English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Hardware (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Help with A500+ does not boot, white screen, blinking power led (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=76996)

amigo-mexicano 11 February 2015 23:36

Help with A500+ does not boot, white screen, blinking power led
 
Hi, I have a cool A500+ for repair, when receiving it, was going guru all the time, no matter what I loaded. It stays OK on boot screen for hours.

It had a previous repair of battery leak.

After inspecting a little, saw some green goo near U12 and C12, so I removed them and cleaned all, tested continuity etc.., but when putting everything back, now I get a white screen and the power led blinks, no boot anymore.

I tested Gary chip on other miggy and works OK. I replaced U12 and C12, and problem is the same.

Any ideas on what to try next?

Thanks!

Zippy Zapp 12 February 2015 00:16

Hi.

Is there anything plugged into the trap door expansion?

I had one that was white screen and if I remember correctly the rom chip needed to be reseated. You might check the chips to make sure they are all seated properly.

I think you may want to try unplugging keyboard make sure it is not bad, seems I remember a problem there too on my old one. This was 20 years ago, though...:D

amigo-mexicano 12 February 2015 00:19

Hi!

Nothing connected on the trap door.

I tested with and without keyboard, in fact with the bare motherboard, and white screen all the same.

I will re-check all other chips, just to be sure.

Thanks!

Viserion 12 February 2015 15:14

Have you looked at the resistors?

I had a burned resistor at R309 that caused white screen. After I replaced it,it booted up, although it still not as stable as it should be.

Yulquen74 13 February 2015 01:36

have you checked the gary socket? if the legs of the gary chip have turned green, they should be cleaned with a nylon brush or similar.

also, since you replaced some parts, are you 100% sure you did not break any traces/vias in the process? I woud check all traces going to/from the "green" area.

sometimes even vias occasionally fail due to coorrosion damage.

rikbliz 13 February 2015 09:15

(deleted)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:20.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04963 seconds with 11 queries