English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.FS-UAE (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=122)
-   -   FS-UAE for OS X PPC (Not officially supported) (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=74649)

SnakeCoils 22 September 2014 00:24

Unfortunately the new 2.5.16 development release did not build on OSX PPC, here is the errror that occour just after the make command:

Code:

make -C ..
depbase=`echo src/genlinetoscr.o | sed 's|[^/]*$|.deps/&|;s|\.o$||'`;\
        g++ -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I.  -DMACOSX -DUAE -DFSUAE -I./flac/include -I./gen -I./src -I./src/jit -I./src/include -I./src/od-fs -I./src/od-fs/include -I./src/od-win32 -I./src/od-win32/caps -I./libfsemu/include -I./glee -I./manymouse  -I./src/slirp/include -I./libudis86/include  -I./libmpeg2/include  -I/opt/local/include/freetype2 -I/opt/local/include -I/opt/local/include/libpng16  -D_REENTRANT -I/opt/local/include/glib-2.0 -I/opt/local/lib/glib-2.0/include -I/opt/local/include  -DLUA_USE_POSIX -I/opt/local/Library/Frameworks/OpenAL.framework/Versions/A/Headers  -I/opt/local/include/libpng16  -I/Library/Frameworks/SDL2.framework/Versions/A/Headers -I/opt/local/include    -Wmissing-declarations  -fvisibility=hidden  -g -O2 -MT src/genlinetoscr.o -MD -MP -MF $depbase.Tpo -c -o src/genlinetoscr.o src/genlinetoscr.cpp &&\
        mv -f $depbase.Tpo $depbase.Po
cc1plus: warning: command line option "-Wmissing-declarations" is valid for C/ObjC but not for C++
g++ -I/opt/local/include/freetype2 -I/opt/local/include -I/opt/local/include/libpng16  -D_REENTRANT -I/opt/local/include/glib-2.0 -I/opt/local/lib/glib-2.0/include -I/opt/local/include  -DLUA_USE_POSIX -I/opt/local/Library/Frameworks/OpenAL.framework/Versions/A/Headers  -I/opt/local/include/libpng16  -I/Library/Frameworks/SDL2.framework/Versions/A/Headers -I/opt/local/include    -Wmissing-declarations  -fvisibility=hidden  -g -O2 -headerpad_max_install_names -pagezero_size 0x2000 -rpath @executable_path/../Frameworks  -o gen/genlinetoscr src/genlinetoscr.o  -lm -ldl  -framework Carbon -L/opt/local/lib -lfreetype  -L/opt/local/lib -lgthread-2.0 -lglib-2.0 -lintl  -framework IOKit -F/opt/local/Library/Frameworks -framework OpenAL -framework OpenGL -L/opt/local/lib -lpng16  -F/Library/Frameworks -framework SDL2 -L/opt/local/lib -lz 
powerpc-apple-darwin9-g++-4.0.1: @executable_path/../Frameworks: No such file or directory
make[1]: *** [gen/genlinetoscr] Error 1
make: *** [bundle] Error 2

The usual Cflags and Libs declarations for OpenAL and SDL2 frameworks have ben done as usual.

FrodeSolheim 22 September 2014 00:29

It looks like your linker does not understand -rpath @executable_path/../Frameworks.

It is not essential, unless you want to load the qemu-uae.so plugin. So you can remove -rpath @executable_path/../Frameworks from configure.ac...

SnakeCoils 22 September 2014 08:20

2.5.16dev binary built succesfully and already available in The Zone!

Many thanks for your quick and continuative support! :-)

tlosm 23 September 2014 10:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by SnakeCoils (Post 977092)
2.5.16dev binary built succesfully and already available in The Zone!

Many thanks for your quick and continuative support! :-)

Thanks Mate ;)

tlosm 23 September 2014 20:35

hI snakecoils ,
I had been tested your last build and compared before on my config i have 16mips before was 13.

