English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (https://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Coders. Asm / Hardware (https://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=112)
-   -   AGA FMODE & BPLCON1 Scrolling (https://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=105977)

DanielAllsopp 24 February 2021 02:07

AGA FMODE & BPLCON1 Scrolling

Morning!

I've since moved onto getting some sort of hardware scrolling working with some tile data, and I've got something moving:

https://www.the-snakepit.co.uk/asset...e_1x_debug.gif

Obviously I have some background restore and offset issues with the player but that's easy to fix so we'll ignore that for now. If anyone's following the other threads, another addition is I've also added two more layers of parallax with the two rows of clouds sprites at the top.

As you can see, I have some sort of raster time analysis going on with the colour bars which for this top example is running about a half of the way down the screen.

This is FMODE 1, with all 8 sprites (in attached mode) which are multiplexed vertically into 4 strips, covering the whole screen using SSCAN2.

Now because I've read several times that you can't use FMODE 4 with all 8 sprites, and hardware scroll I thought I'd try it anyway:

https://www.the-snakepit.co.uk/asset...e_4x_debug.gif

The raster lines have halved when I switch to this mode, and it all still works.

So my question for tonight is, how is this possible if after all of the discussions I've seen here, you can't do this. Or, is it because I'm only using a 288x256 window with a 320x256 screen buffer? Either way, there's a definite decrease in raster time being spent.

Initial copper setup looks like this:

Code:

dc.w FMODE,$800f

; - 288x256 scroll 16 pixels either side
dc.w DIWSTRT,$2c91
dc.w DIWSTOP,$2cb1
dc.w DDFSTRT,$38
dc.w DDFSTOP,$b8

ross 24 February 2021 09:47

With DDFSTRT=$38 you don't lose sprites, but then try to scroll the screen 63 pixels with BPLCON1..