English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   News (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   RNOArchive released for AROS, MorphOS, OS3, and OS4 (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=107280)

jPV 09 June 2021 06:56

RNOArchive released for AROS, MorphOS, OS3, and OS4
 
RNOArchive is a graphical archive manager, that can extract, modify, and create archives. Extraction is handled by the XAD system and the program has built-in support for writing ZIP archives. Writing to other formats relies on separate Shell commands, and their availability and compatibility in the used system.

Features:
- Reads and extracts all archiving formats supported by the XAD system
- Write and modify support for ZIP and LhA archives
- Batch extraction for multiple archives
- Automatic sub-directory creation for batch extracted archives
- Archive browsing and file viewing
- Filetype editor for configuring file viewers
- Intelligent drag & drop support
- Recursive adding of files/directories
- Create new directories inside archives
- Delete files and directories
- Handles UTF-8 filenames in archives
- Extensive file selection options

Please visit its homepage for download links.

Video:
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=wh6NZ7GNOPk

Screenshot:
http://jpv.wmhost.com/jpv_software/R...screenshot.png

npagonis73 09 June 2021 09:48

Hi jVP!!!

Another one of your amazing programs!!! Just tried it and I get this error on my V1200 Amiga OS 3.2. The program if you close that error window works fine it seems. Any ideas?

Anyhow well done once again for your quality programs!!

Nikoshttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/202...d86d57d31d.jpg

npagonis73 09 June 2021 10:02

Just to add that this error doesn't happen only in 3.2. Tried it in my 3.1 installation and got exactly the same behaviour

jPV 09 June 2021 10:30

Where have you lost your FailAt command? :)

Try to open the shell and type "FailAt" there, does it complain it's missing from there too?

RNOArchive runs a short test script to check the availability and compatibility of external commands (LhA in this case), and the script uses the FailAt command, which is a standard system command... it worked on my OS3.1 and AmiKit (3.9?) setups without this issue...

npagonis73 09 June 2021 10:54

[emoji44]

Where is it? Checked in Coffin and Amikit XE and I get the same.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/202...8c90aaa497.jpg

npagonis73 09 June 2021 10:55

If I open a shell and type failat, i get Fail limit at 10.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/202...390e39c131.jpg

npagonis73 09 June 2021 11:11

And that is Amikit XE 3.9 and a handmade 3.1.4.1. it does the same to all.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/202...e597e45037.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/202...81acc740ad.jpg

jPV 09 June 2021 11:34

Weird... is it KS 3.1.4 or later on all setups? Do you have any setup with the original Commodore Kickstart (3.1)?

bubbob42 09 June 2021 11:40

FailAt has become part of the shell for a long time, maybe even since 2.x. So there must be something different at work here.

Another strange observation via snoopdos: RNOArchive tries to open ENV:codesets_default for something like 600 times before the main window opens.

I do like the program!

npagonis73 09 June 2021 11:40

I surely have a plain 3.9 which I will try. I am looking for a 3.1 as well.

npagonis73 09 June 2021 11:54

In plain 3.9 with BB 1&2 it does the same thing.

jPV 09 June 2021 12:07

Quote:

Originally Posted by bubbob42 (Post 1489595)
FailAt has become part of the shell for a long time, maybe even since 2.x. So there must be something different at work here.

So did it pop up the output/error window on your setup too?

Quote:

Another strange observation via snoopdos: RNOArchive tries to open ENV:codesets_default for something like 600 times before the main window opens.
Some Hollywood stuff that I probably can't do anything... but I'll try to remember if I'd investigate at some point.

Quote:

I do like the program!
Thanks :)

Quote:

Originally Posted by npagonis73 (Post 1489598)
In plain 3.9 with BB 1&2 it does the same thing.

Oh, well.. I'll have to try to test more myself with better time and I'll probably come back at you at some point.

bubbob42 09 June 2021 12:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by jPV (Post 1489601)
So did it pop up the output/error window on your setup too?

Yes, and only OS3.2 setups here.

How do you execute the script containing FailtAt? Via System()?