Im facing some small problem
I cant set fast ram more than 8192 on Amiga 4000 setup
i cant set ZIII ram too ..

this is my configuration

amiga_model = A4000/040
accuracy = 1
floppy_drive_volume = 0
ntsc_mode = 0
video_sync = off
fullscreen = 0
kickstarts_dir = /Users/user/Documents/FS-UAE/Kickstarts/
kickstart_file = Kickstart.rom
chip_memory = 2048
fast_memory = 8192
zorro_iii_memory = 16384
bsdsocket_library = 1
viewport = * * * * => 0 0 752 574
hard_drive_0 = /Applications/Emulation/Computers/UAE/WB31/


There is a way for have rtg too?

Thanks
Luigi :great

amigafreak68k 23 September 2014 20:49

Try

Code:

graphics_card = uaegfx
graphics_card_memory = 16

This should activate the Picasso96 emulation.

FrodeSolheim 23 September 2014 20:55

Quote:

Originally Posted by tlosm (Post 977399)
I cant set fast ram more than 8192 on Amiga 4000 setup

8MB is max for (Zorro II) fast RAM. So that's normal

Quote:

Originally Posted by tlosm (Post 977399)
i cant set ZIII ram too ..

This should work, please provide fs-uae.log.txt if not.

Btw, you don't have to include the following options, as they correspond to defaults (for this model) anyway:
Quote:

Originally Posted by tlosm (Post 977399)
accuracy = 1
ntsc_mode = 0
video_sync = off
fullscreen = 0
kickstarts_dir = /Users/user/Documents/FS-UAE/Kickstarts/
chip_memory = 2048

Quote:

Originally Posted by amigafreak68k (Post 977404)
graphics_card_memory = 16

This one isn't needed, 16 MB is the default amount for the uaegfx card (Zorro III) :)

tlosm 23 September 2014 21:13

Hi Frode ,
the rtg mode dont work , i have a black window if i set the rtg resolution
form screen preferences.
The picasso96 mode see the uae_gfx "video board" but nothing.
I think snake have to check his port probably something is missing because
the SDL2 hack?

about the text.log i dont know where the app put it usually.

Luigi

FrodeSolheim 23 September 2014 21:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by tlosm (Post 977412)
about the text.log i dont know where the app put it usually.

http://fs-uae.net/log-files-needed :)

tlosm 24 September 2014 19:05

2 Attachment(s)
my log.:lol

For SnakeCoils
From The Great Álmos Rajnai:

Maybe somebody else could do that, or merge my JIT implementation into FS-UAE.
SnakeCoils why you dont join with Tobias Netzel ? I think together will light the fire of PPC emulation too ;)

SnakeCoils 25 September 2014 21:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by tlosm (Post 977580)
For SnakeCoils
From The Great Álmos Rajnai:

Maybe somebody else could do that, or merge my JIT implementation into FS-UAE.
SnakeCoils why you dont join with Tobias Netzel ? I think together will light the fire of PPC emulation too ;)

I really appriciate the offer but my skill as programmer is very limited, although my job implies a lot of coding but in a really strict environment like tooling and measurement industrial machines. Thanks to this background (including many years as Apple II user) I usually can pick the Frode's suggestions and apply them to his source without much other help but manipulating the C code is another matter, there's quite a big difference between a programmer and a developer.

I think Mr. Rajnai is doing an excellent and unvaluable work in optimizing the 68k emulation on PPC computers and its JIT engine is growing stronger and faster on every release, I check almost daily if a new beta is coming :-)

I am not a developer but from my poor point of view I see the distance between the sources code of FS-UAE and E-UAE becoming larger and larger but I would really like that the PPC JIT engine will not remain only a "tech demo" but will find its way in the FS-UAE implementation... maybe the real question is: at expense of what?

We must keep in mind that our PPC machines are aging and the computation power is not infinite so what it is best choice? An optimized JIT CPU emulation that subtract resources to the virtual Amiga chipset or a precise emulation of the whole Amiga machine that chokes every host CPU slower than a dual 2 GHz ?

The JIT engine is a godsend for slow PPC machines (like my G4 for example) but faster Macs will live happily with FS-UAE.

What is needed is that other really skilled developers, without distracting Mr.Frode and Mr.Rajnai from their projects, would start to look at both to put together the best compromise. I hate to do comparisions but let's think for example to the SNES emulators Bsnes and Snes9x, the first is the absolute reference for accuracy but requires a really fast CPU, the second do many and many emulation shortcuts but runs greatly also on a G4 (in fact I use it on my MDD without any speed issue).

