English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Demos (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   AGA Demo that is actually a ECS Demo (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=106518)

Torti-the-Smurf 07 April 2021 11:53

AGA Demo that is actually a ECS Demo
 
Hi Demolovers :agree

I found this "AGA" Demo from Revision 2021 that is actually an ECS Demo. :shocked

Open your Mind - Let us inside! by Void
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UODnvTGNJXE

It states in the readme:

_____ _____
.___\\ ( * V O I D * ) //___.
| .____ |
_ __ _____| \_ __/\ __ _ __/\ |
\\_\\ | / \\ _)_.___ \\ |
. \ / | \ |_ / \ __ _
| \______/________/__ '/______//_//
| yop \/ .
|___ ___|
` //_________________________\\ '


Open Your Mind - Let Us Inside!

An Amiga AGA demo by Void

Released at Revision 2021 Online


Requirements:
-------------
Amiga 1200 / 4000
2 MB of Chip-RAM and 8 MB of Fast-RAM
HDD
------------------------------------------------------------
:)


Well, it dosen´t need or use AGA at all !
I tried it on the A600 Furia and it works like it should :great

Even with AGA, its 100% the same.

So, now my question.
Why is this an A1200/A4000 Demo when it dosent use the AGA Graphics at all ?

Just because it uses 2 MB of Chip-Ram ? That would make it a true ECS Demo :great

I find this interesting and kind a funny that a Demogroup makes a AGA Demo that isn´t AGA at all :)

2MB Chip-Mem dosent makes it automatically AGA :p but hey, i like a good ECS Demo and there only a handful that exist.

So two questions really.

1) Do you know "AGA" Demos that just needs ECS, 2MB Chip-Ram and a 68020 CPU ?
2) Can you name any real ECS Demos besides the few i List down below ?

Greetings and keep on Demoing. :spin

PS: Just for fun, a few quotes from Demos i like:

"AGA killed the scene"

"Winners dont use AGA"

"No AGA, No 060 and no other cheats"

:laughing

Torti-the-Smurf 07 April 2021 13:49

Here are all the ECS Demos that i could find.
(dont know if that list is complete or really 100% true)

G-force by Pygmy Projects (has a OCS,ECS and AGA file in the Archive)
Radikal by Haujobb
All City by Moods Plateau
Regrets by Moods Plateau
Retro Intro by Neural
Hardknee Lotus by RNO & Unique
and
Open Your Mind - Let Us Inside! by Void :)

Are there any true ECS Demos that i have missed ? ;
or "AGA" Demos that just needs a ECS with 2MB chip and a 68020 CPU ?

Demo on :spin

BjornHeimdall 07 April 2021 16:30

Interesting catch.:great Maybe coders will insert AGA chipset detection routines in beginning of their code now.

roondar 07 April 2021 17:16

There's at least one OCS/ECS demo that detects AGA and displays "No AGA allowed" if it finds it ;)

Matt_H 07 April 2021 18:15

Maybe it needs the faster throughput of AGA rather than the expanded color palette? Does it use Kickstart 3.x features not present in 1.x or 2.x?

But even commercial publishers have overstated requirements on occasion. Dungeon Master II officially requires AGA but all it really needs is 2MB chip RAM. I'm guessing they found it easier to just say "AGA" instead of listing the very specific expansion requirements for lower-spec machines. Even A3000s aren't 100% guaranteed to have 2MB chip RAM.

Torti-the-Smurf 08 April 2021 12:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by roondar (Post 1475426)
There's at least one OCS/ECS demo that detects AGA and displays "No AGA allowed" if it finds it ;)

:laughing
Yeah, i remember that one, dont know what demo it was tho. (getting old)

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt_H (Post 1475435)
Maybe it needs the faster throughput of AGA rather than the expanded color palette? Does it use Kickstart 3.x features not present in 1.x or 2.x?

But even commercial publishers have overstated requirements on occasion. Dungeon Master II officially requires AGA but all it really needs is 2MB chip RAM. I'm guessing they found it easier to just say "AGA" instead of listing the very specific expansion requirements for lower-spec machines. Even A3000s aren't 100% guaranteed to have 2MB chip RAM.

It´s possible that it needs Kickstart 3.0+, but i did not tried that. My A600 is closed and stay closed :) and i only use (have) the 3.1 Rom in WinUAE, same as in my Amiga600.
The Demo is exactly the same, graphics and speedwise, no matter if AGA or ECS.

But yeah, back in the days there where also a few "AGA games" that wherent AGA at all.
Jungle Strike or Dungeon Master II comes to mind ;)

Anyhow, i still find this interesting.
If i would have the the time i would go through all the AGA Demos that dosent look
AGA and try them with a 2MB-Chip 68020 Amiga ;)

AmigaHope 08 April 2021 20:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt_H (Post 1475435)
Maybe it needs the faster throughput of AGA rather than the expanded color palette? Does it use Kickstart 3.x features not present in 1.x or 2.x?

If it needs the faster throughput from the CPU then it should work on an A3000.

Most AGA demos don't use any fancy OS routines that weren't already in 1.3. Even then, very little changed between 2.x and 3.x that didn't involve higher level GUI/interface stuff.

Nightshft 09 April 2021 18:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by roondar (Post 1475426)
There's at least one OCS/ECS demo that detects AGA and displays "No AGA allowed" if it finds it ;)

I remember some startup code that detects system specs from M.Gibbs and IIRC it denied start on Aga :shocked:p, not sure if it was a demo or a game though.

britelite 11 April 2021 15:39

Quote:

Originally Posted by roondar (Post 1475426)
There's at least one OCS/ECS demo that detects AGA and displays "No AGA allowed" if it finds it ;)

I think I've actually included this in a couple of my OCS-prods that make use of the 6bpl mode with only 4bpl DMA trick for HAM-chunky, which doesn't work on AGA :)

Emufr3ak 12 April 2021 18:17

Well. We decided to go for AGA to have some more freedom in General. A1200 has 2MB Chip and fmode > 1 frees up some membandwidth. Actually working on the final atm. One idea is to make it OCS compatible. It looks like it already is though :-). Well not everybody has 2MB Chip mem so it's still worth it.

Torti-the-Smurf 12 April 2021 18:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by britelite (Post 1476207)
I think I've actually included this in a couple of my OCS-prods that make use of the 6bpl mode with only 4bpl DMA trick for HAM-chunky, which doesn't work on AGA :)

:laughing hehe, thats right :great

Just wanted to say thank you Britelite for every Dekadence Demo :bowdown
Its always a day that i celebrate when a new OCS/ECS Dekadence Demo drops :crazy

In fact, i want to say Thank You to all youre lovely Demo people.
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!YOU GUYS KICK ASS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:bowdown I thank you from the bottom of my Heart. :bowdown

Thank you Void for a pretty neat ECS Demo :spin There arent many of those ;)

:spin T H A N K Y O U :spin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZD7xFcEedXs


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:48.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.05785 seconds with 11 queries