English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.OtherUAE (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=54)
-   -   QEmu: Emulation MorphOS (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=106392)

White 06 May 2021 13:09

@jPV
Thanks for your suggestions,
I'll look what I can find
Thanks again.

it's not easy to choose the right machine :-)

AMIGASYSTEM 06 May 2021 23:38

Quote:

Originally Posted by jPV (Post 1481539)
. And while Youtube's main page interface stopped working recently on OWB, it still works if you spoof it as IPad and use https://m.youtube.com/ instead.

The nice thing with OWB is that you can also download the video to hard/ram disk and watch it with MPlayer then. Just start playing a video and then open the Network Activity window, and right click the video stream and copy its url. Then paste the url in the OWB to get it displayed directly in the internal media player... and then right click over the video and select "Download media" option. This may sound complicated, but when you learn it, it's just few clicks and you can download almost any video to a file :)


Thanks jPV, I've tried IPad and iPhone spoffing on OWB AROS version and it works, even if I've noticed that Firefox 3.x spoffing works better.

The video saving doesn't work, the OWB AROS Video Player doesn't have the option to save in the menu.

I attach video test, consider that in the test I use an old VMware on an obsolete DualCore

https://youtu.be/ey483dRoZqg

White 07 May 2021 17:27

I did a very quick test to get E-UAE to work with morphos
without JIT I have yet to see if there is support in qemu emulation dedicated to JIT
I tested the Workbench 3.9
I did a very quick setup without PicassoIV with a manual setup to see if it worked.
then I will try to deepen later also with SDL

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=owJ6nHPiya0

jPV 07 May 2021 18:38

Quote:

Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM (Post 1481929)
Thanks jPV, I've tried IPad and iPhone spoffing on OWB AROS version and it works, even if I've noticed that Firefox 3.x spoffing works better.

The video saving doesn't work, the OWB AROS Video Player doesn't have the option to save in the menu.

Ok... OWB on MorphOS has two Firefox spoofings, but I'm not sure if either of them is 3.x... and they don't work that well with YouTube with a quick try. Maybe if you'd define exact spoofing string yourself..

But anyway, I grabbed a video which shows how to config OWB as iPad and use smoother playback with the Fullscreen Fix script (with overlay). And also show how to download a video and play it on MPlayer, but yea, I don't know if it differs on other ports of OWB.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=id_v3Rd1idI

White 08 May 2021 14:54

1 Attachment(s)
I have tried E-UAE SDL
it works uaegfx is recognized without problems
the JIT appears to be activated
but the speed is not what I expected
probably missing ATI 128 graphics card support in qemu
or something like that.
but it was fair to see if it could work.

here a small screenmode

White 13 May 2021 09:29

@jPV
sorry for a further question
this would be fine for morphos:
https://everymac.com/systems/apple/p...g4_1.5_15.html

at the moment it has just 512 of ram can I increase it?

I intend to buy it
I was particularly interested in the performance of:
e-uae
WayFarer
audio.video player

thanks again for a possible reply and sorry for my requests :-)

jPV 13 May 2021 18:43

That seems to be quite similar to the machine you previously linked.. this just has a smaller screen/resolution than the 17" one. It still has the ADB kb/pad etc, but if you get it cheap enough why not.

Of course G5 would be snappier for that kind of CPU intensive use, but I've been fine with casual E-UAE use with G4s. 720p videos are probably at limit if they play smooth or not, but lower res videos should be fine.

These Powerbooks can take max 2GB ram (2 x 1GB DDR), so yeah, it's fairly easy to increase it. It's quite common failure in Powerbooks, that the second ram slot will break, and that would of course limit you to 1GB... it might be worth to ask from the seller if both slots are still working.

1.67GHz models would be slightly faster, but not that much in practise I guess... so speedwise you can't get that much better, but if you would like that better keyboard/touchpad handling and bigger resolutions, then it might be worth waiting if you can find that kind of "top of the line" machine. But it's up to you want you want. If you find really cheap ones, why not pick them up for testing/spare at least.

