English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (https://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.WinUAE (https://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   WinUAE 4.9.0 beta series (Was 4.5.0) (https://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=104099)

Toni Wilen 26 September 2020 18:05

WinUAE 4.9.0 beta series (Was 4.5.0)
 
WinUAE 4.9.0 beta series (was 4.5.0)

As usual, this thread is only for 4.5.0 beta introduced bugs or features. Always test with 4.4.0 first! Problem exists in 4.4.0 or older: do not post in this thread!

Major new chipset emulation updates:

- Cycle-accurate emulation of internal Agnus/Alice DMA request pipeline. DMA request happens 2-3 cycles before actual DMA transfer. (Previously request == transfer + hacks)
- Bitplane, Copper and Blitter emulation rewrite based on schematics. All undocumented side-effects are fully emulated.
- Programmed display modes (including badly documented BEAMCON0 bits, HSYNC, VSYNC, HBLANK, VBLANK etc) are now accurately emulated.
- Agnus/Alice horizontal counter is now separate from Denise/Lisa horizontal counter: programmed mode hsync shift display wraparound is now supported. Same with vertical, Agnus/Alice vertical is separated from display device vertical. If vsync starts after line 0, lines 0 to vsync are correctly visible at the bottom of display.

Major other updates:

- JIT Aranym merge. All previously known JIT bugs fixed.
- CyberVision64/3D, CyberVision64, Voodoo 3 PCI, S3 Virge PCI emulation (chip emulation from PCem)
- uaegfx Picasso96 v3.0+ screen dragging support.

And more.


https://download.abime.net/winuae/fi...nuae_4500b1.7z
https://download.abime.net/winuae/fi...ae64_4500b1.7z

Beta 1:

- Fully merged latest Aranym JIT. Previously it was only partially merged because of unsolved problem that made it completely unusable. It is solved now.
- JIT should be now trace mode (debugger) compatible. If SR register T1 or T0 bit gets set, JIT transparently drops to normal emulation mode. JIT reactivates when trace gets cleared. Very rarely used M SR bit also does same.
- Full CPU tester 68020 test set now passes in JIT mode, including trace mode tests. (NOTE: bcc.b and bsr.b tests fail unless Hard flush is also set)
- JIT has two known not yet fixed bugs: edge case shift condition (shift count is divisible by 32) C-flag problem and ROR/ROL does not clear V-flag.

- x86 Bridgeboard update: PCem x86 core updated to v16. Update added FPU support for pre-486 CPUs. FPU checkbox added to bridgeboard expansion settings.
- uaegfx Picasso96 2.5.0 screen dragging support added.

- CV64 RTG board emulation. S3 Trio 64 chipset emulation from PCem. Roxxler chip is not (yet?) emulated. CGX4 complains if Roxxler fails to work correctly. Picasso96 does not use it.
- CV64/3D RTG board emulation, Z2 and Z3 mode. S3 Virge chipset emulation from PCem. (S3 Virge is very different than S3 Trio)
- All Cirrus Logic based RTG boards now use PCem Cirrus Logic SVGA chip emulation.
- Piccolo SD64 fixed.
- Reordered RTG board list.
- Hardware emulated graphics board screenshot support fixed.
- x86 Bridgeboard VGA still use QEMU Cirrus Logic emulation. I'll keep it (at least for now) because it enables simultaneous use of bridgeboard VGA and PCem RTG board.

NOTE: JIT + Hardware emulated graphics board can cause glitches. Will be fixed later.

- No. Don't ask. Permedia 2 (Cyber/BlizzardVision PPC) or complete enough Voodoo 3 chip emulation does not currently exist.

