English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   News (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   AmigaOS 3.2 released! (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=106964)

bubbob42 16 May 2021 17:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by spudje (Post 1484118)
Does the CDROM contain ROM files both in formats usable in emulators/maprom tools (unsplit_unswapped) and formats that can be burnt in EPROMs (.bin), like with the 3.1.4 digital releases?

Yes.

gulliver 16 May 2021 17:04

Here you have the exact contents.

https://i.postimg.cc/LhWx06KZ/001.png

utri007 16 May 2021 17:29

Saimo, I seriously doub that Idefix actually gives any performance boost.

I do have a Idefix Experess and I get same performance with and without it.

saimo 16 May 2021 18:15

Quote:

Originally Posted by utri007 (Post 1484130)
Saimo, I seriously doub that Idefix actually gives any performance boost.

I do have a Idefix Experess and I get same performance with and without it.

I posted actual figures from my real A1200 - here they are again:
* without IDEFix: 1705926 B/s
* with IDEFix: 2131252 B/s
IDEFix provides a 25% gain.

crazyc 16 May 2021 18:38

Will this work well with my a1200 with a mediator, sound card, spider usb etc, and what about Warp3D?
Cheers

jurassicc 16 May 2021 18:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by crazyc (Post 1484143)
Will this work well with my a1200 with a mediator, sound card, spider usb etc, and what about Warp3D?
Cheers

Running it here with the following in my Mediator TX :-

Radeon9250 and Voodoo 3 with Picasso96 3.02
Warp3D works when I have the Voodoo Card in, currently the Radeon is back in as my A1200T is dual booting 3.2 / 4.1

No issues with the Indivision MK3 AGA and HighGFX either.

Roadshow works fine with MediatorNet.device (RTL8029AS)

Rapid Road on the clock port and no issues with Poseidon 4.5.

Hope that helps.

http://www.os4.co.uk/classic/32-thumb.png

crazyc 16 May 2021 19:09

Thats great cheers, good to know.

I think I will keep 3.2 on my b1230 based machine for the moment and save the tower (b1260 and mediator) for when I have the time to try and reinstall all of that stuff though. It was a right pain getting warp3d to work originally and I cannot remember quite how I did it..... :)
Thanks for the info re rapid road etc, I will need that actually indeed.

Mathesar 16 May 2021 21:59

OS 3.2! :bowdown Wow :cool

I sort of skipped OS3.1.4 as I am running OS3.9 on my A3000. And I have FINALLY everything running stable on that setup....

But this update is intriguing.....
Quick question: I know that the new Kickstart will boot on an 060 but is the A3000 version of mathieesingbas.library now also compatible with an FPU-less (eg 68LC060) CPU?

Predseda 16 May 2021 22:53

BTW AmigaOS releases numbering kinda reminds that of Starwars :)

wiser3 17 May 2021 06:38

Does Amiga OS3.2 recognize the 68080?

Minuous 17 May 2021 07:41

Recognize it for what purpose? It is supposed to be compatible, is it not?

TuKo 17 May 2021 08:01

Works fine with it

wiser3 17 May 2021 08:47

Quote:

Originally Posted by Minuous (Post 1484267)
Recognize it for what purpose? It is supposed to be compatible, is it not?

So the system doesn't report that i need to install a library when i don't. And i like system information screen to make accurate reports.

TuKo 17 May 2021 09:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by wiser3 (Post 1484271)
So the system doesn't report that i need to install a library when i don't. And i like system information screen to make accurate reports.


VampireMap/VampireFlash tools do install a dummy 68040.library for that purpose

Mathesar 17 May 2021 09:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by Minuous (Post 1484267)
Recognize it for what purpose? It is supposed to be compatible, is it not?

Kickstart 3.1 and older chokes on a 060 with fpu. Something to do with stack frame if I recall correctly. This is fixed in 3.1.4 onwards.
On top of that you will need a 68060.library to implement missing instructions that older software may use.


My question relates to whether the rom based mathieesingbas library in the A3000 now also works without FPU. Not a big problem if it doesn't though but just nice to know.

bubbob42 17 May 2021 09:49

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by wiser3 (Post 1484271)
And i like system information screen to make accurate reports.

See attached picture.

NinjaCyborg 17 May 2021 10:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by bubbob42 (Post 1484283)
See attached picture.

Perfect. That will shut kolla up!! (on this point anyway)

bubbob42 17 May 2021 10:49

Quote:

Originally Posted by ninjacyborg (Post 1484287)
perfect. That will shut kolla up!! (on this point anyway)

never! :D

TuKo 17 May 2021 11:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by NinjaCyborg (Post 1484287)
Perfect. That will shut kolla up!! (on this point anyway)


That's highly optimistic :)

emiespo 17 May 2021 11:21

Quote:

Originally Posted by gulliver (Post 1483933)
LoadModule is still in charge of loading modules and rebooting when a newer ROM does not exist.

You can find it on Aminet, it is the same version as integrated within 3.2.
So you can easily grab it and read its docs.

Hi Gulliver, thanks for all the info. I'd be interested in 3.2 for my CD32, but from what I see it seems the CD doesn't contain a custom ROM for it, so it would need to always double reboot, is that right? I've noticed that on a YouTube video that shows the content of the ROM folder.

But then here: https://www.amiga-shop.net/en/Amiga-...3-2::1068.html

I can see they offer an option for a physical CD32 ROM. :confused:confused

Can you please clarify if that's something experimental or just a mistake?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:07.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.08314 seconds with 11 queries