English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 April 2003, 22:37   #1
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 658
Amiga 1200 clone "Access" on sale!

The italian dealer Soft3 has a limited stock of Access motherboards for sale.
Korodny is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 April 2003, 20:11   #2
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
hmm... I would love to have one of those..
cv643d is offline  
Old 10 April 2003, 20:47   #3
LaundroMat
Junior Member
LaundroMat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: In the cellar. With your mum.
Age: 42
Posts: 404
And it's not too costly either.
LaundroMat is offline  
Old 10 April 2003, 21:11   #4
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
What kind of idiot design that form factor? Should have made it fit in an at or atx form factor and used the apropriate power supply.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 10 April 2003, 21:46   #5
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 658
@Unknown_k

Quote:
What kind of idiot design that form factor?
There must be some theory that using lots of swear words does make you look more clever. I can assure you, that's not the case

Quote:
Should have made it fit in an at or atx form factor and used the apropriate power supply.
The "Access" was targeted at "Kiosk" type systems (info terminals and the like). For such applications, size does matter.

The "Boxer" (originally developed by the same company) was meant to be a desktop motherboard. It would have been the big brother of the Access and would have met your requirements.
Korodny is offline  
Old 10 April 2003, 21:57   #6
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
"Idiot" is not a swear word
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 10 April 2003, 23:36   #7
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141
Getting away from the transatlantic slagging match...the thing looks v cool! Would be a lark to stick it in a tower! V compact!
Pity it doesnt look the slightest bit upgradeable...else i might be more interested
Antiriad is offline  
Old 10 April 2003, 23:37   #8
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
ID 10 T error
Djay is offline  
Old 10 April 2003, 23:38   #9
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
a quote for the website...
Quote:
It's near 100% Amiga 1200 compatible, since it uses the same AGA chipset, the same 3.1 Roms and a 68030 cpu.
ermm, near 100%... surely they mean 99.9% then....
Djay is offline  
Old 11 April 2003, 00:51   #10
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
I think they are assuming its compatible because of the chips used, not because it has been tested with alot of common amiga software.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 11 April 2003, 10:56   #11
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
I tried to buy one of these, they are already sold out.

Pyromania is offline  
Old 11 April 2003, 13:52   #12
Echo
Registered User
Echo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South-West Wales
Posts: 382
Quote:
Originally posted by Unknown_K
What kind of idiot design that form factor? Should have made it fit in an at or atx form factor and used the apropriate power supply.
You know, you can fit standard A1200 boards in ATX cases

This is a nice design, would probably fit in one of those shuttle cases snugly, for a mini multimedia box type thing.

Either that or for a hybrid PC/Amiga case, without the thing having to be massive.

All sorts of ideas spring to mind
Echo is offline  
Old 11 April 2003, 14:06   #13
LaundroMat
Junior Member
LaundroMat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: In the cellar. With your mum.
Age: 42
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally posted by Echo
You know, you can fit standard A1200 boards in ATX cases
What do you mean with this?
LaundroMat is offline  
Old 11 April 2003, 14:48   #14
spiff
Oh noes!
spiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Neverland
Posts: 660
and a 68030 cpu... wooaa. its a 3000 compatible as well
spiff is offline  
Old 11 April 2003, 17:37   #15
Echo
Registered User
Echo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South-West Wales
Posts: 382
Quote:
Originally posted by LaundroMat
What do you mean with this?
Well I haven't personally tried, but surely the 1200's motherboard is equal or smaller than an ATX PC motherboard. If it's not then I apologise and retract my statement.
Echo is offline  
Old 11 April 2003, 19:43   #16
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Quote:
Originally posted by Echo
Well I haven't personally tried, but surely the 1200's motherboard is equal or smaller than an ATX PC motherboard. If it's not then I apologise and retract my statement.
Doesnt matter about size, the a1200 board was never built to fit into a STANDARD AT or ATX case (backplate is different, dont think the holes linup for mounting either), or built to use the power supplies found in those cases. All the tower cases I have seen have been either modified or built specifically for amiga 1200's.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 12 April 2003, 20:11   #17
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
These motherboards came in a small case which looks just like the small shuttle barebones cases that are all the rage nowdays, thats why the motherboard looks like it does.
cv643d is offline  
Old 13 April 2003, 12:08   #18
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141
I asked the guys about what exapansion was available, as expected no room for an accelerator - but you can attach a 3.5" standard IDE hd to it.

I have to say, it does look quite amusing, especially as its a 030 with 2MB Chip and 8MB Fast Ram on it. The perfect Whdload spec.
Antiriad is offline  
Old 07 May 2003, 20:24   #19
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,442
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Has anyone here bought one of these?
ElectroBlaster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Reminder "Lincs Amiga User Group aka "LAG" Meet Sat 5th of January 2013" rockape News 4 30 January 2013 01:06
WTT/WTB: Amiga "The Access" Zetr0 MarketPlace 28 10 July 2009 23:38
"Hard drive" access causes sound & video stuttering Gameboi project.WHDLoad 3 15 January 2009 18:59
[Found: "Megaforce Tron" on "Hotest Stuffs in 1988"] Looking for a Tron clone... microslave Looking for a game name ? 6 22 March 2008 00:55
Amiga 1200 Access clone! ElectroBlaster Amiga scene 8 10 May 2003 01:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29764 seconds with 11 queries