English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Hardware (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   ZIP drive not showing up (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=85170)

Marchie 19 December 2016 07:31

ZIP drive not showing up
 
Hi All,

What's the process for getting a SCSI ZIP drive to show up in Workbench?

The drive shows up as Iomega Zip100 on my SCSI card utility, it has a unique SCSI ID and the termination is set correctly (I have a CD-ROM and HDD on the same SCSI chain that both work fine).

I've downloaded a couple of different ZIP utilities from Aminet - the instructions just say to copy the files (ZIP0, ZIPPC, etc, etc) into DOSDrivers, change a line in the script to match your scsi device, and they will work...only they don't.

If I mount the ZIP0 device from a CLI, nothing happens, if I mount it again I'm told the device is already mounted, but still nothing shows up, no "ZIP0:NDOS", nothing.

Any help appreciated. The machine is an A2000, 68020, 12mb RAM, Workbench 3.1.

thomas 19 December 2016 08:52

Quote:

Originally Posted by Marchie (Post 1129145)
the instructions just say to copy the files (ZIP0, ZIPPC, etc, etc) into DOSDrivers, change a line in the script to match your scsi device, and they will work...only they don't.

You have to change the unit number to the SCSI ID, too.

Also make sure that the file contains Activate = 1, otherwise you have to access the drive from DOS before it will show on Workbench. Try CD ZIP0: or Dir ZIP0:

AMIGASYSTEM 19 December 2016 13:58

Ciao Thomas, I noticed that some links do not work anymore on your homepage, in particular from "Support" you can not download WBDock, BDWatch, DrawerSync and NewWBInfo.

Marchie 20 December 2016 00:58

Thanks Thomas,

I've made the changes you suggested, and I'm a little closer, but still not quite there.

If I mount ZIP0, then type "cd ZIP0" into a shell I get a "not a DOS DISK"; if I restart and mount ZIPPC (which, presumably, is supposed to support PC disks) I get "object not found".

Either way I still get nothing showing up on the desktop.

There's probably something obvious i'm not doing. What ZIP drivers are people using? (if, indeed, anyone's using a ZIP drive anymore) Is there an install script anywhere? (similar to AMICDROM which I used to setup my CD-ROM)

idrougge 20 December 2016 01:06

When I used a ZIP drive, I just formatted the disk as though it was a regular hard disk.

Marchie 21 December 2016 00:52

Thanks all, got it working with PC disks!

For reference:
* All programs are on Aminet
* Install MountDOS
* Install fat95
* Install the Zip driver (I used NewZipMount)
* Copy ZIP0 file (I renamed it ZIP5), edit it in ED using the instructions that come with fat 95.

PC Zip disks on Amiga Workbench!

Marchie 09 January 2017 23:28

UPDATE/HELP:

Celebrated too soon - ZIP disks show up and I can open and browse them, but when I try to copy files on or off the disk, my machine back-screens and crashes.

Any suggestions for where or how to start error-trapping this?

Marchie 22 April 2019 14:14

Alrighty, since you have all been hanging on the edge of your seats for these last two years until I got back to this...

ZipStandard and fat95 worked (both off Aminet). I can now swap data quickly from PC to Amiga.

Party at my place.

BYO beer.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:09.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.07207 seconds with 11 queries