English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Amiga scene (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   iGame v2 - A well known Amiga game launcher ( New Build! ) (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=94347)

Decker 08 June 2021 13:39

Quote:

Originally Posted by tero (Post 1489343)
renderlib v40 was the culprit. with renderlib v32 everything works again.

I think that did it. I now have iGame2 running with no tooltype or setting to disable guigfx. No errors, launches just fine.

walkero 08 June 2021 14:05

So the problem is renderlib version. Hmm... I wonder if we should have a check in place.

Decker 08 June 2021 14:24

Quote:

Originally Posted by vulture (Post 1489409)
Maybe check if some dithering options are enabled for the datatype?

The IGAME.IFF screenshots open in iGame 1.6a and MultiView without dithering. That said, when reading my ILBM datatype in hex, there is a string reading 'ILBMDTHD'.

Tried Henryk Richter's ILBM DT 47.3, which didn't do anything for iGame, but broke the fancy Copper-Daemon in MagicWB :)

vulture 08 June 2021 18:35

oh I see, then it could be how render.library is configured to display the images.

Decker 08 June 2021 19:38

Quote:

Originally Posted by vulture (Post 1489468)
oh I see, then it could be how render.library is configured to display the images.

Holy Hell. Based on that I:

1. Tried Muller's renderlib from Aminet (dev/misc/renderlib.lha)
2. Got the error 'Cannot open guigfx blabla'.
3. Once again I disabled Guigfx.

Now the screenshots look fine. No Dithering. Even when I switch back to my previous render library, it doesn't matter.

I'm glad, but honestly can't tell why it works.

vulture 08 June 2021 23:37

strange, maybe walkero can work it out

coldacid 09 June 2021 00:54

Quote:

Originally Posted by Decker (Post 1489480)
Holy Hell. Based on that I:

1. Tried Muller's renderlib from Aminet (dev/misc/renderlib.lha)
2. Got the error 'Cannot open guigfx blabla'.
3. Once again I disabled Guigfx.

Now the screenshots look fine. No Dithering. Even when I switch back to my previous render library, it doesn't matter.

I'm glad, but honestly can't tell why it works.


Both renderlib v32 and v40 are by Timm Müller. It sounds like v40 doesn't do the dithering though? Could you just confirm for us which version you have on your system now? Thanks.

Decker 09 June 2021 08:49

render.library 32.0 (27-Jun-2017)

Lisko 09 June 2021 09:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by walkero (Post 1489390)
At the latest iGame versions we had some changes to load as an image the icon of the slave, in case a screenshot is not available. Maybe that changed the way the screenshot gets the dithering. I will check again that code and come back to you if there is anything I could do.

Hi is this something that has to be enabled?
I have latest stable version of iGame and if there is no screenshot for a game only the standard iGame image placeholder gets displayed. Am I missing something?

coldacid 09 June 2021 19:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lisko (Post 1489573)
Hi is this something that has to be enabled?
I have latest stable version of iGame and if there is no screenshot for a game only the standard iGame image placeholder gets displayed. Am I missing something?


If you're running the latest stable (2.0) then the iGame placeholder should only be used if igame.iff doesn't exist in the game directory and iGame can't load the icon image for some reason. The icon file needs to match the executable or slave filename (i.e. gameexe and gameexe.info, or game.slave and game.info) for iGame to recognize it.


I would advise double-checking the file listings for the drawers your games are in. If the icon files are properly named, or there's an igame.iff file that isn't being picked up, then my next suggestion is check if you have any issues with your datatypes.

Lisko 12 June 2021 12:10

Quote:

Originally Posted by coldacid (Post 1489666)
If you're running the latest stable (2.0) then the iGame placeholder should only be used if igame.iff doesn't exist in the game directory and iGame can't load the icon image for some reason. The icon file needs to match the executable or slave filename (i.e. gameexe and gameexe.info, or game.slave and game.info) for iGame to recognize it.


I would advise double-checking the file listings for the drawers your games are in. If the icon files are properly named, or there's an igame.iff file that isn't being picked up, then my next suggestion is check if you have any issues with your datatypes.

Maybe was really a problem with the datatypes because after upgrading my amigaos installation from 3.9 to 3.2 the icons started to show up in iGame

walkero 12 June 2021 12:52

@Lisko
Yeah, iGame requires datatypes to load the images for sure.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:08.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.06279 seconds with 11 queries