English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.AmigaOS

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 June 2022, 17:37   #1
Condor-2-4-2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 89
os3.2.1 - iprefs fails with whdload on autostart

Hello,

for a few days I posted and issue on running whdload games under AmigaOS3.2.1 (https://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=110899). Since then I did further tests with clean hdf installs of both AmigaOS3.2 and AmigaOS3.2.1. On both clean wb installations I additionally installed only the official whdload18.8 with kickstarts under dev.

In the user-startup scripts of both workbenches I inserted only the following code for the START script:
Code:
if exists DH2:START
    cd DH2:
    execute START
 endif
The code for the START script is:
Code:
CD DH2:3DGalax
WHDLoad 3DGalax.slave Preload
Now I tested both wb hdf's with 3DGalax (mounted in WinUAE as DH2).

With wb 3.2 the game was loaded on boot whithout errors. But under wb 3.2.1 I got an iprefs error immediatly after the whdload splashscreen delay time was over (see attachment). Nevertheless the game was loaded and worked without problems. But the error stayed in the backround and after closing the game the wb could not fully load.

I also tested many other whdload games and had always the same error. But I found two ways to prevent the error:

- At first by pressing the return key immediatly after splashscreen appears.
- And last by adding "set echo on" before user-startup routine.

Because this specific issue only happens for me on wb 3.2.1 there seems to be a problem with the wb update or the startup-sequence. Has anyone an idea what can cause this issue? I attached both startup-sequence scripts, if that could help.

My system specifications under WinUAE 4.9.1 are:

Kickstart ROM A1200.47.102 / CPU 68020 / cycle exact full / chipset AGA / 2MB Chip RAM / 16MB Z3 Fast RAM /no rtg
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	whdload_splashscreen.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	245.5 KB
ID:	75809   Click image for larger version

Name:	workbench_screen.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	169.9 KB
ID:	75810  
Attached Files
File Type: txt Startup-sequence_os3.2.txt (1.6 KB, 35 views)
File Type: txt Startup-Sequence_os3.2.1.txt (1.8 KB, 31 views)
Condor-2-4-2 is offline  
Old 16 June 2022, 18:34   #2
DisasterIncarna
Registered User
 
DisasterIncarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: England
Posts: 1,279
not sure, but is it normal having IPrefs execute well before your Path entries, user-startup/etc? IPrefs is typically executed near the end not long before LoadWB in most startup-sequences ive seen or used myself.
DisasterIncarna is offline  
Old 16 June 2022, 20:16   #3
Condor-2-4-2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 89
I changed the loading order of the startup-sequence as follows:

Code:
; $VER: Startup-Sequence_HardDrive 47.16 (18.10.2021)
; Startup-Sequence for hard drive systems
;SET ECHO ON
Version exec.library version 47 >NIL:
If Warn
  LoadModule L:System-Startup ROMUPDATE
Else
  Version strap version 47 >NIL:
  If Warn
    LoadModule DOWNGRADE L:Ram-Handler L:Shell-Seg L:System-Startup Libs:dos.library Libs:gadtools.library Libs:graphics.library >NIL:
  EndIf
EndIf
SetPatch >NIL:

;------------------- CPU CheckInstall Section ------------------------

FailAt 31
CPU CHECKINSTALL

SET temp1 $RC

If VAL $temp1 EQ 30
  ECHO ""
  ASK "Press the RETURN key to resume booting into a restricted system."
  Execute S:Startup-failsafe
  QUIT
EndIf

If VAL $temp1 EQ 5
  ECHO ""
  ASK "Press the RETURN key to resume booting."
EndIf

UNSET temp1

;---------------- End of CPU CheckInstall Section --------------------

FailAt 10
Version >NIL:

Assign >nil: EXISTS DF0:
If not warn
  AddBuffers DF0: 15 >NIL:
EndIf

If EXISTS ENVARC:
   MakeLink RAM:ENV to ENVARC: FORCE
Else
   MakeDir RAM:ENV
Endif
MakeDir RAM:T RAM:Clipboards

Resident C:Assign PURE

Assign ENV: RAM:ENV
Assign T: RAM:T
Assign CLIPS: RAM:Clipboards
Assign REXX: S:

FailAt 21
Assign PRINTERS: DEVS:Printers
Assign KEYMAPS: DEVS:Keymaps
Assign LOCALE: SYS:Locale
Assign LIBS: SYS:Classes ADD
Assign HELP: LOCALE:Help DEFER

