English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Amix (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=125)
-   -   Amix in WinUAE (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=67210)

Toni Wilen 09 July 2015 20:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by rhester72 (Post 1029861)
I haven't tried it in AMIX yet - I found it odd the res is 1024x768. Wasn't it supposed to be 1024x1024?

Manual ("UNIX System V Release 4 Amiga Version 2.0 Addendum" available from http://amix.failsure.net/) only mentions 1024x768 and 800x600 resolutions.

olinit -- -tiga: 1024x768
olinit -- -tiga -tm 3: 800x600

I tried 1, 2 and 4: does not start.

rhester72 09 July 2015 22:46

*nods* Just found a reference that says the other three modes are interlaced, assuming that would not work out well for a 'workstation-class' AMIX display card. =) Thanks for the info!

Rodney

Locutus 10 July 2015 07:19

Quote:

Originally Posted by rhester72 (Post 1029861)
I haven't tried it in AMIX yet - I found it odd the res is 1024x768. Wasn't it supposed to be 1024x1024?

Rodney

Its quite possible that the 1024x1024 mode mentioned is the full framebuffer size which includes a off-screen area, often used for font and bitmap caching.

Noth 10 July 2015 09:45

1024x1024 mode is with the A2024 monitor. Going to test the new beta now, thanks so much Tony!

Toni Wilen 10 July 2015 10:27

Note that there is some weird issue that randomly causes nothing to happen when screen mode is changed, screen stays mostly blank and emulated Amiga stops responding. Only solution is to try again.

Noth 10 July 2015 13:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 1029932)
Note that there is some weird issue that randomly causes nothing to happen when screen mode is changed, screen stays mostly blank and emulated Amiga stops responding. Only solution is to try again.

Yep that the result I've had 100% of the time. Quite annoying... Did you set up X with the A2410 in amixadm or did you just use a default monochrome setup and -tiga activates the right version of X?

Toni Wilen 10 July 2015 13:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by Noth (Post 1029958)
Yep that the result I've had 100% of the time. Quite annoying... Did you set up X with the A2410 in amixadm or did you just use a default monochrome setup and -tiga activates the right version of X?

Do you get "CBM Amiga HiRes..." screen twice before it hangs?

I only used "olinit -- -tiga". (and -tiga -tm 3) EDIT: it seems 1024x768 hangs more regularly than 800x600, at least in my tests.

Noth 10 July 2015 13:35

First I ran xinit and it came up in 1bit mode, then enabled the A2410 in amixadm, then did olinit -- -tiga and the screen flashed black, then CBM hires console, then black. Some disk activity but after that it just remains black and does nothing.

Noth 10 July 2015 14:25

Having a telnet session open when testing all this helps a lot :). So you can pass the -tiga flag to X to just test X itself... still only getting black screens but the OS responds to the reboot command, so that's some time not was wasted on fsck in between tests. Really looking forward to getting this working!

Toni Wilen 10 July 2015 15:32

Try pressing END+F9, perhaps it switched back to native mode (and didn't hang). A2410 does not have display passthrough, after its display output has been enabled, it stays enabled even if it is only showing blank screen.

Noth 10 July 2015 15:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 1029985)
Try pressing END+F9, perhaps it switched back to native mode (and didn't hang). A2410 does not have display passthrough, after its display output has been enabled, it stays enabled even if it is only showing blank screen.

I can get it back to native mode sometimes if I kill the X server via telnet. Doesn't seem to be the issue... How often out of 10 do you get a working X session with -tiga ?

Toni Wilen 10 July 2015 17:03

Perhaps every 3rd mode change hung. I did some adjustments, does http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.7z work better? (If not, include winuaelog.txt)

Noth 10 July 2015 20:18

I tried the latest beta in win8.1 via vmware player, it does actually work with the A2410, you get the CBM firmware initialisation screen flash twice, takes a bit to load the screen but it works. My problem is in Wine... Now it flashes 3/4 of the winuae screen blue (as the initialisation page of the cbm firmware tries to load) with black at the top and never refreshes.

So it's not a WinUAE problem as far as I can see! Playing with the colours is quite fun, trying to get the filemanager to use different colours for icons and such like.

Amiga_CDTV 10 July 2015 20:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by Noth (Post 1030037)
My problem is in Wine... Now it flashes 3/4 of the winuae screen blue (as the initialisation page of the cbm firmware tries to load) with black at the top and never refreshes.

Try to re-size the WinUAE window (ie. when nothing happens, resize the window even by just couple of pixels). In my Amix tests under Wine it sometimes helped when it looked like emulation had frozen, but it was just the Wine's screen updating that had stopped for some reason.

Toni Wilen 10 July 2015 20:51

Did you use Direct3D mode? DirectDraw mode most likely won't work correctly, at least not in all situations.

Noth 10 July 2015 21:12

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Amiga_CDTV (Post 1030038)
Try to re-size the WinUAE window (ie. when nothing happens, resize the window even by just couple of pixels). In my Amix tests under Wine it sometimes helped when it looked like emulation had frozen, but it was just the Wine's screen updating that had stopped for some reason.

That worked well with the A2024, but it doesn't seem to work at all the same way with the A2410. And yes Toni, I always use Direct3D.

Toni Wilen 10 July 2015 21:26

Try without vsync next. (never use vsync when testing something for the first time)

EDIT: A2410 display updating is different than any other RTG board because it needs to be scanline based. Currently it can cause unexpected side-effects in any "non-standard" configuration.

Noth 10 July 2015 22:56

Vsync off doesn't seem to make much of a difference, still not displaying beyond the initial attempt of the firmware page to display.

Toni Wilen 12 July 2015 16:38

Quote:

Originally Posted by Noth (Post 1030074)
Vsync off doesn't seem to make much of a difference, still not displaying beyond the initial attempt of the firmware page to display.

Strange because it uses same system as hardware RTG board, only small difference being that all updates are not always processed at vblank but spread over multiple scanlines (because A2410 is sort of scan line based)

--

Is all Amix supported hardware now emulated? Or is there something even more weird hardware remaining?

Locutus 12 July 2015 17:47

The A2232 was supported, i'm sure in the crazy idea of running a multiuser serial term setup from it :D (poor 030).

Its quite a fancy card though, it has its own 6502(-variants) that handle the serial ports. The 6502's probably just run some firmware from an onboard rom, so emulating the card enough for the Amix/AmigaOS/NetBSD drivers to work might not be even that hard.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:08.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.10061 seconds with 11 queries