English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 December 2018, 00:03   #1
torturedutopian
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: France
Age: 39
Posts: 183
Sharing WINE<->WinUAE experiences

Hi everyone !


Being a Linux user, Amiga fan and hugely sensitive to input lag, although I do get decent results under FS-UAE (with cool pixel shaders & 50 Hz ouput), I couldn't resist trying the latest WinUAE with Beamraced VSync.


I need to get a proper setup ready for the upcoming Reshoot-R release ! ( https://www.patreon.com/loewenstein/ )



I'm very happy to share the fact it does work properly under FS-UAE and clearly cuts input lag a lot ! Actual 50 Hz works too !



However, the experience is not as good as with FS-UAE due to the following issues probably related to using WinUAE under WINE :


- I can choose pixel shaders from the pack (they are listed) but they do not yield any result (same picture)


- I can see my Logitech gamepad listed (which works under the WINE control panel) but not gamepad event is taken into account (not even in the testing area)


Any other Linux user here ?



Of course, FS-UAE is usually the way to get... But it's not been updated recently...


Cheers ! & thanks & congrats to Toni !
torturedutopian is offline  
Old 27 December 2018, 17:14   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,040
Try -norawhid command line. It probably fixes gamepad/joystick problem.

It is also good idea to check if wine log complains about unimplemented functions etc..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 28 December 2018, 22:28   #3
torturedutopian
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: France
Age: 39
Posts: 183
Hi Toni !
Thanks a lot for your reply !

Yes, -norawhid works ! Instead of just seeing my gamepad, I see 2 devices (Logitech F310 event and Logitech F310 js) !

Regarding the shaders supposedly compilation issue, here are some lines I can read on the terminal, I'm not sure they are relevant :

002b:fixme:d3dx:d3dx9_effect_compiler_init ID3DXEffectCompiler implementation is only a stub.
002b:fixme:d3dx:ID3DXEffectCompilerImpl_CompileEffect iface 0x885c00, flags 0, effect 0x23cb50, error_msgs 0x23cb38 stub!
002b:fixme:win:GetDisplayConfigBufferSizes (0x2 0x23f200 0x23f150): stub
002b:fixme:d3d:wined3d_get_adapter_raster_status wined3d 0x946d60, adapter_idx 0, raster_status 0x23f1a0 semi-stub!
0031:fixme:ver:GetCurrentPackageId (0xbebfdc0 (nil)): stub
002b:fixme:win:GetDisplayConfigBufferSizes (0x2 0x235cf0 0x235c40): stub


Cheers ! & thanks again so much for your commitment over the past... decades !
torturedutopian is offline  
Old 31 December 2018, 18:33   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,040
Try Direct3D11 mode.

Quote:
02b:fixme:d3dx:d3dx9_effect_compiler_init ID3DXEffectCompiler implementation is only a stub.
ID3DXEffectCompiler() is not implemented in winuae. Use of native d3dx9_43.dll may help.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 31 December 2018, 18:54   #5
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Try Direct3D11 mode.
Or you could try the -nod3d9shader option.
mark_k is offline  
Old 01 January 2019, 03:13   #6
torturedutopian
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: France
Age: 39
Posts: 183
Edit : hmm, I tried everything (Wine D3D11, DXVK D3D11, -nod3d0shader, forcing the native DLL), none works.
Well, I'll try again in a couple of months. Meanwhile I can enjoy an almost perfect experience with a software filter !
Thanks !

