English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 May 2018, 17:12   #341
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by ED-209 View Post
Toni I just want to report on-the-fly switching still results in a freeze.
Though it could be pointless information as I'm not sure anything has changed yet in last 2 betas
I only made some modifications that should make debugging this problem easier. Please attach dump file from latest beta. Actually, attach 3 dump files. There may be some differences.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 May 2018, 03:15   #342
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 38
Posts: 1,124
Done, here's 3 dumps, all identical steps to reproduce crash; disable jit, launch config, launch game (fastest possible-->CE), quit game (CE-->fastest possible) = freeze.

dump1
dump2
dump3
ED-209 is offline  
Old 11 May 2018, 16:45   #343
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by ED-209 View Post
Done, here's 3 dumps, all identical steps to reproduce crash; disable jit, launch config, launch game (fastest possible-->CE), quit game (CE-->fastest possible) = freeze.
I found another possibility, not really directly related to lagless vsync. winuae.7z updated.

Also, if it still hangs, does it recover if you wait about 10 minutes?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 May 2018, 17:53   #344
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 38
Posts: 1,124
Unfortunately no, it still behaves exactly the same & no recovery after waiting 20 minutes.
I went back through the betas to observe exactly how each affect my system;
beta1 - on-the-fly switching works fine, though lagless very buggy with tearing
beta2 - crashes when launching emulation
beta3 - freezes when switching to cycle-exact mode from fastest possible
beta4 - crash & exit when switching from cycle-exact to fastest possible
beta5 - same as beta4
beta6+ - freezes when switching from cycle-exact to fastest possible
ED-209 is offline  
Old 11 May 2018, 18:18   #345
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 38
Posts: 1,124
Toni I think the problem is something related with my HDF's.. the same HDF's I've been using for years.
I have 2, one boot partition, and a storage partition with games etc.
I copied both partitions to separate PC directories and changed my config to use these instead of the HDF files and on-the-fly switching is working 100%!
ED-209 is offline  
Old 11 May 2018, 18:23   #346
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,545
I am now sure I found the real reason, there is timing possible timing issue when switching modes where different parts of emulation have different idea of current mode. ("tell me when vblank happens, please". "vblank? in this mode? It makes no sense")

Don't "fix" your HDF!
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 May 2018, 18:27   #347
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 38
Posts: 1,124
Great, don't worry I'll keep the HDF's & config unaltered
ED-209 is offline  
Old 11 May 2018, 19:35   #348
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,545
Another attempt. winuae.7z updated. (Double check that exe is newer than previous)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 May 2018, 19:38   #349
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by freddy View Post
Toni, can you activate the string for translation ?
Done.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 12 May 2018, 03:04   #350
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 38
Posts: 1,124
Fixed now Toni, working like a charm
ED-209 is offline  
Old 12 May 2018, 07:41   #351
freddy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: France
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by freddy Toni, can you activate the string for translation ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Done.
Toni, strings of caracters are not active in Genlock and Misc
Attached Files
File Type: 7z Pictures.7z (313.7 KB, 12 views)
freddy is offline  
Old 12 May 2018, 13:26   #352
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by freddy View Post
Toni, strings of caracters are not active in Genlock and Misc
Genlock options fixed but others should already work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ED-209 View Post
Fixed now Toni, working like a charm
Yay, finally
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 12 May 2018, 13:50   #353
freddy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: France
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Genlock options fixed but others should already work.

freddy is offline  
Old 12 May 2018, 14:27   #354
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 2,367
Toni, found some gfx issue:

Boot up last beta9 in Picasso 96 mode, then enter built-in HRTMon, and exit: display remains gray.

With v3 it doesn't happen (just tested twice in a row with both versions)
jotd is offline  
Old 15 May 2018, 19:35   #355
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,545
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_4000b10.7z
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae64_4000b10.7z

Beta 10:

- Full-window mode captured mouse (and moved it to center of screen) even when window didn't have focus.
- Removed single buffer display option, it was only useful when using old low latency vsync mode.
- Help button now asks for opening online help version if help file is not installed. (not finished yet)
- Added windowed mode resize enable/disable option. Default is enabled.
- Added D3D11 standard vsync black frame insertion support. (100Hz/120Hz)
- Action Replay II/III statefile support improved. (For example AR state was invalid when loading AR statefile when AR was already active)
- On the fly switching between fastest possible <> non-fastest possible CPU modes in lagless vsync caused hang in certain situations.
- Debugger: show number of cycles used when tracing (t, z, breakpoints). Only shown if max 2 frames since last debugger activation. (TODO: should also count number of memory accesses and no-wait state minimum cycle count)
- Freezer cartridge automatic RTG switch on/off wasn't reliable.
- Removed forgotten, useless and obsolete "The selected screen mode can't be displayed in a window, because.." check.
- 68030 MMU PLOAD R variant (R/W bit=1) caused f-line exception.
- Clear both ping-pong buffers when pausing/unpausing WASAPI exclusive sound mode.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 15 May 2018, 20:33   #356
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,941
Is there any chance the old low-latency vsync option can be resurrected? Lagless vsync is not really useable for non-landscape desktop orientations. [It's kind-of useable with one slice, but there's a glitch region towards the right edge if the Amiga display occupies the whole screen width.] Standard vsync does look OK but that always uses 100% CPU.
mark_k is offline  
Old 15 May 2018, 20:50   #357
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,545
No. Totally wrong way to do it when there is very simple solution: explain the problem in 1 slice and it gets fixed!
EDIT: including photos.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 15 May 2018 at 21:16.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 16 May 2018, 01:06   #358
Rotareneg
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Kansas, USA
Posts: 51
With winuae64.exe 4000b10:

Start WinUAE using A500 quickstart config (no floppy required) set to full-screen mode. Pause emulation and open WinUAE UI with F12. Press "OK" to close UI. The UI will close but winuae will not switch back to the emulation. Winuae64.exe task doesn't close either, just sits quietly doing apparently nothing.

*correction*

I just noticed that WinUAE is actually still in the system tray (I didn't see it before because Windows 10 decided to hide it by default.) If I click on the tray icon the screen flashes black for an instant and then back to the desktop with the WinUAE UI open again. If I hit OK it disappears again. If I very quickly hit pause during the short instant the screen is black the UI will pop up again, but then properly return to the running emulation after hitting OK.

Logs attached, I can send you a manually forced dump as well if you need one.
Attached Files
File Type: 7z WinUAE.7z (6.4 KB, 8 views)

Last edited by Rotareneg; 16 May 2018 at 02:27.
Rotareneg is offline  
Old 16 May 2018, 01:26   #359
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,179
Just click "Pause" again and the emulation continues, at least on my system.
PeterK is offline  
Old 16 May 2018, 02:26   #360
Rotareneg
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Kansas, USA
Posts: 51
There's no window or screen remaining to interact with, and the focus reverts to the window that I launched winuae from.

I just noticed that WinUAE is actually still in the system tray (I didn't see it before because Windows 10 decided to hide it by default.) If I click on the tray icon the screen flashes black for an instant and then back to the desktop with the WinUAE UI open again. If I hit OK it disappears again. If I very quickly hit pause during the short instant the screen is black the UI will pop up again, but then properly return to the running emulation after hitting OK.
Rotareneg is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 3.2.2 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 21 20 December 2015 17:35
WinUAE 3.1.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 305 06 June 2015 23:25
WinUAE 2.3.3 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 124 17 September 2011 15:48
WinUAE 2.0.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 445 13 December 2009 14:46
WinUAE 1.6.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 54 18 June 2009 11:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10662 seconds with 13 queries