English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 September 2018, 12:20   #1
deimos
It's coming back!
 
deimos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: comp.sys.amiga
Posts: 762
WinUAE how to break on an exception?

How can I ask the debugger to stop on an exception, such as an Address Error?

My googling suggests that "il FFFF" should work for all common exceptions, but it doesn't, I still get the Software Failure dialog followed by a Guru.
deimos is offline  
Old 27 September 2018, 21:50   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,574
Try "il" without parameters, it enables all exceptions except interrupts.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 28 September 2018, 09:30   #3
deimos
It's coming back!
 
deimos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: comp.sys.amiga
Posts: 762
That doesn't work for me, and I really don't know what I'm doing wrong.

I press Shift-F12 to enter the debugger, then:

Code:
>il
Exception breakpoint mask: FFFFFFFF 00FFFFFF
>g
Then go back to the emulator window and run the code I'm trying to debug, which looks like this:

Code:
        ...
        move.w  3, d0
        ...
I get a "Software Failure" dialog, "Program failed (error #80000003). Wait for disk activity to finish." and the exception is not caught in the debugger.

What am I missing?
deimos is offline  
Old 28 September 2018, 18:19   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,574
Right, it does not work as expected.. I later added test that checks if exception was caused by rom code (Exec uses privilege violation to enter supervisor mode) because it would make this very annoying to use. Unfortunately it checked if PC is in ROM after exception has been processed.. Fixed..

I didn't notice it because I usually simply set breakpoint to expected exception vector(s).
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 29 September 2018, 10:23   #5
deimos
It's coming back!
 
deimos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: comp.sys.amiga
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Right, it does not work as expected..
Hooray, I’m useful!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
set breakpoint to expected exception vector(s)
I guess I can do this as well, for now?
deimos is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F-line exception bug? jarp support.WinUAE 7 22 July 2017 13:31
2700b7+ Exception 3 with 68000 more compatible PeterK support.WinUAE 2 11 January 2014 20:16
Exception 0 vriviere support.WinUAE 9 25 June 2012 14:36
** CHK Exception ** CmdrVimes Coders. General 2 17 September 2010 16:14
Warranty seal on a mint A500: To break or not to break? StevenJGore support.Hardware 16 11 February 2009 23:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:28.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08336 seconds with 15 queries