English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 September 2019, 16:50   #1
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,607
Gfx glitch with Marvin's Marvellous Adventure etc

I've found some games like Marvin's Marvellous Adventure that show a strange flickering vertical line on the left border of the screen:



Since I've seen it also with a few other games I wondered if it can be a WinUAE gfx glitch, since I don't remember them on my original A1200+B1260...
hexaae is offline  
Old 14 September 2019, 19:26   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
I've found some games like Marvin's Marvellous Adventure that show a strange flickering vertical line on the left border of the screen:



Since I've seen it also with a few other games I wondered if it can be a WinUAE gfx glitch, since I don't remember them on my original A1200+B1260...
Does it disappear if subpixel display emulation is ticked in Chipset panel?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 14 September 2019, 20:12   #3
Zarnal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Does it disappear if subpixel display emulation is ticked in Chipset panel?

Hello,



yes. Same issue with subpixel display emulation actived (see picture).

Edit : and with subpixel display emulation actived another " glitch " appears (see picture 2).

Edit2 : I add a savestate if that can help you.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Image2.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	181.7 KB
ID:	64463   Click image for larger version

Name:	Image4.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	37.8 KB
ID:	64465  
Attached Files
File Type: uss Marvin.uss (633.4 KB, 58 views)

Last edited by Zarnal; 14 September 2019 at 21:48.
Zarnal is offline  
Old 15 September 2019, 16:58   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,321
Confirmed.

It seems if start of sprite is not "aligned" to start of bitplane and difference between bitplane and sprite start is less than 1 lores pixel, first row of sprite is not drawn. Still debugging..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 15 September 2019, 18:51   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,321
There is emulation bug but game really does have very narrow vertical line in left border, between black border and game area.

This is due to borderblank being delayed by one hires pixel (undocumented feature). It is probably almost invisible when using old small monitors but it is clearly visible when using Indivision or OSSC.

It is static line, it does not flicker when moving like it does currently in UAE.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 15 September 2019, 19:20   #6
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,607
Interesting...
hexaae is offline  
Old 15 September 2019, 19:38   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,321
Fixed. Also in sub pixel mode display is "more correct", extra line appears
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 15 September 2019, 20:24   #8
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,607
Is it ok the glitch of visible left border during intro (pciture 2) as reported also by Zarnal, when subpixel is on?
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=1345527&postcount=3
hexaae is offline  
Old 15 September 2019, 20:26   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
Is it ok the glitch of visible left border during intro (pciture 2) as reported also by Zarnal, when subpixel is on?
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=1345527&postcount=3
Yes. (Test config: A4000, OSSC, whdload)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 16 September 2019, 00:34   #10
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,607
Subpixel ON causes left screen border gfx corruption with Agony. When OFF border looks fine.
hexaae is offline  
Old 16 September 2019, 01:05   #11
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 50
Posts: 2,874
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
Subpixel ON causes left screen border gfx corruption with Agony. When OFF border looks fine.
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=93380

Agony need a patch on AGA machines
ross is offline  
Old 16 September 2019, 01:18   #12
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=93380

Agony need a patch on AGA machines
Does the same glitch with Subpixel ON with the WHDLoad version...
hexaae is offline  
Old 16 September 2019, 01:29   #13
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 50
Posts: 2,874
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
Does the same glitch with Subpixel ON with the WHDLoad version...
Because WHDLoad version is not patched for this 'bug'.
ross is offline  
Old 16 September 2019, 09:45   #14
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,607
Indeed forcing Chipset ECS solves the left border issue with Agony (WHD), even with Subpixel ON.
hexaae is offline  
Old 16 September 2019, 17:36   #15
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,321
Yeah, Agony left border really looks like that on real AGA hardware.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 05 October 2020, 23:59   #16
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,607
Overkill AGA WHDLoad is also affected by this gfx glitch in the left border when Subpixel Display Emulation is enabled:



WinUAE 4.4.x included...
hexaae is offline  
Old 06 October 2020, 13:50   #17
Mclane
Old retro god.

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 59
Posts: 684
Would this line be seen on a normal 4:3 crt monitor?
Mclane is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 02:06   #18
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,607
Same border glitch also for T-Racer WHD on WinUAE.
Up-to-date list of still affected WHD games I've found with this kind of border glitch:
  • T-Racer
  • Overkill AGA
  • Prime Mover
  • Brian the Lion

Last edited by hexaae; 13 November 2020 at 12:43.
hexaae is offline  
Old 12 November 2020, 19:24   #19
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,607
Added Prime Mover to the list
hexaae is offline  
Old 13 November 2020, 12:43   #20
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,607
Added Brian the Lion to the list:http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...1&postcount=18
hexaae is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Marvin's Marvellous Adventure Akira request.Music 2 26 September 2013 15:53
Marvin's Marvellous Adventure problems hexaae support.WinUAE 5 27 March 2008 22:59
Marvin's marvellous adventure AGA - which config rsn8887 support.Games 9 25 November 2006 19:56
Marvin's Marvellous Adventure: Hey, now look at that! :) andreas Nostalgia & memories 8 03 January 2003 20:56
Marvin's Marvellous Adventure AGA Walker support.Games 13 17 May 2002 19:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09120 seconds with 13 queries