- Audio and disk DMA: Agnus also ignores DMACON DMAEN bit. DMAEN bit is checked inside Paula. Audio: Paula audio DMA requests are only generated if DMAEN is set when channel generates DMA request (not when transferred via DMAL). DMAEN can be cleared after request has been generated and DMA request still goes to Agnus and Agnus does DMA to AUDxDAT during channel's DMA slot in next scanline. Disk: both DMAEN and DSKEN needs to be set. Previously DMAEN was checked in Agnus side when deciding current DMA slot state. Most likely no normal program cares, this is quite extreme edge case.
- Copper write to BPLxDAT timing fix.
- cpu_halt_auto_reset config entry added to GUI misc panel.
- Analog joystick multiplier/offset default adjusted.
- Load PAL mode, OCS Agnus state file directly from GUI/command line, start emulation, on the fly switch chipset to ECS Agnus: mode was changed to NTSC.
- Switching off display DMA when display DMA was active still had more hidden side-effects. It results in "bad state" that is not reset until bitplane DMA is switched back on, when it is back on DMA restarts from state which normally happens when DDFSTOP has been passed. Result is either 1 or 2 "bitplane blocks" (1 or 2 depends on horizontal position relative to next BPL1DAT slot when DMA was switched off) starting from DDFSTRT (if switched on before DDFSTRT). The rest of scanline is drawn using border color. Following scan line works normally. No differences between OCS/ECS. (vAmiga test case)
- Another undocumented feature: if BPLCON0 HAM and DPF are both set, result is weird. HAM replaces R/G/B component: replacement component value is palette _index_ of current pixel in dual playfield mode! HAM selection bits zero: palette selection works like in dual playfield mode. BPLCON2 works like mode is normal dual play field (including invalid BPLCON2 priority values). OCS/ECS only. (vAmiga test case).
- Dual playfield mode illegal BPLCON2 priorities didn't work correctly in hires mode. (bottom part of above test case)
- Blitter nasty off cycle counting update, emulatation code wasn't exactly doing what it was supposed to do.
- A1000 blitter busy bug was ignored if copper waited for blitter.
- Added DMA debugger non-nasty blitter extra information: 's' (CPU will get next blitter cycle) and 'S' (CPU stole this cycle from blitter)
- Confirmed CIA register contents at power up. CIA control register should be zero, for some reason previous reset default was $04.
- Disassemble FBF with zero offset as FNOP.
- Debugger fi instruction breakpoint command now accepts up to 3 opcode words.
- Config file list wasn't refreshed when config file was deleted. (4.4.0)
- RTF_AFTERDOS is broken in KS 2.0 , KS 2.0 now uses pre-WinUAE 3.3 hack and only KS 3.0+ use RTF_AFTERDOS. Clipboard sharing and uaenet.device work again under KS 2.0.
- Added Amiga Bootblock Reader brainfile support (copy ABR package xml files to <winuae root>\plugins\ABR -directory). Used when clicking "?" button in quickstart and disk panels.
- Fixed emulated floppy disk rotation speed, it was slightly too slow. This change could break some copy protections. Unexpected side-effects are always possible..
- Copper SKIP wasn't updated when WAIT logic was updated ages ago. SKIP had wrong timing in some rare situations.
- "Default" filter mode: PAL/NTSC switch automatically scales the image.
- DF3: floppy led was drawn using very dark color if it was disabled and system didn't have NVRAM hardware.
- OSD led font graphics is now generated from real Windows font and is high DPI aware. Led size multiplier config entries now also support non-integer values.

- Added GVP A1230 Turbo+ Jaws. Boot ROM adds RAM outside of 24-bit address space and fake RAM autoconfig board.
- Accelerator board RAM slider range was larger than supported range with some boards.
- Added Trumpcard v1.5 and v3.1 ROM. Added also hardware interrupt checkbox, later trumpcard (still non-pro) variants have interrupt support. It seems 8k ROM variants don't have interrupt, 16k do have it. Setting is wrong if it hangs at boot.
- Added A.L.F.2 OMTI variant and v2.2 boot ROM. ROM possibly also includes SCSI driver but I didn't examine how it works. A.L.F.2 OMTI IO port is exact same as in A.L.F.1.
- Trifecta LX SCSI emulation fixed.

Mclane 26 September 2020 18:22

So many fixes and additions, thank you as always..

DamienD 26 September 2020 18:33

Hi Toni,

Thanks for you latest work ;)

One problem though; I've tested 3 x games that have JIT enabled.

My configurations usually have "Direct" set. When I start any of these JIT games I just get a black screen, nothing else. Left it for 1 minutes and then had to kill the "WinUAE.exe" process.

I also tried changing to "Indirect". Started the game and WinUAE immediately crashes. This time a dump file is created.

Configurations, both logs for "Direct" and "Indirect", plus the ".DMP" are now in The Zone!

Edit: ok, something is seriously wrong... just tested an OCS and an AGA game. WinUAE crashed immediately.

Edit2: this seems to be an issue the Graphics API; if I use my usual "Direct3D 9" or "DirectDraw" (which I never use), then crash. If I set "Direct3D 11" then all games tested work.

Unfortunately I cannot use "Direct3D 11" though, and need "Direct3D 9" working.


Edit3: ok, have worked out what's causing the crash. It's the new LEDs... if I turn them off then all is ok again.

Mclane 26 September 2020 18:54

1 Attachment(s)
Confirming Damiens problems on my setup, 11 works 9 crash...

Dump attached..

