English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 July 2024, 07:32   #3241
earok
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 3,549
Hey Bubba N Stix, that's looking really cool.

You're right about the non-repeating pattern, Core seem to have come up with a way of using a single sprite to create a parallax across the whole screen. I might need to investigate their technique to see if I can copy it.

Last edited by earok; 07 July 2024 at 07:47.
earok is offline  
Old 07 July 2024, 15:03   #3242
Bubba'n'Stix 2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Ardennes France
Posts: 23
I think that they had to sacrifice all other parallax lines to be able to make one that is screen wide.
I suppose they sort of rounded them all up on just one horizontal line.

Level 01 and 04 are also interesting examples of the trick.


I always wondered why they hadn't used more colors in the background but they probably didn't have a choice, that which sucks because one screen wide three colors parallax would have been awesome, even if limited in height.


I'd be very interested in knowing how they did that because it opens up a few possibilities.
And it's also very interesting.

Last edited by Bubba'n'Stix 2; 07 July 2024 at 15:09.
Bubba'n'Stix 2 is offline  
Old 07 July 2024, 15:13   #3243
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!
 
Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Waterville, MN, USA
Age: 49
Posts: 2,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by earok View Post
Hey Bubba N Stix, that's looking really cool.

You're right about the non-repeating pattern, Core seem to have come up with a way of using a single sprite to create a parallax across the whole screen. I might need to investigate their technique to see if I can copy it.
My guess is that they write to the sprite with the copper. It doesn't use the sprite DMA but limits the parallax layer to one bitplane because that's all the time left between the horizontal sprite mux moving the sprite right every 16 pixels. It also might not have time if a 5th bitplane is active on the display DMA.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 08 July 2024, 21:06   #3244
Bubba'n'Stix 2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Ardennes France
Posts: 23
New thing made with the Scorpion Engine.
I wanted to try:


- The copper
- Half-Bright Mode
- Projectiles


While remaining on A500 config, even though if I do something serious at some point, I'll probably take the ease of AGA


[ Show youtube player ]
Bubba'n'Stix 2 is offline  
Old 10 July 2024, 20:32   #3245
Bubba'n'Stix 2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Ardennes France
Posts: 23
I'm stuck here.

I'd like to have the enemy be "pushed back" when "shot" then "stop moving"
"play death animation" and then get "destroyed actor."

And here's what I get

[ Show youtube player ]

My code is:
Destroy projectile
Push actor by 5x total pixels over 2 frames (prevent normal movement)
Set direction for actor to stop_moving
If actor _var1== 1 then...
Play A_death_g on actor from frame 0
Yield for 70 frames (1,4 frames) (interrupt level on Timer) then continue
End continue
Destroy actor

The enemies pattern of movement is CPU simple movement. I've tried another with similar results.
I've tried to put destroy actor at several places and never managed to get the death animation then the actor destroyed.
I've ticked and unticked (reset animation/movement) in the destroy box.
I've managed to destroy the enemies but without the death animation, they would just pop off. But as soon as I use the animation, they respawn.

If anybody has a clue, it'd be very welcome.
Bubba'n'Stix 2 is offline  
Old 10 July 2024, 22:00   #3246
UltraNarwhal
Registered User
 
UltraNarwhal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubba'n'Stix 2 View Post
My code is:
Destroy projectile
Push actor by 5x total pixels over 2 frames (prevent normal movement)
Set direction for actor to stop_moving
If actor _var1== 1 then...
Play A_death_g on actor from frame 0
Yield for 70 frames (1,4 frames) (interrupt level on Timer) then continue
End continue
Destroy actor
Try
Destroy projectile
Push actor by 5 x total pixels over 2 frames (prevent normal movement)
Set direction for actor to stop_moving
If actor _var1== 1 then...
Play A_death_g on actor from frame 0
End

Rather than having a yield while playing death anim and destroying, use a destroy actor event in the death anim on finish.

Also your pushing code currently only works from the left side, it'll pull enemy from right. You could put in your projectile on Timer code for it to set projectile_var1 to its current speed every 10 frames.

Then the code would be (if it moves too much you can divide speed with projectile_var1 / )

Push actor by projectile_var1 pixels over 2 frames (prevent normal movement)
Destroy projectile
Set direction for actor to stop_moving
If actor _var1== 1 then...
Play A_death_g on actor from frame 0
End
UltraNarwhal is online now  
Old 10 July 2024, 23:29   #3247
Bubba'n'Stix 2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Ardennes France
Posts: 23
"Rather than having a yield while playing death anim and destroying, use a destroy actor event in the death anim on finish."
Ho my god ! I could cry ! My main character can now kill his enemies ! Finally.

"Set direction for actor to stop moving" still didn't work but I put "prevent movement" in the death animation and it worked.
My Robot can now shoot the green slugs.

Thank you !!!

Last edited by Bubba'n'Stix 2; 10 July 2024 at 23:35.
Bubba'n'Stix 2 is offline  
Old 11 July 2024, 17:41   #3248
Bubba'n'Stix 2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Ardennes France
Posts: 23
I didn't understand this:
"Also your pushing code currently only works from the left side, it'll pull enemy from right. You could put in your projectile on Timer code for it to set projectile_var1 to its current speed every 10 frames."

I haven't gotten into adapting the enemies to left and right attacks.
But your directions improved a lot of things already:
[ Show youtube player ]


Sadly, I'm using too much ram for the A500 1mo now.
I think the two wav sounds use a lot.

Last edited by Bubba'n'Stix 2; 11 July 2024 at 18:12.
Bubba'n'Stix 2 is offline  
Old 11 July 2024, 19:17   #3249
UltraNarwhal
Registered User
 
UltraNarwhal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubba'n'Stix 2 View Post
Sadly, I'm using too much ram for the A500 1mo now.
I think the two wav sounds use a lot.
For wav sounds I convert them in Audacity by Truncating Silence and resampling them to 11025hz, reduced a 160kb wav to 3kb.
UltraNarwhal is online now  
Old 11 July 2024, 20:06   #3250
Bubba'n'Stix 2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Ardennes France
Posts: 23
Ok, thank you.
I had trimmed the silence in another program but downgrading the quality to 11khz allowed the game to work again on A500 1mo config.
Bubba'n'Stix 2 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2D Platformer Engine carrion Coders. Blitz Basic 27 06 June 2019 14:35
New Chaos Engine!! arpz Retrogaming General Discussion 75 31 August 2013 22:20
F/S Warp engine 32 mb tabuhuso MarketPlace 0 24 February 2012 15:13
PC Engine CD TodaysForgotten Retrogaming General Discussion 47 13 May 2009 23:57
Scorpion (100% working) andreas request.Old Rare Games 13 01 August 2003 08:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:19.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.20488 seconds with 16 queries