Last edited by torturedutopian; 01 January 2019 at 04:01.
torturedutopian is offline  
Old 12 February 2019, 10:31   #7
Gilloo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grenoble, Isère, Rhône-Alpes, France, Europe, Earth
Posts: 221
Hello world,
I'm a totaly newbie in Fedora 29 and Wine, but I have succeed for the WinUAE installation.
The "wine WinUAE" command launch the GUI, screen, disk, mouse are working, but not the keyboard.
If I press any key, WinUAE pauses.
What is the problem ? (I suspect DirectInput something is missing in Wine... but how to workaround that ?)
Gilloo is offline  
Old 12 February 2019, 18:24   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,040
Try -norawinput or -norawinput_keyboard. First disables all rawinput features and falls back to directinput, second only disables keyboard rawinput support.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 February 2019, 10:20   #9
Gilloo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grenoble, Isère, Rhône-Alpes, France, Europe, Earth
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Try -norawinput or -norawinput_keyboard. First disables all rawinput features and falls back to directinput, second only disables keyboard rawinput support.
Thanks Toni, -norawinput_keyboard works only for keys, but not qualifiers (ctrl+lA+rA don't work, F12 works once (i.e. F12, the WINUAE setting window is displayed, Cancel, then all keyboard input goes to the wine console))
I suppose that it is Wine the guilty
Gilloo is offline  
Old 04 April 2019, 20:10   #10
Geijer
Oldtimer

Geijer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VXO / Sweden
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilloo View Post
Hello world,
I'm a totaly newbie in Fedora 29 and Wine, but I have succeed for the WinUAE installation.
The "wine WinUAE" command launch the GUI, screen, disk, mouse are working, but not the keyboard.
If I press any key, WinUAE pauses.
What is the problem ? (I suspect DirectInput something is missing in Wine... but how to workaround that ?)
Sorry for late answere but I have figured that when the emulator pauses use F12 and then reset, and after the reboot the keyboard works!
Geijer is offline  
Old 24 May 2019, 10:48   #11
Gilloo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grenoble, Isère, Rhône-Alpes, France, Europe, Earth
Posts: 221
Hello,
I've update to Fedora 30 and WineHQ
The WinUAE window is well displayed, but got there errors after select a configuration and start
libGL error: MESA-LOADER: failed to open r600 (search paths /usr/lib/dri)
libGL error: MESA-LOADER: failed to open swrast (search paths /usr/lib/dri)

I suspect a missing 32 bit driver, but MESA 32 bits is already installed...
The graphic card is a classic ATI Radeon and seen as REDWOOD in Fedora.
How to check further ? (any idea is welcome !)
Gilloo is offline  
Old 25 May 2019, 15:14   #12
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 3,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by torturedutopian View Post
I couldn't resist trying the latest WinUAE with Beamraced VSync.
I don't think that will work, as I do not see how Wine will correctly get the beam position. WinUAE will likely get a faked value, and the algorithm will not work. Please let me know if I'm wrong ;-)
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 06 June 2019, 10:07   #13
Gilloo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grenoble, Isère, Rhône-Alpes, France, Europe, Earth
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilloo View Post
Hello,
I've update to Fedora 30 and WineHQ
The WinUAE window is well displayed, but got there errors after select a configuration and start
libGL error: MESA-LOADER: failed to open r600 (search paths /usr/lib/dri)
libGL error: MESA-LOADER: failed to open swrast (search paths /usr/lib/dri)

I suspect a missing 32 bit driver, but MESA 32 bits is already installed...
The graphic card is a classic ATI Radeon and seen as REDWOOD in Fedora.
How to check further ? (any idea is welcome !)
Some news about Fedora 30 + WineHQ 4.0.1 + WinUAE
1) install 32 bit drivers for MESA
sudo dnf install mesa-dri-drivers.i686


2) launch winecfg , then select winuae.exe, Display panel, check "émulate a virtual desktop", and put the maximal screen size.

then the command "wine winuae" works as a charm, keyboard input, mouse, music... BUT in windowed mode only (full screen crashes, full window freezes)
Gilloo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE under Wine gilgamesh support.WinUAE 14 12 June 2011 15:45
WinUAE in Wine under OS X? pentad support.WinUAE 6 29 March 2010 20:45
wine and winuae hit support.WinUAE 7 14 March 2009 13:01
WinUAE + Wine Duke support.WinUAE 22 15 February 2008 00:43
Sharing a glass of Wine in my Boxers Pyromania Amiga scene 3 17 January 2002 17:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11023 seconds with 12 queries