Toni Wilen 26 September 2020 18:55

Does crashes stop if on screen leds are disabled? (misc panel)

EDIT: and only if D3D9 mode? Works in D3D11?

DamienD 26 September 2020 18:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 1430114)
Does crashes stop if on screen leds are disabled? (misc panel)

Yes Toni, my quote from above:

Quote:

Originally Posted by DamienD (Post 1430109)
Edit3: ok, have worked out what's causing the crash. It's the new LEDs... if I turn them off then all is ok again.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 1430114)
EDIT: and only if D3D9 mode? Works in D3D11?

"Direct3D 9" and "DirectDraw" both crash with the new style LEDs.

Only "Direct3D 11" works with these.

White 26 September 2020 19:25

Hi Toni,
thank you very much for your work and your latest beta.
I just tried the new winuae beta without changing anything same configuration etc. all the same.
With quake1 I get this in the first screenshot it is version 4.4.0 final
in the second screenshot with the latest beta 4.5 I get this while so many times the system completely crashes.
my error report is for 4.1FE, if for any reason I don't have to report this type of error because I use 4.1FE let me know.
It is not my intention to report on 4.1FE
I don't want to disturb the topic by talking about 4.1FE
In this case quake1 makes use of cybergraphic uaegfx 640x480 8 bit

Thanks again very much for the latest beta :-)

Toni Wilen 26 September 2020 19:32

Does https://download.abime.net/winuae/files/b/winuae.7z fix the led crash?

DamienD 26 September 2020 19:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 1430121)

Yes ;)

To be honest though; I like the old LEDs much more (size, shape and text).

Also, when using "Direct3D 9" it seems the LEDs / text is cut off:

https://i.imgur.com/P4wtESA.png

Old style:

https://i.imgur.com/Wxef6tx.png

Mclane 26 September 2020 19:50

yes it does Toni...Oops, D beat me to it...oh well, 2 different confirms

White 26 September 2020 19:54

Even amicygnix no longer opens the proprietary screen using the clonewb or cybergraph driver.

Toni Wilen 26 September 2020 20:42

Quote:

Originally Posted by White (Post 1430128)
Even amicygnix no longer opens the proprietary screen using the clonewb or cybergraph driver.

If this is PPC related: usual answer, far too early for that. At least without full HDF image that I can use to duplicate it.

Quote:

Originally Posted by DamienD (Post 1430125)
Yes ;)

To be honest though; I like the old LEDs much more (size, shape and text).

Also, when using "Direct3D 9" it seems the LEDs / text is cut off:

https://i.imgur.com/P4wtESA.png

Old style:

https://i.imgur.com/Wxef6tx.png

Old leds sucked.

New ones can support any available font but it is not yet configurable.

Zilog 26 September 2020 20:58

Great Toni!!! :great

White 26 September 2020 21:16

Also tried the last winuae in the thread the problems remain once the clonewb or cybergraph option is used the screen slows down considerably until it creates artifacts on the screen without opening the amicygnix proprietary screen
I will wait patiently for any future developments. thank you

falken 26 September 2020 21:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 1430141)
If this is PPC related: usual answer, far too early for that. At least without full HDF image that I can use to duplicate it.



Old leds sucked.

New ones can support any available font but it is not yet configurable.

Actual font is awful !!! :crying

Edit: The performance with games like Alien Breed 3D is terribly bad. Using the same settings as in WinUAE 4.4.0

For everything else, a wonderful job! like always

AMIGASYSTEM 27 September 2020 00:24

Toni on OS3 RTG with UAE Zorro III all RTG games tested have corrupted graphics, see screenshot.

With OS3 RTG and Picasso IV the problems are different, graphics cut and system blocks.


Thanks for your great work

hexaae 27 September 2020 01:26

Here we go!

WHDLoad games at launch make the emulator freeze (whdload doesn't even display splash window since it suddenly freezes) with b1.
My WinUAE cfg in signature.

jasonver2.0 27 September 2020 03:23

Quote:

- Added Amiga Bootblock Reader brainfile support (copy ABR package xml files to <winuae root>\plugins\ABR -directory). Used when clicking "?" button in quickstart and disk panels.
Woohoo!!! :)

honx 27 September 2020 07:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by DamienD (Post 1430125)
To be honest though; I like the old LEDs much more (size, shape and text).

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 1430141)
Old leds sucked.

New ones can support any available font but it is not yet configurable

will there be an option to choose between old and new style leds? for those who prefer old style?

chip 27 September 2020 08:06

As usual i don't understand nearly nothing of all additions / fixes :(

Anyway impressive list .... thanks for the work ! :spin


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:56.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.07646 seconds with 11 queries