AMIGASYSTEM 09 June 2021 14:33

Quote:

Originally Posted by jPV (Post 1489583)
Where have you lost your FailAt command?

Failat Returncode 10 request is caused by command "Which" (cannot find file?)

If "Which" is not present in the system no Failat Returncode 10 error.

Also there are problems on RAR archives both on OS3 and AROS x86, it seems a RAM related problem.

Another problem on tar.bz2 archives, with unpacking you get a file named "unnamed.dat" ?.

jPV 09 June 2021 17:11

Ok, I made fresh installs of both OS 3.1 and OS 3.2 with WinUAE, and installed only what's required by RNOArchive. The result is that it works fine on OS 3.1 and nothing unintended pops up on it. On 3.2 I get the same error from the FailAt command as you others.

After few tests and head scratching I found that it fails if I try to execute commands that are in ROM with OS 3.2. So, FailAt, Alias, CD, and other internal commands do fail, but Info, Dir, List, etc do work because they're located on the disk.

So, something must have been changed regarding this since the original 3.1 and it breaks things... and BTW. there aren't any similar problems on OS4, MorphOS, or AROS, it's just these newer 68k OSes.

As a work-around I tried to create a real file and give it the S protection bit, and execute that with Hollywood's Execute() function. It seems to work on 3.2, but fails on 3.1 :/

Sooo... I don't know yet how to work-around and fix it so that it'd work on all OS versions... but I'll report it to Hollywood's author and see what he has to say about it.


@AMIGASYSTEM

XAD RAR clients seem to be buggy on about every platform (in a different way on each), so I can't fix it. We'd need better 3rd party RAR clients for XAD.

"unnamed.dat" will be fixed with the later xad plugin... I forgot to make a work-around until then, but I'll handle it if I'm making an update soon. Thanks for reminding :) You can unpack and rename it manually for now.

AMIGASYSTEM 09 June 2021 19:15

Quote:

Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM (Post 1489617)

XAD RAR clients seem to be buggy on about every platform (in a different way on each), so I can't fix it. We'd need better 3rd party RAR clients for XAD.

Strange, on OS3 and AROS 68k I use XAD with Dopus4 and I've never had problems with RAR Archives.

I add that on AROS 68k RNOArchive seems to work perfectly with RAR archives, look at the attached video.

http://eab.abime.net/zone/RNOArchive.zip


Quote:

"unnamed.dat" will be fixed with the later xad plugin... I forgot to make a work-around until then, but I'll handle it if I'm making an update soon. Thanks for reminding :) You can unpack and rename it manually for now.
Ok thanks !

jPV 11 June 2021 07:39

Argh, I was going to make a quick OS3.2 version of the program with the "script file" solution, but seems that there are more things broken there.

Code:

failat 21 ; this causes an eternal loop for the next line
lha >RAM:test.txt *>>RAM:test.txt ; combining both stdout and stderr on the same line doesn't work

Two issues here... first, redirecting stdout and stderr on the same line doesn't seem to work on OS3.2 like it does work on OS3.1, OS4, and MorphOS...

It gives an error:
lha: unable to open redirection file

And then if you have the FailAt line there, it somehow gets into an eternal loop with the next line... it just keeps printing the "lha: unable to open redirection file" error forever and doesn't exit from the script. Without the FailAt line it just prints it once and exits.

npagonis73 11 June 2021 09:20

God it seems you have many headaches with those new OS's.. we patiently wait for you to sort this one out. I am sure the devs will also contribute in this. They are very attentive and trying to help people if they struggle.

jPV 12 June 2021 14:08

A tip by user "Amiga68k" helped me to make some kind of work-around for OS3.2 by using the separate file solution and redirecting by *><, which seems to work in OS3.2 too. Unfortunately the ROM command issue still prevents making a "universal" solution, but two separate exes, one for OS3.1 and one for OS3.2 (and anything later than 3.1), should work for now.

Re-uploaded the archive to Aminet and that contains the both exes.

npagonis73 12 June 2021 14:28

Hi there again

Just tried it and it works fine now. No errors.

Thanks for your effort


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:58.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.06543 seconds with 10 queries