English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 March 2003, 15:34   #1
mtb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Age: 34
Posts: 442
mess-anotherAmigaemu??

I was compiling mess, when i've seen an amiga.c files. It doesn't work yes, but i was aware of the fact.

Does someone has got more info about that?

Also i don't understand why, since uae-winuae is gpl.
mtb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 March 2003, 15:58   #2
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
Re: mess-anotherAmigaemu??

Quote:
Originally posted by mtb
I was compiling mess, when i've seen an amiga.c files. It doesn't work yes, but i was aware of the fact.

Does someone has got more info about that?

Also i don't understand why, since uae-winuae is gpl.
I believe MESS had Amiga emulation years ago. I can't remember much, but I think it was taken out with the emerge of UAE?

Edit:
ok...maybe it wasn't taken out....I remember there was a system taken out...which that was I will never know
 
Old 23 March 2003, 16:09   #3
mtb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Age: 34
Posts: 442
from 0.62 to 0.65 it has been modified...
mtb is offline  
Old 23 March 2003, 20:20   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,313
I remember Amiga emulation in it too..

Why does it have it? MESS's purpose is to have all systems in it. And WinUAE is just for PCs, MESS is for shitloads of other systems.
Akira is online now  
Old 24 March 2003, 11:42   #5
mtb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Age: 34
Posts: 442
I suppose uae source can be compiled moreless everywhere ( not the one for windows, unfortunatly ). But it has different features depending from the platform ( for example, the one for linux is not as good as ( quite far from ) the one for windows ).

Anyway, in mess 0.62 it still doesn't work and it's called a TESTDRIVER ( to compile it, i changed TESTDRIVER to DRIVER, but the message was unable to start emulation ).

But modifying uae to satisfy mess-mame standards ( e.g. graphics output ) for me could have been a better option than rewriting it from scratch ( in the mess page, they write: our primary purpose is compatibility, not speed - i've read it somewhere... )

But it's better to wait than to write...
mtb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NewIcons: Do they mess up WB's colors? alkis21 support.Other 6 31 July 2011 19:35
screen mess when launching from wb hardwir3d support.Other 1 08 November 2008 14:16
Mess for Amiga 68k MazinKaesar request.Apps 2 19 February 2008 10:06
MESS v.112 Sune Salminen News 2 08 February 2007 15:57
The reason why gaming is in the mess its in :( Dastardly Retrogaming General Discussion 41 02 July 2003 13:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18559 seconds with 11 queries