English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 March 2003, 16:12   #1
Mache
Junior Member
Mache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 111
Does anyone own the original PALACE release of BARBARIAN?

hi!

i have the amiga version that looks similar to the original c64 box. but it is a genuine amiga version, as you can see on the print. the box includes one disc and a big poster, but unfortunately no manual

who owns this release (not the tenstar rerelease) and can tell me if there was a manual at all???

thank you!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	barbarianpalace_front.jpg
Views:	394
Size:	52.9 KB
ID:	4957  
Mache is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 March 2003, 17:00   #2
7-Zark-7
Zone Friend
7-Zark-7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane/Australia
Posts: 1,240
No idea if this is of any help.....
But do I recall the C64 version's instructions were printed on the reverse side of the gamecover flap(ie:you removed the game cover from under the plastic covering the box/cover & see the instructions underneath printed on the reverse side.
7-Zark-7 is offline  
Old 26 March 2003, 17:21   #3
Mache
Junior Member
Mache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 111
whoo, that would be a big surprise!
i thought it wouldn't a manual, perhaps. that's because you don't need one to hack 'n slay and a "small instruction" is printed on the disk label (turn amiga off, insert disk, turn on... )

i will have a look! i am so excited...
Mache is offline  
Old 26 March 2003, 22:49   #4
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
I guess nobody ever would consider turning down an image of Maria Whitaker -- and who could blame them?
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 26 March 2003, 23:02   #5
Big-Byte
Long time member

Big-Byte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 753
The guy on the box went on to be 'Wolf' in Gladiators didnt he?
Big-Byte is offline  
Old 26 March 2003, 23:12   #6
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
I got that box (game) for my Amstrad CPC (also including the Poster) but Im also not sure about a manual .... Ill have a look
RetroMan is offline  
Old 26 March 2003, 23:17   #7
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Quote:
Originally posted by Big-Byte
The guy on the box went on to be 'Wolf' in Gladiators didnt he?
Not sure, but I have tried to stay abreast of Maria's activities...
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 27 March 2003, 04:21   #8
CHiEF
Captain

CHiEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sheffield / England
Age: 36
Posts: 205
heh Wolf the gladiator's aunt and uncle live opposite my parent's place

next time i see him i'll ask if he ever posed as a barbarian with a 'hot chick'
CHiEF is offline  
Old 27 March 2003, 15:08   #9
7-Zark-7
Zone Friend
7-Zark-7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane/Australia
Posts: 1,240
Big grin

Just checked my old C64 original disk box of Barbarian, & definitely on the reverse side of the cover. Wow, I even still had the poster!

Of course I still don't know if that'll be the case with the Amiga version,but its been a fun history lesson!
It seemed a lot of Palace games did that at the time, same deal with a graphic adventure/arcade game called Stifflip & Co. too.
Always annoyed me I finished 89% of Part A of Stifflip, & never knew how to solve Side B "Epilogue"!
7-Zark-7 is offline  
Old 27 March 2003, 15:12   #10
Mache
Junior Member
Mache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally posted by 7-Zark-7
Just checked my old C64 original disk box of Barbarian, & definitely on the reverse side of the cover. Wow, I even still had the poster!

Of course I still don't know if that'll be the case with the Amiga version,but its been a fun history lesson!(
damn, i have to wait til friday. when i get home, i will immediately run to my games...
Mache is offline  
Old 28 March 2003, 22:53   #11
Mache
Junior Member
Mache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 111
Happy

YES! yes! yes! it's there! it's on the back of the inlay!
thank you so much 7-Zark-7! i would have never looked there...
Mache is offline  
Old 28 March 2003, 23:44   #12
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141

Good stuff. The Amstrad version has the same instructions printed on the back. Mache...are u the dude i emailed a while ago about doing a Unreal 3d box for that plugin thing u use???
Antiriad is offline  
Old 29 March 2003, 02:09   #13
Mache
Junior Member
Mache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally posted by Antiriad

Good stuff. The Amstrad version has the same instructions printed on the back. Mache...are u the dude i emailed a while ago about doing a Unreal 3d box for that plugin thing u use???
yep, that's me! i haven't had the time yet. but i own an unreal by now!
Mache is offline  
Old 29 March 2003, 18:07   #14
7-Zark-7
Zone Friend
7-Zark-7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane/Australia
Posts: 1,240
Cool

Quote:
Originally posted by Mache
YES! yes! yes! it's there! it's on the back of the inlay!
thank you so much 7-Zark-7! i would have never looked there...
Glad to have helped!
7-Zark-7 is offline  
Old 03 April 2003, 21:44   #15
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,443
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Guys is this the version where a skeleton pops his head out onto the screen and says "Follow Me"

Years ago i remember seeing it and every other version ive owned hasnt got it?
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 03 April 2003, 21:47   #16
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
i think thats barbarian 2 (palace)
Belgarath is offline  
Old 03 April 2003, 23:37   #17
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 39
Posts: 2,856
there !

HOL Database (id=37)
RCK is offline  
Old 04 April 2003, 02:39   #18
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,443
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Spot on! thats the one
ElectroBlaster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Barbarian (palace) with music Vollldo support.Games 38 27 February 2015 16:04
[Found: Barbarian 2 - Palace] laughing skeleton came on the side of the blank screen PiAnt Looking for a game name ? 2 30 October 2007 22:07
Palace Software Barbarian I and II on eBay starting at EUR 4.99 mark_k MarketPlace 2 01 December 2004 15:28
mod that used Barbarian (Palace) sounds DPainter request.Modules 4 25 November 2004 03:44
Running Barbarian II (Palace) Tim Janssen support.Games 2 27 October 2002 19:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.61737 seconds with 12 queries