English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Hardware (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Upgrading 3.0 to 3.1 Amiga 4000 (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=83383)

IvanEBC 09 July 2016 08:34

Upgrading 3.0 to 3.1 Amiga 4000
 
Hi Guys.

This idea was born from the idea of creating a dual booting Amiga 500 1.3/2.04 using the Kickstart ROM switcher from Amikit.

The 2.04 kickstart is out of stock so i thought, why not get a 3.1 chip. Then it occured that i already have a 3.0 chip in my A4000, why not nab the 3.0 in that, dual boot my A500 from 1.3/3.0 and then grab a new 3.1 for my A4000 so i can use CD-Roms and newer OS test installs with "less" hassles (yeah i know i don't NEED to).

Question, can the A4000 kick be pulled from the motherboard and used in an A500, and if so, why does Amikit give me 2 chips if i buy the 3.1 upgrade kit, something baout a U175 and U176, does it need both or do i use one or the other based on .. NTSC/PAL or something? If its the case you need to replace two chips, the a500 rom switcher only accepts one chip right for each rom, so how does that work, the rom switcher says it supports 3.1 so it must work.

Thanks in advance.

ajk 09 July 2016 08:55

The contents of the Kickstart are largely the same between all machines, but the physical implementation is different. The systems that have a 16-bit bus (e.g. an A500) use a single ROM chip, but the 32-bit systems have the Kickstart split between two chips.

So no, unfortunately you can't use the left over A4000 Kickstart in your A500. You'll need a single chip version of 3.1 for the A500.

IvanEBC 10 July 2016 04:29

Thank you sir - perfectly answered.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:34.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04798 seconds with 11 queries