English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Hardware (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Radeon on Mediator 1200 PCI (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=54910)

Megatron-UK 04 September 2010 02:02

Radeon on Mediator 1200 PCI
 
Can anyone confirm that a 5v Radeon 9200/9250 should work on the vanilla Mediator 1200 PCI (not SX, TX, LT2 or LT4)?

I've got a no-name one here thats properly keyed for 5v PCI (single notch on the right) and am having real trouble getting the Amiga to reliably boot up, and when it does, it's not listed by the Mediator pciinfo tool (although my Realtek 8193c NIC is). With the Radeon removed, it boots every time.

PCI ID's are 1002, 5960 and 1002, 5940 (ATI Technologies RV280 / 9200 PRO).

Running the following sequence of software:

Mediator CD 1.10
Mediator UP 3.12
Mediator CD UP 1.31
Then the latest pci.library (8.1) and radeon.card (2.9) installed on top.

I was under the assumption that the 5v cards would work in the older Mediator 1200 boards. Has anyone managed to do so?

Megatron-UK 04 September 2010 02:42

Just a small addendum. Installed the latest Mediator UP 2.0 and there's no difference - still won't boot properly with the Radeon card in.

Megatron-UK 04 September 2010 04:10

Got an old S3 Virge card detected and (partially!) configured using the 3rd party Virge96.card drivers (haven't managed to configure any screen modes that I can display on my lcd monitor yet though!). So that rules out a problem with the Mediator - it has to be the Radeon....<sigh>....

DarrenHD 09 September 2010 04:52

Quote:

Originally Posted by Megatron-UK (Post 697275)
Just a small addendum. Installed the latest Mediator UP 2.0 and there's no difference - still won't boot properly with the Radeon card in.

Even though it may be keyed as a 5V PCI card, it may not be. I have such a card with the same PCI connector layout and it does not work.

However, another Radeon card I have DOES work.

The bottom line, is keep trying cards, or if you want a 100% working card, buy one from Elbox. I bought two such cards from Elbox and they work.

I guess I got lucky that one of my two Radeon's I had lying around did work.

If you want to know, it's a Sapphire Radeon 9250 PCI with 256MB. It works.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:56.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04296 seconds with 11 queries