White 13 May 2021 20:43

@jPV
Thanks for the reply, tomorrow i buy it.
Thanks again :-)

White 19 May 2021 20:34

@jPV
arrived, I am very happy
now I have to put two gigabytes of ram
it currently has two 256 MB RAM banks
so they should both work

I did a test with Wayfarer it works perfectly
thanks again for your advice

I will purchase a Key as soon as I have thoroughly tested the powerbook

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sfVDcFFuGkU

jPV 19 May 2021 21:23

@White

Great! Good to hear you like it :)

fl@sh 19 May 2021 22:30

Well done MorphOS is really a GREAT os! Congratulations.

White 20 May 2021 19:52

@fl@sh
I'm happy,
I bought another G4 this
G4 1.67ghz ati 9700 with 128mb and 2 gigabytes of ram
here the card:
https://everymac.com/systems/apple/p....67_15_hr.html
He arrives tomorrow

he is not the "top" but I think he will do the job of him for my purposes

when I do my experiments and use programs like e-uae and more
I just have to configure the programs with real hardware support.
I had wanted a system like this for many years. :-)
Let's hope it lasts and won't break :-)

The hardware for 4.1 still has very high prices for a simple passion.

Morphos is a great system for my uses.

Minuous 21 May 2021 03:51

I followed the tutorial and installed it, however I have some questions regarding getting files into the emulated system: Is there a way to directly access the host filesystem from the guest? If not, is there a standalone Amiga or Windows tool to modify the contents of IMG files?

jPV 21 May 2021 08:52

Quote:

Originally Posted by White (Post 1485435)
I bought another G4 this
G4 1.67ghz ati 9700 with 128mb and 2 gigabytes of ram
here the card:
https://everymac.com/systems/apple/p....67_15_hr.html
He arrives tomorrow

he is not the "top" but I think he will do the job of him for my purposes

This is a great find and it's pretty much "top" along with the latest 17" model, because they're practically the same except the screen size/res. Both have the "high res" display that gives better resolution than any earlier models and it's only up to your preference if you want 15" or 17" display, but otherwise these two latest models are technically similar.

White 21 May 2021 11:37

@jPV
Thanks again.
we hope everything works (hardware side) :-)
I signed up for morphos-zone some time ago
but I no longer remember the email I entered at the time of registration and I cannot reset the password
I re-enroll
I will certainly have some advice to ask

I'm just asking this question
I noticed that morphos doesn't support hidden networks
I had to make my home network visible to access the internet
Is this normal for morphos?
for example with the home TV once the first connection is established if I hide the network again then everything works.
Morphos requires that the network is always visible otherwise it does not connect.

I will then move my questions directly to morphos-zone
Thanks for any reply.


@Minuous
if your goal is to swap files and put them in the morphos system
you can use for example "googledrive" and directly download the files you prepare.
Or an easy way is to use winuae and mount the .img file and move everything you need into it and then mount your .img again with qemu

was this your goal?

White 21 May 2021 12:57

I found the password and the email for morphos-zone :-)

tolkien 21 May 2021 15:21

Quote:

Originally Posted by White (Post 1485620)
@jPV
Thanks again.
we hope everything works (hardware side) :-)
I signed up for morphos-zone some time ago
but I no longer remember the email I entered at the time of registration and I cannot reset the password
I re-enroll
I will certainly have some advice to ask

I'm just asking this question
I noticed that morphos doesn't support hidden networks
I had to make my home network visible to access the internet
Is this normal for morphos?
for example with the home TV once the first connection is established if I hide the network again then everything works.
Morphos requires that the network is always visible otherwise it does not connect.

I will then move my questions directly to morphos-zone
Thanks for any reply.


@Minuous
if your goal is to swap files and put them in the morphos system
you can use for example "googledrive" and directly download the files you prepare.
Or an easy way is to use winuae and mount the .img file and move everything you need into it and then mount your .img again with qemu

was this your goal?

https://library.morph.zone/Tips_and_...th_Hidden_SSID

White 21 May 2021 17:24

@tolkien
Solved now it works.
Thanks a lot for your suggestion.

tolkien 21 May 2021 17:30

Great. Enjoy MorphOS as much I do! ;)

White 21 May 2021 17:48

@tolkien
Thank you :-)


just one last question
to move entire archives inside morphos for example a usb stick or an external usb hd with the demo-scenes which filesystem is supported fat32?
it's possible to do it ?

thanks again, I promise it's the last question :-)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:27.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.05292 seconds with 11 queries