English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Hardware (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   cybppc.device & AmigaOS 4.1 FE , problem (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=98552)

drluking 22 August 2019 01:29

cybppc.device & AmigaOS 4.1 FE , problem
 
Hello,

I have a problem software with cybppc.device and AmigaOS 4.1 FE :

When It's run the AmigaOS 4.1 Kickstart, the new cybppc.device of the cyberstormppc doesn' t work anymore ...

It's sure a software problem, because the 68k original cybppc.device works correctly (It's 44.69 version), while the ppc cybppc.device of AmigaOS 4.1 doesn't work

My cyberstormppc has a 604e 330MHz (It's not the original one CPU)

I have found these interesting online about this problem:

http://forum.hyperion-entertainment....hp?f=15&t=3296
https://forum.amiga.org/index.php?topic=58156.0

If I boot from CDROM SCSI and connected a hard disk SCSI, after the kickstart of AmigaOS 4.1 is run, the CDROM SCSI is no more avaiable and bootable

If I boot from CDROM IDE and connected a hard disk SCSI, after the kickstart of AmigaOS 4.1 is run, the CDROM IDE is bootable, but cybppc.device has no units SCSI ... or It freeze if scanned the chain SCSI

If i clear the KS of AmigaOS 4.1 FE (CTRL+ALT+ALT) and return to AmigaOS3.9 the cybppc.device units SCSI works again perfectly

No way to use correctly cybppc.device with my cyberstormppc 604e@350MHz ? or only IDE ?
I need an update driver of cybppc.device for AmigaOS 4.1 FE to not have all these problems ?

thanks

drluking 23 August 2019 01:33

any ideas ?
could be useful update the cybppc.device 68k from 44.69 to 44.71 ?
I have cyberstormppc 640@330HHz with cybervisionppc (no original 604e CPU and no g-rex)

grelbfarlk 23 August 2019 01:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by drluking (Post 1340778)
any ideas ?
could be useful update the cybppc.device 68k from 44.69 to 44.71 ?
I have cyberstormppc 640@330HHz with cybervisionppc (no original 604e CPU and no g-rex)


I'm using 44.69 with my CSPPC with no problem with OS 4.1. I boot it a little bit differently, normally my OS3.9 partition has higher boot priority, if I want to boot OS4, I open early startup screen and select the OS4.1 partition, then it kickstarts and I open the early startup screen on that and select the OS4 partition again.

It sounds a little bit like your OS 4.1 installer did not install the OS4 version of cybppc.device.

thomas 23 August 2019 09:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by grelbfarlk (Post 1340781)
then it kickstarts and I open the early startup screen on that and select the OS4 partition again.

You don't need that. You can add a BootDevice entry to the Kicklayout which contains the name of the OS4 partition. This will take precedence over the boot priorities.


Quote:

Originally Posted by drluking (Post 1340573)
It freeze if scanned the chain SCSI

This might mean that your SCSI chain is not properly configured. A termination issue for example.

For the 68k cybppc.device you can change settings in the firmware menu of the CSPPC to make it more compatible. The PPC cybppc.device does not have access to them, so they are ignored once the PPC Kickstart is loaded.


Quote:

Originally Posted by drluking (Post 1340778)
could be useful update the cybppc.device 68k from 44.69 to 44.71 ?

The versions of 68k components don't matter for the PPC OS. They are not used.

drluking 23 August 2019 10:15

Quote:

Originally Posted by thomas (Post 1340808)
This might mean that your SCSI chain is not properly configured. A termination issue for example.

