English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 May 2003, 21:56   #1
frsoldier
Registered User
frsoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Milan - Italy
Age: 37
Posts: 122
Send a message via Skype™ to frsoldier
PLatoon Dump Problem

just dumped this disk.
my crc is bb3769c2
tosec listed the game with 4C22BCB6
(Platoon (1988)(Ocean)[b].adf)
now I tried to run it in winuae, and I got the pic attached. the game seems to boot, but loops into the pic and the Platoon logo.
for you is it a original disk problem ?

Cya.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pl.gif
Views:	287
Size:	10.4 KB
ID:	5136  
frsoldier is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 May 2003, 02:29   #2
rbdgg
 
Posts: n/a
I tried dumping my US release of Platoon and mine would crash on boot. Probably some on disk copy protection. However, my adf was still usable by installing to the harddrive using jst install.
 
Old 23 May 2003, 06:00   #3
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Quote:
Originally posted by rbdgg
I tried dumping my US release of Platoon and mine would crash on boot. Probably some on disk copy protection. However, my adf was still usable by installing to the harddrive using jst install.
Yeah, I have the US release, too, and it is definitely copy-protected, so a straight dump to adf is useless.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 23 May 2003, 09:31   #4
frsoldier
Registered User
frsoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Milan - Italy
Age: 37
Posts: 122
Send a message via Skype™ to frsoldier
the strange thing is that the disk is not original, but cracked from another group. the disk work well on old amiga.
Maybe it could has a bad sector?
frsoldier is offline  
Old 23 May 2003, 10:08   #5
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
Originally posted by Twistin'Ghost
Yeah, I have the US release, too, and it is definitely copy-protected, so a straight dump to adf is useless.
Two questions:

1. Are these versions actually different in gameplay or is it only other standard (PAL / NTSC)?
2. Does a cracked copy of the US version exist in TOSEC?
(I can't distinguish them (yet), so don't ask why I'm asking that "stupid" question )
andreas is offline  
Old 23 May 2003, 14:38   #6
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Quote:
Originally posted by andreas
Two questions:

1. Are these versions actually different in gameplay or is it only other standard (PAL / NTSC)?
2. Does a cracked copy of the US version exist in TOSEC?
(I can't distinguish them (yet), so don't ask why I'm asking that "stupid" question )
1. I played the original (NTSC) version when I first bought it and thought it was complete tosh. After reading a glowing review for the C-64 version in Zzap, I fired up WinUAE and gave the game another chance. I remained underwhelmed. That was the VF-Beyonders crack, which is PAL, if I recall. It looked just like I remember the US version, but last time I looked at my original was like 1990, so don't quote me. I'd guess no difference other than packaging and PAL/NTSC.

2. That I don't know. Most US versions didn't get cracked and instead, NTSC patches were released to make the PAL versions work proper on NTSC boxes. TOSEC has two additional versions, [cr 68 Darc], which is PAL, and a [b] version, which I don't have. Maybe the [b] is the US release and all it needs is to be booted in NTSC? If you have that one, give it a spin.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 23 May 2003, 14:47   #7
frsoldier
Registered User
frsoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Milan - Italy
Age: 37
Posts: 122
Send a message via Skype™ to frsoldier
my Amiga is PAL. so disk/crack is PAL.
frsoldier is offline  
Old 23 May 2003, 15:56   #8
7-Zark-7
Zone Friend
7-Zark-7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane/Australia
Posts: 1,240
Stick out tongue

Quote:
Originally posted by Twistin'Ghost
1. I played the original (NTSC) version when I first bought it and thought it was complete tosh. After reading a glowing review for the C-64 version in Zzap, I fired up WinUAE and gave the game another chance. I remained underwhelmed. That was the VF-Beyonders crack, which is PAL, if I recall. It looked just like I remember the US version, but last time I looked at my original was like 1990, so don't quote me. I'd guess no difference other than packaging and PAL/NTSC.

Twist, you clown, play the C64 version instead!!
7-Zark-7 is offline  
Old 23 May 2003, 17:36   #9
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
Originally posted by Twistin'Ghost
TOSEC has two additional versions, [cr 68 Darc], which is PAL, and a [b] version, which I don't have. Maybe the [b] is the US release and all it needs is to be booted in NTSC? If you have that one, give it a spin.
Yeah, thanks for the hint.
[b] version ZONEd.

[edit] Hah, I just LOVE hex editors!
This puppy emerged as a QUARTEX crack! I could also read 'CONVERSION BY CHOICE' at offset 0x1270a, but it much rather seems the case that this is a port from another computer system than a PAL-fixed NTSC version!

Last edited by andreas; 23 May 2003 at 17:48.
andreas is offline  
Old 24 May 2003, 03:37   #10
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
@7-Zark-7
Hehehe...yeah, I thought of that, but I can't imagine anything being different enough to make it a good game. Unless the enemy attacks were better implemented (it just seems so random and so easy to get killed unavoidably). The graphics were all samey and bland, there was nothing that gave me that "just one more go" feeling. Instead, it was more like "how much longer before I give up and reboot". So if the C-64 version can improve those flaws (and whatever other things I am forgetting), then perhaps I will give it a go.

@Andreas
Coolish, thanks for the fill. Will give it a (quick) once over after work. Although I am a little confused on your addendum...is it a Quartex crack? And I believe the C-64 version was the original source machine if I remember my history accurately.

They should have made a videogame of JFK.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 24 May 2003, 23:21   #11
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Confused? The disk is DEFINITELY a Quartex crack. Just look at the offset I mentioned above and go a few lines back. It should utterly pop into your eye
andreas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crash dump files mark_k support.WinUAE 1 09 December 2012 10:10
Protected PC floppies: how to dump them? Supamax Retrogaming General Discussion 8 14 July 2011 19:30
Please dump your ST disks! Interceptor project.SPS (was CAPS) 9 31 May 2008 01:35
Screen Dump ! THX1138 support.Apps 1 18 November 2003 21:46
Directory dump LaundroMat MarketPlace 9 07 April 2002 15:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15745 seconds with 12 queries