English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 April 2017, 05:10   #1
lantus360
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 115
CannonBall - Enhanced Outrun Engine Released

Still salty about the original Outrun port all those years ago?

You're in luck - I decided to port over CannonBall - OutRun engine to the Amiga.

Of course you need a seriously fast Amiga to play this - A500 or A600 with Vampire 2/Gold 2 core or better recommended

Available on Aminet now. - http://aminet.net/package/game/race/CannonBall

Gameplay Video - [ Show youtube player ]
lantus360 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 April 2017, 11:38   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney / London
Age: 40
Posts: 8,298
Nice one lantus360

Ports / Conversions --> Amiga thread updated
DamienD is online now  
Old 10 April 2017, 11:51   #3
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 37
Posts: 2,338

http://www.indieretronews.com/2017/0...un-engine.html
Neil79 is offline  
Old 10 April 2017, 13:22   #4
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,281
Nice work Lantus360. Watched your video clip earlier today and was quite impressed.
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 10 April 2017, 13:49   #5
Seiya
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 174
nice game, even if it require mame roms.
better to have a full porting on open-source game, but however, great job
Seiya is offline  
Old 10 April 2017, 14:28   #6
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 691
Cannonball is fully open source. It uses the MAME ROMs for the graphics and level layouts, and for interpreting the music/sound data.
Dunny is offline  
Old 10 April 2017, 15:43   #7
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 41
Posts: 584
Looks nice but it seems my A600 with a furia is not enough to run it as I get an error message about missing video.
Superman is offline  
Old 10 April 2017, 16:30   #8
lantus360
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 115
Only RTG is supported at this time. I may look at including AGA in a later build

Id actually be interested on how well it runs on an fast 040/060 + RTG setup
lantus360 is offline  
Old 10 April 2017, 16:38   #9
PortuguesePilot
The Son of Luso
PortuguesePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Setúbal, Portugal
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by lantus360 View Post
Only RTG is supported at this time. I may look at including AGA in a later build (...)
Yes, just noticed that. Pity. Was looking forward for some Outrunning on my A1200. I fire that a 68020 AGA version of CannonBall will be pretty slow, heh?
PortuguesePilot is offline  
Old 10 April 2017, 16:44   #10
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 39
Posts: 6,841
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by PortuguesePilot View Post
Yes, just noticed that. Pity. Was looking forward for some Outrunning on my A1200. I fire that a 68020 AGA version of CannonBall will be pretty slow, heh?
The main problem is that the arcade board of Outrun is using a mix of planar graphics for some graphics elements, but the most part of the sprites is entirely in chunky bitmap ! A soupped-up A1200 just can't support this.

Next you have the audio part to deal with.....

It's not even sure that a 060 can cope with the arcade version.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 10 April 2017, 17:01   #11
Jack Burton
It's all in the reflexes!
Jack Burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wingkong warehouses
Posts: 150
It's maybe time for a clockport FM soundcard (fitted with an YM2151).
There are dozen of PCM soundcards on the Amiga, but not any FM...
Jack Burton is offline  
Old 10 April 2017, 17:06   #12
Seiya
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 174
i tried on winuae (but with no jit, cpu_speed=max and cycle_exact=false) and i can play at about 19/20 fps. not bad
But i think that on real 68040 also with RTG could be much slower.
Seiya is offline  
Old 10 April 2017, 17:19   #13
lantus360
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Burton View Post
It's maybe time for a clockport FM soundcard (fitted with an YM2151).
There are dozen of PCM soundcards on the Amiga, but not any FM...
agreed, ive love to see that
lantus360 is offline  
Old 10 April 2017, 17:46   #14
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 16,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Burton View Post
It's maybe time for a clockport FM soundcard (fitted with an YM2151).
There are dozen of PCM soundcards on the Amiga, but not any FM...
Agreed, that would be nice.
But honestly, if you have support for MIDI output, that's all you need, then you can connect a MIDI module that is exactly a 2151 or something else/better.

So, can Cannonbal be made to use MIDI OUT for music instead?
Akira is offline  
Old 10 April 2017, 18:25   #15
BSzili
Registered User

BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 161
Send a message via MSN to BSzili
FM is not MIDI. It's quite possible that the game stores its music as OPL commands.
BSzili is offline  
Old 10 April 2017, 18:35   #16
saimon69
Bedroom musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 620
For a decent Outrun in low powered machines i really don't see too much alternatives that a rewrite from scratch in assembly or a hack of one of the existing racing games... :/
saimon69 is offline  
Old 10 April 2017, 18:48   #17
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 16,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSzili View Post
FM is not MIDI. It's quite possible that the game stores its music as OPL commands.
Yes, you are right, but that doesn't mean you can't just hit the soundchip in the intended way.
Stuff like the MIDIbox SID lets you play SIDs to them through MIDI, so it IS possible.

Since plenty of FM modules are already available, it would be a better chance than waiting for anybody to create an FM soundcard for the Amiga clockport.
Akira is offline  
Old 10 April 2017, 18:48   #18
jizmo
Registered Abuser

 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Valencia / Spain
Posts: 108
Kudos lantus360 for finally applying water to the most ancient Amiga-ST burn.
jizmo is offline  
Old 10 April 2017, 19:19   #19
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 682
Quote:
Originally Posted by lantus360 View Post
Only RTG is supported at this time. I may look at including AGA in a later build

Id actually be interested on how well it runs on an fast 040/060 + RTG setup
I just tried, crashes on startup :-(

EDIT: Oops, it requires a 24bit mode, that wasn't documented...

So:





Between 5 and 10 FPS, input lag is extreme. pretty much unplayable.

Thats on a 68060 + CV64.

Last edited by Locutus; 10 April 2017 at 19:38.
Locutus is offline  
Old 10 April 2017, 19:38   #20
lantus360
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 115
what spec Amiga are you trying it on?

it could also mean you have the incorrect ROM version. there are no CRC checks at this time
lantus360 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Better Outrun port for Amiga tekopaa Retrogaming General Discussion 173 10 April 2017 22:52
would you like to have an Outrun like for Aga? sandruzzo Retrogaming General Discussion 50 30 January 2013 12:03
Was Chaos Engine 2 ever actually released for OCS/ECS? JohnnyWalker Nostalgia & memories 10 21 January 2011 14:34
Problems running outrun europa dlfrsilver project.WHDLoad 12 23 November 2007 22:30
Outrun arcade challenge.......... Bloodwych Retrogaming General Discussion 0 12 September 2003 15:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25688 seconds with 11 queries