I use: Active terminator <--- cybppc controller --- hd uwscsi 9gb (Term Power on, autospin on) ---> Active terminator

and: Active terminator <--- cybppc controller --- hd uwscsi 9gb (Term Power on, autospin on) --- master 32x (with adaptor 68pin to 50 pin active bits) ---> Active terminator

and same problem if I use a hd uwscsi 68gb vs 9gb

I have no problems with AmigaOS3.9 with this configs SCSI, while in AmigaOS4.1 FE after its rekick the cybppc.device is no more usable; for this reason I think It's a software problem; if you look at urls before I have read "DarrenHD" guy had same problem with an "overclocked" cyberstormppc (mine is not overclocked, but CPU is 330Mhz version and not the original 180/200/233 Mhz of Phase 5) here (post 2) http://forum.hyperion-entertainment....hp?f=15&t=3296

Quote:

For the 68k cybppc.device you can change settings in the firmware menu of the CSPPC to make it more compatible. The PPC cybppc.device does not have access to them, so they are ignored once the PPC Kickstart is loaded.
ok

Quote:

The versions of 68k components don't matter for the PPC OS. They are not used.
in 68k (AmigaOS 3.9) could be useful to update the firmware of my cyberstormppc 604e 330Mhz / 060 50Mhz with cybervisionppc gfx card from 44.69 to 44.71 ? (for exemple if It's better the cybppc.device in 68k mode and something else of better)

thanks

alex-mars64 23 August 2019 16:30

Hi,

I also had issues with OS4.1 FE and cybppc device. For me it worked do have separate SCSI HD for Os4 with lowest SCSI ID and connected first after controller. Any other config fails for me.
SCSI Chain is like this:

Cd Drive ID 5 with Term —-Adapter 50 Pin to 68 Pin —-CS PPC—-Os4 HD ID 1 —- OS 3.9 HD ID 2 with Term

Regards, Alex

thomas 23 August 2019 18:48

Quote:

Originally Posted by alex-mars64 (Post 1340868)
with lowest SCSI ID

Well choosen SCSI IDs might be of help. Give the HDD the ID 0, set the "LAST ID" flag in the RDB and give the CD the ID 1.

drluking 24 August 2019 08:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by alex-mars64 (Post 1340868)
Hi,

I also had issues with OS4.1 FE and cybppc device. For me it worked do have separate SCSI HD for Os4 with lowest SCSI ID and connected first after controller. Any other config fails for me.
SCSI Chain is like this:

Cd Drive ID 5 with Term —-Adapter 50 Pin to 68 Pin —-CS PPC—-Os4 HD ID 1 —- OS 3.9 HD ID 2 with Term

Regards, Alex

Thanks Alex, some questions:

are you using in 68k cybppc.device 44.69 or 44.71 or ... ?

Is your 604e 233 or 200 or 180 or ... Mhz ?

your Cd Drive ID5 has its own a jumper for active termination or you have add at the end an active terminator hardware?

your HD OS 3.9 ID2 has its own a jumper for active termination or you have add at the end an active terminator hardware?

Your two HD are 9gb uwscsi, or bigger (or smaller) es. 68gb ...etc ?

Thanks

alex-mars64 24 August 2019 11:48

Hi,
I am now using version 4.71. Before I had 4.67. Both work for me. My CS PPC is 233 MHz.
The CD drive has its own jumper for active term. There is no separate termination in my system. The same is set for my HD, active term by jumper of HD. OS 4 drive is 9 gb, OS 3.9 is 4.x gb. Both UW SCSI IBM.

Regards, Alex

drluking 24 August 2019 13:13

hi Alex, thanks

I have updated now the firmware of cyberstormppc to 44.71 (was 44.69) ; I want to try in this way

Your is genuine CPU 604e@233 original board; mine is not 604e V9.12546 @327) --> (??? this coluld be the problem ??? http://forum.hyperion-entertainment....hp?f=15&t=3296 )

My CDROM 32x scsi also has its own jumper for active term (SCSI ID1)

My IBM's HD uwscsi (ok in AmigaOS3.9) has not a jumper for active term (only jumper for term power), so I use a Terminator Active hardware at the end of the chain; in this IBM HD I have enabled only: Term Power jumper and Autospin Jumper and It has SCSI ID0 (prepared clean, with MBR, no partition, from a PC)
( this HD IBM 9.1Gb is DPSS-309170 model here the jumpers manual https://www.manualslib.com/manual/28...?page=7#manual ) (??? needed to Force in SE mode with a jumper ???)

I have also an other one of IBM DDRS-39130 ; not tested jet with AmigaOS4.1 install (ok in AmigaOS3.9) (I used it ages ago, and It has jumper in Force SE and in Autospin)
This model has not a jumper for Term Power (probably because It's enable as default the Term Power ?)