BindDrivers
Mount DEVS:DOSDrivers/~(#?.info)

LoadMonDrvs >NIL:

FailAt 10
SetEnv Language "english"
SetEnv Workbench $Workbench
SetEnv Kickstart $Kickstart
UnSet Workbench
UnSet Kickstart

stack 40000

IF EXISTS S:User-Startup
  Execute S:User-Startup
EndIF

AddDataTypes REFRESH QUIET
IPrefs
ConClip

If EXISTS SYS:System/RexxMast
  SYS:System/RexxMast >NIL:
EndIF

Path C: SYS:Utilities SYS:Rexxc SYS:System S: SYS:Prefs SYS:Tools SYS:Tools/Commodities

MakeLink RAM:Disk.info TO ENVARC:Sys/def_RAM.info SOFT

IF EXISTS S:User-Startup2
  Execute S:User-Startup2
EndIF

LoadWB
EndCLI >NIL:
Now the whdload games start without error. I added a second script "User-Startup2" in the place where "User-Startup" was. I use this for games like Genetic Species, because if I load them before iprefs, the game crashes or will not be loaded.
Condor-2-4-2 is offline  
Old 16 June 2022, 21:08   #4
DisasterIncarna
Registered User
 
DisasterIncarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: England
Posts: 1,279
ah right, sounds like your doing a sequence select type of thing as part of your startup to do other stuff before a full sequence starts?

I did something like this many, many years ago with my own startup-sequence selector program which runs if i hold my RMB during boot, i can then pick a new startup and start for example programs that dont play well with my normal workbench or they dont like certain patches or need all the memory they can get.

I made this ages ago and lost my code, starting to remake it slowly as theres additions i want as well as modifications, sucks i dont have my original code, but it kinda works in its current state so i still use it till i can remake it.

I do re4call i originally didnt want to remake it as I coulda sworn at some point there was something better on aminet? or some rando 17bit/almathera CD i had ages ago and now I just cant remember/find the alternative so im back to just doing it myself.

Heres a copy of my OS 3.2.x startup, which shows how i kinda do it with my boot selection program and the normal stuff needed in the correct order for various patches to work together (birdie/VP/etc).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	boot-selector.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	218.7 KB
ID:	75815  
Attached Files
File Type: txt Startup-Sequence.txt (2.8 KB, 37 views)
DisasterIncarna is offline  
Old 17 June 2022, 16:07   #5
Condor-2-4-2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 89
Yes, this is what I wanted, but with different start scripts which are loaded on different lines in the startup-sequence order. In my case, "user-startup" executes "START" for whdload games and "user-startup2" executes "START2" script for games like Genetic Species. So for each game I have a separate folder with its corresponding start script and WinUAE config file.

You wondered why the user-startup execution came after iprefs in my startup-sequence. This is the startup-sequence as it was setup by the wb installer after clean installation.

Your boot selector is a interesting solution, but it requires a manually startup selection. But I prefer the games to load automatically with the right startup script.

Thank you for posting your startup-sequence. Perhaps your sequence could help me to enhance my own.
Condor-2-4-2 is offline  
Old 17 June 2022, 22:21   #6
DisasterIncarna
Registered User
 
DisasterIncarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: England
Posts: 1,279
Making progress on my updated startup-sequence selector, I made the mistake of building certain functions into the original program, then when i lost the code i kinda forgot how some stuff worked, so now im making it more open ended and letting it use various config/script files which it just runs

It just means things like my buttons to boot a CD32 game will run a script which can be edited/fixed/expanded upon instead of baking all that into the program which would need a recompile for any minor change.

Kinda glad this thread came up so i could revisit and update my boot sequence selection program instead of sticking to my old 1/2 working version.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BootSelect2.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	64.9 KB
ID:	75823  
DisasterIncarna is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHDLoad fails to start up elowan support.Apps 0 06 December 2019 12:54
WHDload fails on CD32 Marchie support.Hardware 27 01 October 2019 14:35
Iprefs causing OS3.9 weirdness? BarryB support.Apps 2 27 December 2011 01:59
WHDLoad Installer Fails Techx project.WHDLoad 0 19 April 2009 06:25
IPrefs OS3.9 Problem lopos2000 support.Apps 17 17 June 2006 12:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:03.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09293 seconds with 16 queries