English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Amiga scene (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   iGame v2 - A well known Amiga game launcher ( New Build! ) (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=94347)

wiz12 25 September 2020 23:52

Quote:

Originally Posted by walkero (Post 1429992)
@wiz12
That is mostly weird. Was it happenning with the previous 2.0b6 version as well? Would you like to send me the gameslist and gameslist.csv file?


Yes this also occured with beta6 though I never had this issue with any version before that.


I've uploaded those files to the zone if you want to take a look at them.

walkero 26 September 2020 14:29

@wiz12
Tried to find them but I couldn't. Can you tell me where exactly they are?

wiz12 26 September 2020 15:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by walkero (Post 1430066)
@wiz12
Tried to find them but I couldn't. Can you tell me where exactly they are?


If you look in the top right corner of the forum there's a link "The Zone!", it should be posted there.

James 27 September 2020 02:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by wiz12 (Post 1429929)
Thanks for the update but for some reason I get "zeros" at the beginning of the games list even after "scanning repositories". Selecting the properties on one of these zeros causes a suspend reboot error message.

Happened here too, when I scanned a repository with lots of generic WHDLoad installs. Maybe having too many installs with the same slave name is causing this?

walkero 27 September 2020 21:20

@wiz12
Found them, thanks. It seems that the old gameslist has around 3551 and the new one has 3559. Quite big collection. :D

I will try to reproduce the issue you have and find a solution.
Can you please tell me if you set the game scan to be done on folder name or slave name? This is set at the settings of iGame.

@James
I checked wiz12's gameslist and I see that the games that have the save slave name have the "Alt" suffix added to them. I am not sure this is the reason, but we will surely find a solution.

wiz12 27 September 2020 21:51

It's actually even bigger as my current gameslist is now showing 3595 titles and the number of zeros also seem to be increasing, every time I load up iGame more seem to appear. I now have to scroll down a bit to get to the first valid game entry. :laughing

I believe the scanning is based on slave name rather than folder name.

walkero 28 September 2020 11:16

@wiz12
I have a few questions, if you don't mind, so to try figure out where the problem is.

1. Is it possible to send me the settings file as well? You can paste it here if you want.
2. Your collection available somewhere? I mean, did you create it yourself or downloaded it from somewhere?
3. Can you inform me about you machine specs (AmigaOS version, CPU, Ram etc.)? Also, what filesystem do you use on the hard disk where you have the games and iGame? I am thinking to create an emulated system similar to yours and see if I can reproduce the issue.
4. Do these zero entries appear after you scan the repositories or after you save the list and restart iGame?

I tried yesterday to reproduce the issue, but I couldn't. I did the following:
- Started latest iGame with your old playlist, which I saved again on CSV. Then loaded the new one and everything worked fine. Checked the files as well, no zeros there.
- I tested the latest version of iGame on my Amiga 1200 again, scanning my collection with around 2900 games, with both slave and folder scanning, and it worked fine.

Thank you for your help.

wiz12 28 September 2020 14:56

1. I have uploaded (to the zone) my entire iGame folder containing all settings and gameslist files, it's likely there's been some changes since the last time you looked at them, hopefully any differences may help shed some light on the issue.

2. I'm using Retroplays collection which I keep updated, you can view it at https://mega.nz/#F!gdozjZxL!uI5SheetsAd-NYKMeRjf2A

3. I have attached my WinUAE config to the iGame.zip uploaded to the zone, it's 030 AGA, KS ROM v3.1 (A1200) rev 40.68, 2mb chip + 8mb fast. My system image is built from HstWB which uses PFS3AIO filesystem. I usually update the image first and then transfer it over to my real Amiga. It was all working perfect until the beta 6 release though I did have to replace both render.library and guigfx.library to get the new version working.

walkero 28 September 2020 22:19

Thank you so much for all this info. I am working to find where the problem is. It might be on the save of the gameslist, as well as on the games scan.

Will keep you informed.

Thanks again for your help.

Radertified 28 September 2020 22:35

Quote:

Originally Posted by walkero (Post 1430634)
Thank you so much for all this info. I am working to find where the problem is. It might be on the save of the gameslist, as well as on the games scan.

As requested earlier, being able to completely disable saving to the gameslist would be a great feature to have and might solve this ;)

wiz12 28 September 2020 23:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by walkero (Post 1430634)
Thank you so much for all this info. I am working to find where the problem is. It might be on the save of the gameslist, as well as on the games scan.

Will keep you informed.

Thanks again for your help.


No problem, hopefully you can get to the bottom of this.

Akira 29 September 2020 15:37

Is it at all possible to make iGame not rely on MUI? It's the main reason why I haven't ever installed it.

walkero 01 October 2020 17:48

@akira
And what should use for a GUI that could be ported to other systems like AmigaOS 4 and MorphOS as well?

Akira 01 October 2020 19:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by walkero (Post 1431255)
@akira
And what should use for a GUI that could be ported to other systems like AmigaOS 4 and MorphOS as well?

First of all I'll say that I don't care if this runs on AOS4 or MorphOS.

But I was under the impression that any software using standard Intuition libraries would run on both. Again, not sure because I don't care nor have ever used either.

wiz12 01 October 2020 22:48

I think I may have solved the problem of the recurring zeros. Gameslist.csv contained many random copies of "0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0". These were mostly at the end of the file but there were also a few in between game entries. Simply deleting all these lines removed the zeros.


After scanning repositories no more zeros appeared so the problem is solved I think. How they got there to begin with I just don't know.

walkero 02 October 2020 00:19

@wiz12
If they appear at any time, please remember what you did and come back to me. I would like to fix that issue. I will add some zeros on purpose and see what is going on with that.

wiz12 02 October 2020 01:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by walkero (Post 1431347)
@wiz12
If they appear at any time, please remember what you did and come back to me. I would like to fix that issue. I will add some zeros on purpose and see what is going on with that.


Hopefully that's the last I've seen of them but if they do show up again I'll let you know. Would the pre-beta 6 gameslist file be in any ways different to the current gameslist to cause this I wonder?

Either way those "0;" should be present in the file I uploaded if you want to take a closer look?

jeff b00toNic 04 October 2020 10:49

The appearing zero problem is reproducible by selecting properties on any entry and change the title.
After klicking OK and restart iGame I get the described zero entries.

wiz12 05 October 2020 23:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeff b00toNic (Post 1431985)
The appearing zero problem is reproducible by selecting properties on any entry and change the title.
After klicking OK and restart iGame I get the described zero entries.


Yes, this happens for me too.

walkero 07 October 2020 16:16

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeff b00toNic (Post 1431985)
The appearing zero problem is reproducible by selecting properties on any entry and change the title.
After klicking OK and restart iGame I get the described zero entries.


Thank you for this comment. I have the following issue at iGame github to track and fix this problem.
https://github.com/MrZammler/iGame/issues/119


Will keep you informed as soon as I have something for this.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:00.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.06027 seconds with 11 queries