Then I have also a more newer HD uwscsi of 73Gb model maw3073np (ok in AmigaOS3.9 and apparently not in AmigaOS4.1FE)

If you can verify, which model of IBM HD are you using ? and some particular jumper configuration ? (for exemple SE Mode Force, ..etc..), and CDROM ? (my CDROM SCSI is HP C4506 CD writer 9600)

drluking 24 August 2019 15:40

news:

update the cyberstorm firmware (from 44.69 to last one 44.71), but nothing is changed about AmigaOS4.1FE, these are details:

NO IDE (hd and cdrom) connected.

Terminator_Active <---- HD IBM 9gb (TermPower jumper ON, Autospin Jumper ON) SCSI ID0 ---- Controller cybppc 44.71 SCSI ID7 ----> CDROM HP with adapter upper byte active and Active terminated SCSI ID1

1) I put the AmigaOS4.1FE boot floppy disk, and CD AmigaOS4.1FE in the CDROM SCSI HP.
2) A4000 boot from the floppy drive and load the scsi.device update for A4000 and reboot correctly
3) A4000 boot again from the floppy drive and correctly access to the CD AmigaOS4.1FE in the CDROM SCSI HP and load perfectly the new AmigaOS4.1FE kickstart and reboot
4) now I have the new Kickstart AmigaOS4.1FE output video: "AmigaOS 4 Kernel (Kickstart Version 53.70) Copyright (C) 1985-2014 Hyperion Entertaiment CVBA and others All Rights Reserved" with the red and white boing bag logo and floppy disk logo -->>> if now I put again the AmigaOS4.1FE boot floppy disk It boot again from floppy drive BUT at the end I have this requester:

"Please insert volume AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition: in any drive
Process: 6 "CD"
Retry - Assign - Mount -Cancel"

Ok this is the situation ... at this point cyberstormppc SCSI controller (when It's run the new AmigaOS4.1FE Kickstart and its module cybppc.device.kmod) is NO more usable.
I think it's a software problem of the cybppc.device.kmod od OS4.1FE ... any idea ? (there is also the cybppc.device.config file with default settings)
OR ... ??? (cyberstormppc with no original 180/200/233 is no usable ?)

If I press then ALT+ALT+CTRL (to clear AmigaOS4.1FE Kickstart) and insert AmigaOS3.9 emergency disk in floppy drive and AmigaOS3.9 CD in the HP CDROM SCSI, AMigaOS3.9 will run correctly again.

I have read now these very interesting posts online http://forum.hyperion-entertainment....=1342&start=40 :

cit:
"Flare wrote:
problem solved...
someone did an upgrade from my csppc to 366 mhz cpu and scsi problem is also gone..
im happy now..
thx for help

You are very lucky your SCSI still works reliably under OS 4.x after upgrading your PPC cpu. I had stachu upgrade mine as well, probably to the same CPU as yours, and now my SCSI locks under OS 4.x. It was an older CS PPC revision I gave to him - perhaps I should have given him a newer one to do. There were several revisions of the CSPPC board and some of the chips on it that are not documented very well or even visible to see."


so no way to solve this problem ? :help (if I can use uwscsi hd in DMA is better then IDE PIO0 and I can use SWAP partition, not usable in IDE)

DarrenHD 26 August 2019 16:19

Quote:

Originally Posted by drluking (Post 1340573)
Hello,

I have a problem software with cybppc.device and AmigaOS 4.1 FE :

When It's run the AmigaOS 4.1 Kickstart, the new cybppc.device of the cyberstormppc doesn' t work anymore ...

