
Old 13 July 2024, 13:33   #127
a/b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: europe
Posts: 1,072
That's how asm-xxx are designed. You can use any register even with 68000 selected and it will assemble, but you can optionally enable warnings to see possible problems. Consequently, all register names of all units are reserved words. Changing that would require substantial changes.
Devpac obviously handles that differently, and it works in *practical* cases (you can still construct code that will cause it to fail or produce unexpected opcodes, but you can control that via your source code so it's fixable).
I don't know how to handle this...

If I look at what's going on in the includes, the problem is "STRUCTURE AC,0" (name, initial offset), which is translated via macro (exec/types.i) to "AC EQU 0" and "SOFFSET EQU \2".
Now, I don't know why exactly is the first EQU needed at all, especially when always set to a zero. For a possible e.g. IFD/IFND at a later time to determine whether that structure is defined? I'm not that familiar with all the intricacies of the includes, so I'd guess it's not needed. I also did a "grep AC" on all the includes and couldn't see anything that would resemble that symbol being used.

So I can only suggest an unpopular workaround: change the include to "STRUCTURE AComp,0".
a/b is offline  
Old 13 July 2024, 15:26   #128
kamelito
Zone Friend
 
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 1,870
thanks
kamelito is offline  
Old 14 July 2024, 13:26   #129
hitchhikr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: somewhere else
Posts: 538
Btw, try to load a binary and input a beginning address like "d$40000".
hitchhikr is offline  
Old 14 July 2024, 15:36   #130
a/b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: europe
Posts: 1,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitchhikr View Post
Btw, try to load a binary and input a beginning address like "d$40000".
The usual case of non-sanitized input ;p, and there is/was more of that. You don't realize how borked (well, to be fair, short+quick seemed to be a common theme) some things are until you go through the code. Or you're theorizing/writing something similar and ask yourself, how does asm-xxx handle something that's off the beaten path, and you go do it and realize it doesn't.
Thanks for reporting, I'll have a look right away. I'm surprised this hasn't been noticed before, since a too quick arrow-up/down a few times + enter at the wrong time shouldn't be that rare (this is an old bug, 1.18 or earlier).
a/b is offline  
Old 14 July 2024, 18:58   #131
hitchhikr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: somewhere else
Posts: 538
I don't know when this appeared because even the first versions of AsmOne didn't crash on this and properly reported an unknown symbol output.
hitchhikr is offline  
Old 14 July 2024, 19:37   #132
a/b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: europe
Posts: 1,072
I don't know when exactly it was introduced, but the code is different from Rune's asm-one v1.x. Basically, at some point the read begin/end address (INPUTBEGINEND) routine was expanded with additional d7 parameter to signal optional/mandatory end address, all while lower level parser routines are using d7 as AF_xxx flags, thus trashing them. So if a parse error occurs, the error handler has wrong flags and starts nuking zero page (null ptr). All the other stuff is sending d7=0, only readbin is sending d7=-1.
a/b is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASMPro 1.18 on A500/A600? Antiriad_UK Coders. Asm / Hardware 11 28 December 2022 10:49
AsmPro Macro REAKTOR BEAR Coders. Asm / Hardware 2 04 October 2022 13:19
AsmPro and INCLUDE sources OCrowley Coders. General 2 06 July 2014 11:42
AsmPro copse Coders. Asm / Hardware 4 25 April 2012 11:41
AsmPro CmdrVimes Coders. General 5 01 September 2010 12:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:37.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11157 seconds with 16 queries