English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.WinUAE (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   WinUAE doesn't start (error in WINE) (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=108295)

ral-clan 20 September 2021 03:06

WinUAE doesn't start (error in WINE)
 
Hi,

I've used WinUAE in WINE (under Linux) for years. Hadn't used it for about a month and went to start it today and got the following error message (starting from terminal):
Quote:

000f:err:service: process_send_command receiving command result timed out
0023:err:ntdll:RtlpWaitForCriticalSection section 0x7bee54e0 "loader.c: loader_section" wait timed out in thread 0023, blocked by 0025, retrying (60 sec)
000f:err:service: process_send_command receiving command result timed out
X Error of failed request: GLXBadFBConfig
Major opcode of failed request: 152 (GLX)
Minor opcode of failed request: 0 ()
Serial number of failed request: 261
Current serial number in output stream: 261
Funny thing is all my other Windows software still starts fine in WINE. Does anyone know what might be causing this error only with WinUAE?

WINE version: 5.0
WinUAE version: 4.4.0


Thanks.

Tomislav 20 September 2021 12:25

It's new Mesa drivers. In shell try with

export MESA_GL_VERSION_OVERRIDE=4.5

change to directory where is winuae and run

wine winuae.exe

This is no solution but workaround.

ral-clan 20 September 2021 14:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tomislav (Post 1507623)
It's new Mesa drivers. In shell try with

export MESA_GL_VERSION_OVERRIDE=4.5

change to directory where is winuae and run

wine winuae.exe

This is no solution but workaround.


Thanks Tomislav,


Does this solution you propose make a permanent change to my Linux system (i.e. does the change survive reboot)? If so, can I revert it easily?
I ask because I've heard this workaround causes issues with other Linux native software (i.e. Chrome), so I actually prefer if it's something that doesn't survive a reboot I have to execute in terminal each time I want to run WinUAE in WINE.


Thanks.

coldacid 20 September 2021 21:36

Unless you add it to your profile script, an environment variable will only have its value for the shell in which you set it, and if "exported" any processes created by that shell. You can always create a shell script which sets the variable and launches WinUAE via WINE, and run that, in which case you don't have to worry at all about any changes to your environment.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:07.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04306 seconds with 11 queries