English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 May 2003, 23:15   #1
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
Question Weird question!

Ok to be perfectly honest I have always prefered the sleek good looks of the a500 to that of the 1200, the 1200 is way too early 90s too square and uniform for my liking.

My question is has anyone ever re-housed an a1200 inside an a500 casing?

Can it be done?

The keyboard layout is the same but I have never opened an a500 before so as far as the insides go anythings possible!!
Mick_AKA is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 May 2003, 23:18   #2
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,318
Arrow

Well, realistically, you should be able to just cut away anything in the way inside the 500 case and put the 1200 mobo in, and maybe tape it down. The only problem I can think of is the expansion slot and PCMCIA card slot, which would be missaligned.

Last edited by Enverex; 05 May 2003 at 23:30.
Enverex is offline  
Old 05 May 2003, 23:22   #3
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,743
Quote:
Originally posted by NightShade737
NS (aw comeon, I have writen NS at the end of everything I have ever writen, its almost impossble not to now because of habit, and it would look stupid in my Sig.
Sorry, them's the rules!
CodyJarrett is online now  
Old 06 May 2003, 01:20   #4
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
Hmm, slight set back in my cunning plan, decided to use the outer casing of my very old model a500 that got wet in a move about 5 years ago and has not worked since. Unfortunately as a combination of age and probarbly water damage the seccond my dremel touched the case it pretty much disintigrated
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	a500.jpg
Views:	214
Size:	12.8 KB
ID:	5097  
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 06 May 2003, 01:27   #5
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,318
Hooooo

rofl, damn that sucks. Has it decintegrated too much to superglue it back together?
[you know everytime I write a post I write NS at the end then have to delete it because I remeber I cant ]
Enverex is offline  
Old 06 May 2003, 01:35   #6
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
unfortunately the bit that broke off broke into a million diferant pieces, im not bored enuff to glue all that back together!
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 06 May 2003, 01:48   #7
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,318
Roll eyes (sarcastic)

Damn. Well, you could buy my brothers old Amiga 500+ if you want
[did it again]
Enverex is offline  
Old 06 May 2003, 02:10   #8
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
No thanks I have plenty more to pull apart :eek
Mick_AKA is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very weird problem alkis21 project.WHDLoad 13 28 September 2010 21:49
Weird instructions absence Coders. General 4 12 October 2009 17:54
Weird CF problem (maybe...) squidbass support.Other 10 01 March 2009 15:45
Weird problem BippyM Coders. General 12 03 August 2008 15:21
Amiga 600 Wild, Weird and Wicked Putty question Predseda support.Games 4 16 July 2008 15:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18264 seconds with 12 queries