English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 August 2001, 03:02   #1
freedom4u
 
Posts: n/a
Dopus Magellan 2

Hi
I just started using Dopus 5.81 and its quite nice, but ...

When I browse through directories and click on some application (e.g. Packmaster) it Dopus doesn't open it, but instead asks me for additional parameters.
When clicking on an application in icon-mode, the app starts fine, bu its Window pops up on the Workbench screen, which is hidden behind the Dopus desktop.

Any suggestions how to turn that off ?

Thanks a lot
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 August 2001, 07:38   #2
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
I haven't used that version of DOpus (I prefer the 4.x Directory Opus), but I have made a lot of buttons and menus and such in DOpus, so I have some experience in that area.

Only thing I can figure is that the default config is set to ask for parameters when double clicking on a file! Just about every single element of that program is user configuarble, but they have to default to something. On my copy, if I double click a program to launch it, it pops up a shell, but still runs the program, as the shell pops to the background.

On the button and menu configs, you will see different ways to setup programs to launch. Say for example, you want to make a button for DMS. Well, you can't just make a DMS button because it requires command line parameters (ex. DMS READ HotNewGame.dms NOZERO). Type DMS by itself in the shell and it will output to the console what the commands and switches are. Perhaps that's what Packmaster is trying to do and Magellan is letting you know that the program cannot be launched that way. Not every app has a GUI. Think of the shell as DOS with a brain (and a soul).

To make any Opus variant fully functional, you need to get under the hood and soup it up. There should be a pull-down menu that takes you to the configuration area. Then expect to spend some time tweaking it to your personal preference(s).
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 03 August 2001, 12:26   #3
freedom4u
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for your answer.
I was especially talking about programs that don't requirer any parameters (and come with GUI) and that could usually be launched by double clicking on the icon.
But DirOpus now either ask for parameters when I try to launch em, or when browsing dirs in icon-mode, DirOpus makes em pop up behind the desktop, so that I can't see them.
I knew that it would require a lot of tweaking, to get diropus the way I want it, but I hope to get some quick advise on those really annoying things.

Thanks
 
Old 03 August 2001, 19:22   #4
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
If you want to post a copy of the program here, I will be happy to take a look at it and see if I can't figure out how to turn that function off.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 11 September 2001, 02:29   #5
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 657
Re: Dopus Magellan 2

Hi freedom4u!

> I just started using Dopus 5.81 and its quite nice, but ...

> When I browse through directories and click on some application (e.g. Packmaster) it Dopus doesn't open it, but instead asks me for additional parameters.
> When clicking on an application in icon-mode, the app starts fine, bu its Window pops up on the Workbench screen, which is hidden behind the Dopus desktop.

> Any suggestions how to turn that off ?

I know I'm a bit late, hope you still check this thread for answers ;-)

DOpus (all versions) uses "filetypes" to recognise files. These filetypes
have to be defined by the user. If a file doesn't match any of the
configured filetype, DOpus tries some default recognition methods.

One of the default rules is: "If it's an executable and we're in icon
mode, start it in workbench mode (i.e. read parameters from the icon,
don't open a shell window". Another rule is "if it's an executable and
we're not in icon-mode, start it in shell mode (i.e. open a shell window
and ask for parameters)".

I'm not using Opus Magellan, but I'm pretty sure that you can't change
that behaviour. The only solution would be to create your own filetype
for "executable files", which always starts them in "Workbench mode".

Let me know if you still read this and I'll explain how to do so (it's
easy).
Korodny is offline  
Old 11 September 2001, 15:07   #6
freedom4u
 
Posts: n/a
I sure didn't expect any further comment here ;)

Thanks for your reply, I'm still very interested eventhough I got almost fed up with DirOpus Magellan II. Lately I only started it with holding shift, so I would enter the old uncomfy Workbench.

Quote:
The only solution would be to create your own filetype
But because the executable files don't have a postfix, wouldn't that mean that I would have to add every executable I know to the filetypes table in order to have them executed in Workbench mode ? Or how would they get recognized ?

But I guess I could also just get used to browse dirs in icon-mode.
So my major an most annoying problem is, that whenever I doubleclick on an executable (i.e. Packmaster) it opens its Window behind the DirOpus-Desktop, which I always have to click in the upper right corner to make the DirOpus-desktop disappear before I see the effect of my doubleclick on the executable file.