It's sure a software problem, because the 68k original cybppc.device works correctly (It's 44.69 version), while the ppc cybppc.device of AmigaOS 4.1 doesn't work

My cyberstormppc has a 604e 330MHz (It's not the original one CPU)

I have found these interesting online about this problem:

http://forum.hyperion-entertainment....hp?f=15&t=3296
https://forum.amiga.org/index.php?topic=58156.0

If I boot from CDROM SCSI and connected a hard disk SCSI, after the kickstart of AmigaOS 4.1 is run, the CDROM SCSI is no more avaiable and bootable

If I boot from CDROM IDE and connected a hard disk SCSI, after the kickstart of AmigaOS 4.1 is run, the CDROM IDE is bootable, but cybppc.device has no units SCSI ... or It freeze if scanned the chain SCSI

If i clear the KS of AmigaOS 4.1 FE (CTRL+ALT+ALT) and return to AmigaOS3.9 the cybppc.device units SCSI works again perfectly

No way to use correctly cybppc.device with my cyberstormppc 604e@350MHz ? or only IDE ?
I need an update driver of cybppc.device for AmigaOS 4.1 FE to not have all these problems ?

thanks

Hey, as you saw from my earlier posts I had a similar issue with an overclocked CS PPC. I never was able to resolve it. My non-overclocked CS PPC's worked fine. In the end I went to an IDE hard drive setup for that system. Unfortunately I no longer own any CS PPC's, I sold them all. I still have a CS MK2 and Sonnet PPC and various other systems (A2000/060, CD32, CDTV, X1000, and a Pegasos II), but no CS PPC to run OS 4.1 Classic. As you know there are several internal revisions of the CS PPC, and some made by phase-5 and some by DCE. Some boards may run OK overclocked, some may not. When you run exclusively on the PPC side (as with OS4 you are taxing the board more and accessing the ram faster....so it may fail or lock up in some boards). I don't think there is any way around it....maybe it's some timing issue, I don't know.

drluking 26 August 2019 17:46

thanks a lot DarrenHD, I have a question for you in private message

k0x 26 August 2019 20:38

Is the behavior same for both os 4 and 4.1?

drluking 26 August 2019 21:04

I don't have OS4.0 (only 4.1FE), but if useful I can search it and try it

zipper 26 August 2019 21:18

SCSI tends to lock if overclocked - 60++ MHz on original 50 MHz card is mostly too much. But probably your overclocked card has been taken into account in this regard?

drluking 26 August 2019 22:27

It's 060 clocked at 50Mhz (It's not been overclocked), while the CPU PPC is a genuine 604e 330Mhz (but not original 604e 180 or 200 or 233Mhz of Phase 5)

my_pc_is_amiga 03 December 2021 03:21

Reposting here what I posted in https://forum.hyperion-entertainment...407d3a4#p54560


I also got a 350MHz 604e CPU and having cybppc.device lock-up issues in 4.1 that I don't see in OS3.x. I haven't resolved anything yet but have tried to do some research on the net:

There seems to be a few varieties of the CPU and a good summary here:
https://www.okqubit.net/ppchikaku.html

Datasheets are here:
https://www.nxp.com/products/no-longer- ... tation_Tab

1) XPC604ERX200PE part number is my original one from Motorola and looks like it is a 9v version. Interesting note is that it looks like phase5 was using "Pilot Production Prototype" chips since the part number has an "X". (see MPC604E2PNS.pdf)

PID9v-604e --> Core Voltage = 2.5V.
DRVMOD0 = low
DRVMOD1 = high


2) PPC604e3DBCG350E part number that I have now on my phase5 board is the IBM one and looks like is a 9q version.

PID9q-604e --> Core Voltage = 1.8V.
DRVMOD0 = high
DRVMOD1 = high

The DRVMOD bits seem to affect some timings...

In the "PID9q-604e" there is this mention: "Compatibility mode specifications are provided to support PID9q-604e use in existing designs."

DarrenHD 03 December 2021 21:44

I think the bottom line is that overclocked CS PPC's are potentially problematic (especially with the cybppc on-board SCSI). If you go back to stock clocking the SCSI will probably work.

Jpor 04 December 2021 01:41

Quote:

Originally Posted by DarrenHD (Post 1520133)
I think the bottom line is that overclocked CS PPC's are potentially problematic (especially with the cybppc on-board SCSI). If you go back to stock clocking the SCSI will probably work.

My overclocked Cyberstorm (66mhz 060 & 440mhz PPC) works fine with Amiga OS 4.1FE.
These were from Stanchu100.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:30.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.07179 seconds with 11 queries