Well, I would like to see here the same thing for Amiga emulation: a reference no-compromise emulator (FS-UAE or WinUAE) and a lighter version (E-UAE JIT) that can run almost everything without yelling to the user "BUY A FASTER MAC!" :-D

I can see a bright future for both, everyone will be happy ;-)

FrodeSolheim 25 September 2014 22:24

Quote:

Originally Posted by tlosm (Post 977399)
i cant set ZIII ram too ..

Use the A4000 version (not the A1200 one) of the 3.1 ROM together with the A4000 model.

tlosm 26 September 2014 07:12

will check and report :)

tlosm 26 September 2014 07:27

snackecoils ,
Almos expressed the intention of not upgrade the euae emulator in terms of chipset etc etc etc because the only one objective is the perfect 68k jit emulation under ppc cpu, this why he had been reply me that him will be really happy if some one will merge his 68k core in the fsuae emulator and suggest Tobias to help you for gave this extra spin on your porting and have ppc emulation too..
right now there are 3 active people who are doing porting for macosx ppc (not mac ports)
you (uae, mame)
tobias (webkit leopard,euae jit)
cameron ( teenfourfox and some other project )
strange thing all 3 have amiga in the heart ;)

tlosm 26 September 2014 21:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim (Post 977794)
Use the A4000 version (not the A1200 one) of the 3.1 ROM together with the A4000 model.

Confirm with a4k rom everything is working ;) rtg and more fast ram :P

On my config 19 mips for A4000/40 :)

over 50mips with the jit not enabled of euae-jit
over 98mips with the jit enabled of euae-jit

Qemu-system-ppc on G5 Quad gave me 733mhz G3 cpu result on one Core of G5 .. not bad for a PPC emultation too ;)

SnakeCoils 27 September 2014 22:17

1 Attachment(s)
The 2.5.17dev FS-UAE for OSX PPC is compiled and available in The Zone! for download.
Lately I have noticed that FS-UAE performances tends to degrading while running and in the worst case to crash the emulator too.
Following is attached an archive containing the crash report, the debug.uae and fs-uae.log.txt of what happened while I was playing at Pinball Illusions CD32 edition.

tlosm 28 September 2014 10:33

Thank you Snakecoils.
Tested and i dont find big problems only quake 68k crash... Almos did a fix for the 68k core for quake probably will need in FsUae too.

FrodeSolheim 28 September 2014 12:43

Quote:

Originally Posted by SnakeCoils (Post 978084)
Lately I have noticed that FS-UAE performances tends to degrading while running and in the worst case to crash the emulator too.

The crash is related to OpenAL. I did some OpenAL changes for 2.5.17dev, so this is probably the cause if this crash did not happen with <= 2.5.16dev. In particular, it looks like FS-UAE requests too many buffers from your OpenAL implementation (and FS-UAE does not handle the error other than logging it)

Please try to change (libfsemu/src/emu/audio_openal.c):
Code:

#define MAX_BUFFERS 96
back to:
Code:

#define MAX_BUFFERS 48
Does this fix the crash?

SnakeCoils 29 September 2014 22:23

Version 2.5.18dev compiled for OSX 10.5.8 PPC is uploaded to the Zone! and ready for download.

After a bit more investigation I found that OpenAL was not really the cause of progressive performance degradation, the SDL2 binary was to blame...

Stripping out from FS-UAE bundle the PPC binary I build some time ago and replacing it with the Universal one from the Bitfgihter game bundle fixed every problem and now the emulator is smooth and stable as before.

I have to made further tests to determine if the origin of troubles was related to the 2.0.1 version of library because Bitfighter seems to use the 2.0.0 one

I will post more infos as soon I have some more :-)

FrodeSolheim 29 September 2014 22:28

I didn't pay much attention to the performace degradation claim in the first place, to be honest (to vague). But the OpenAL-related crash was real of course :) -Note that the MAX_BUFFERS change mentioned in my last post is included in 2.5.18dev.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:11.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.08263 seconds with 11 queries