(Long sentence, but I'm german, so please forgive me

Thanks a lot for your help
 
Old 11 September 2001, 17:28   #7
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 657
Re: I sure didn't expect any further comment here ;)

Hi Freedom4u!


> Thanks for your reply, I'm still very interested eventhough I got
> almost fed up with DirOpus Magellan II.

You shouldn't. It's a wonderful program, you just need to get used
to the way it works

> But because the executable files don't have a postfix, wouldn't
> that mean that I would have to add every executable I know to the
> filetypes table in order to have them executed in Workbench mode ?
> Or how would they get recognized ?

Hey, you're talking about AmigaOS Recognising files by looking at
their suffix is the way Windows does it - and it's lame.

The following condition will recognise AmigaOS executables:

Match $000003F3

All you have to do is: Create a new filetype, use the above condition
and set its "double-click action" to

Workbench: {f}

That should do the trick. I don't have Magellan installed atm, but
I hope this explanation is sufficent.

> But I guess I could also just get used to browse dirs in icon-mode.

Ouch!

> (Long sentence, but I'm german, so please forgive me

Me too. I'm used to long sentences
Korodny is offline  
Old 11 September 2001, 19:11   #8
freedom4u
 
Posts: n/a
Wow, quick answer

Thanks for your very helpful reply.
But you already noticed that the number of people who were able to help with this is very limited, I MUST use the opportunity and ask some more questions.
Quote:
Match $000003F3
I guess this byte combination at the beginning of a file indicates that its an executable one ?! Thx I will try this.

Sorry for asking repeatedly, but y<ou're my last hope:
>>
my major an most annoying problem is, that whenever I doubleclick on an executable (i.e. Packmaster) it opens its Window behind the DirOpus-Desktop, which I always have to click in the upper right corner to make the DirOpus-desktop disappear before I see the effect of my doubleclick on the executable file
<<

Thanks a lot
 
Old 11 September 2001, 22:55   #9
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 657
Re: Wow, quick answer

Hi freedom4u!

> Thanks for your very helpful reply.

Glad I could help.

> But you already noticed that the number of people who were able to
> help with this is very limited, I MUST use the opportunity and ask
> some more questions.

[ Match $000003F3 ]

> I guess this byte combination at the beginning of a file indicates
> that its an executable one ?!

Yes it does.

> my major an most annoying problem is, that whenever I doubleclick
> on an executable (i.e. Packmaster) it opens its Window behind the
> DirOpus-Desktop, which I always have to click in the upper right
> corner to make the DirOpus-desktop disappear before I see the
> effect of my doubleclick on the executable file

Oh, sorry. Seems I misunderstood your last post.

Could you give me a few more details ?

Are you using Magellan in "Workbench Replacement mode" when this
happens ?

Do applications open their window on another *screen* ?
Korodny is offline  
Old 12 September 2001, 10:50   #10
Thomas
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Wow, quick answer

Quote:
Originally posted by freedom4u
>>
my major an most annoying problem is, that whenever I doubleclick on an executable (i.e. Packmaster) it opens its Window behind the DirOpus-Desktop, which I always have to click in the upper right corner to make the DirOpus-desktop disappear before I see the effect of my doubleclick on the executable file
<<

Thanks a lot [/B]
DOpus has in its Menu the option to "Make DOpus the default PubScreen". With this option activated, all windows that usualy open on the Workbench screen will now open on the DOpus screen.

Another way would be to change the DOpus start options to Workbench replacement. With this option DOpus will open on the Workbench screen replacing the original Workbench by the DOpus desktop.

Bye,
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dopus Magellan II 5.8 techguruuk request.Apps 11 18 January 2013 15:36
Dopus Magellan II chocolate_boy request.Apps 8 18 May 2012 23:18
Oh no, more Dopus Magellan II Leandro Jardim request.Apps 3 04 November 2009 19:08
DOpus Magellan II lopos2000 support.Apps 7 27 July 2006 14:16
DOpus Magellan 2 Q's Crs New to Emulation or Amiga scene 0 30 January 2005 19:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14789 seconds with 11 queries