English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 May 2003, 16:14   #1
Leo42
Senior Member
Leo42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Paris
Posts: 122
Almost all vertical scrollings: Strange Effects...

Hi,


With all versions of WinUAE, the vertical scrollings seems to be fluid BUT are rendered in a strange way...

Hope someone will see what I mean... I'll try to make a video of that problem when I find time...
Leo42 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 May 2003, 10:38   #2
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Did you check the VSync box and try with 50 Hz or 100 Hz?
(as well as 60 Hz for NTSC games)

NOTE: Vsync only works in full-screen mode by now. Windowed mode vsync implementation is on TODO list.
andreas is offline  
Old 02 May 2003, 23:57   #3
Leo42
Senior Member
Leo42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Paris
Posts: 122
Ok... So here is a small AVI capture that, I hope, will explain the thing...

http://nogfx.free.fr/uae/pinball.zip (2.7Mb - Codec: Cinepak Radius )

=> Please watch it in fullscreen if you can as it is most visible...

=> it looks like some kind of "water effect" is applied with vertical scrollings... Horizontal scrollings don't have any problems.

(settings used: 100 Hz with Vsync enabled in fullscreen)
Leo42 is offline  
Old 03 May 2003, 00:29   #4
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
yeh i also noticed the same thing ages ago, in fact i think its been like that in winuae for a long time, using opengl mode gets rid of it altho the vertical scrolling still looks a bit weird
Belgarath is offline  
Old 03 May 2003, 00:54   #5
Leo42
Senior Member
Leo42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Paris
Posts: 122
That's really too bad as Horizontal scrolling are perfect...

Unfortunately, UAE still won't replace my real OLD (REALLY OLD !) A500 ;((
Leo42 is offline  
Old 03 May 2003, 05:47   #6
VermillioN
 
Posts: n/a
use a better resolution @ 50hz...

720x576@50 will make u very happy
if this mode ain't available by default then use something like Powerstrip to create it.

winuae has well and truly replaced my 500 (especially lately)
 
Old 03 May 2003, 09:02   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,657
Untick "Correct aspect ratio"
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 03 May 2003, 17:36   #8
Leo42
Senior Member
Leo42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Paris
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally posted by Toni Wilen
Untick "Correct aspect ratio"
Cool, it works )

=> I played with almost everything except that

Now just correct this Gods bug and eveyrthing will be perfect
Leo42 is offline  
Old 03 May 2003, 17:37   #9
Leo42
Senior Member
Leo42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Paris
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally posted by VermillioN
use a better resolution @ 50hz...

720x576@50 will make u very happy
if this mode ain't available by default then use something like Powerstrip to create it.

winuae has well and truly replaced my 500 (especially lately)
My SVGA monitor does not support 50hz !!
Leo42 is offline  
Old 04 May 2003, 08:53   #10
VermillioN
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Leo42
My SVGA monitor does not support 50hz !!
doesn't matter - it seems irrelevant now hehe
100hz looks sweet for me but it just don't scroll as fluidly as 50hz.
Too bad your monitor doesn't support it as it sounds like you are as fussy as me
 
Old 04 May 2003, 09:12   #11
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,593
Quote:
Originally posted by VermillioN
winuae has well and truly replaced my 500 (especially lately)
Good thing Akira didn't read this
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 04 May 2003, 09:37   #12
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
Originally posted by VermillioN
100hz looks sweet for me but it just don't scroll as fluidly as 50hz.
Known problem, and maybe it will never get fixed (because it's very hard).
Demos with FAST scrolling BIG letters (right-to-left) usually have this kind of ghosting effect in 100Hz mode. That means, you see one letter overlayed by the same letter, but the second letter is shifted one pixel right or left. This is gonna become a nice sort of eye-killer real soon, especially if text scrolls decently fast...

I can "fix" this by switching to 60 Hz mode (which is actually meant for the NTSC stuff) and get absolutely PERFECT scrolling, BUT music is "pitched".

But every time when I have crap music with a demo anyway, I always turn sound off and use 60 Hz mode. Perfect.
andreas is offline  
Old 04 May 2003, 11:04   #13
VermillioN
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Shatterhand
Good thing Akira didn't read this
I was thinking exactly the same thing after I posted...

Quote:
Originally posted by andreas
But every time when I have crap music with a demo anyway, I always turn sound off and use 60 Hz mode. Perfect.
I get absoultely perfect scrolling with 50hz!
hmm do u have probs using 50hz andreas or doesn't your monitor support it or something?
I'll be remembering the 60hz trick though incase I do have any probs
 
Old 04 May 2003, 15:58   #14
Leo42
Senior Member
Leo42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Paris
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally posted by andreas
Known problem, and maybe it will never get fixed (because it's very hard).
Demos with FAST scrolling BIG letters (right-to-left) usually have this kind of ghosting effect in 100Hz mode. That means, you see one letter overlayed by the same letter, but the second letter is shifted one pixel right or left. This is gonna become a nice sort of eye-killer real soon, especially if text scrolls decently fast...
Yep, I just noticed this "ghosting effect" while trying SuperFrog...
This is too bad ,((

I can create a 50hz Screenmode but then horizontal refresh gets out of range (my monitor only supports 27khz -> ... khz in horizontal refresh and the 50hz screenmode is using something like 23Khz...)

Arrggg.... I'm afraid UAE won't replace my real A500... unless I buy an expensive multy-synch monitor...
Leo42 is offline  
Old 04 May 2003, 16:22   #15
VermillioN
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Leo42
I can create a 50hz Screenmode but then horizontal refresh gets out of range (my monitor only supports 27khz -> ... khz in horizontal refresh and the 50hz screenmode is using something like 23Khz...)
Yes but what resolution are you trying to create?
My monitor only supports 30-96KHz but I can display 720x576@50 no problem (which scans at 32.3Khz btw)
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help needed: why i get smooth scrollings only in 3d vision mode? CFOU! Retrogaming General Discussion 10 11 March 2013 13:18
Sound Effects in IK+ noel411 support.Games 3 07 September 2007 03:12
Unsual Case of Dr. Strange / Return of Doctor Strange killergorilla HOL contributions 1 12 July 2007 16:08
IK+ sound effects not working andreas support.WinUAE 4 26 July 2005 20:21
Goblins 3 sound effects Bernhardt support.Games 6 25 July 2003 03:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25097 seconds with 11 queries