English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 March 2003, 13:56   #1
DeAMI
 
Posts: n/a
amiga dos command question

howdy, just wondering if any of you could tell me how to make a file writable by typing in an amiga dos command? the file i need to apply this command to dosent show up on the gui folder on wb even after selecting the show all files option so if someone could tell me what the command is i would really apreciate it cheers.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 March 2003, 16:03   #2
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
protect <path&filename> +rwed

should do it.
Try

protect <path&filename> -h

if it still doesn't show up (only works with OS39 prevoius OS versions ignore the h bit)
Severin is offline  
Old 16 March 2003, 21:36   #3
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Alternatively, if you aren't a fan of the command line, Directory Opus comes with a stock button for changing the protection flags. I love the AmigaDOS command line, but I always hated the protect command and thus welcomed Opus' button with open arms!
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 16 March 2003, 22:19   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,946
Pretty damned strange if it doesn't show up. You sure it's there? :P There's no thing as invisible files in clasic OSes, as Severin pointed out.
Akira is offline  
Old 17 March 2003, 09:45   #5
DeAMI
 
Posts: n/a
yeah it was there for sure... but for some strange reason it would only show up in the amigashell window and not in the folder window even when i checked the show all files option
cheers for all yer help..
 
Old 17 March 2003, 15:07   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,946
Did the problem disappear when setting the attributes to RWED?
Akira is offline  
Old 17 March 2003, 18:13   #7
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
did you use show all files on an icon window? if so did you 'clean up'?

somtimes icons can get hidden behind others or be way outside the visible area of the window...
Severin is offline  
Old 18 March 2003, 06:44   #8
DeAMI
 
Posts: n/a
the icons were still invisable when i used the command and i did use show all files and also used the clean up option.. the files are .info files if you were wondering
 
Old 18 March 2003, 15:15   #9
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
Ah! .info files are system files, ignore them...
Severin is offline  
Old 19 March 2003, 09:53   #10
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
Originally posted by Severin
if it still doesn't show up (only works with OS39 prevoius OS versions ignore the h bit)
I think you're wrong.
If the h (hidden) flag was set with a file on my WB 1.3 (real A500), it didn't show up when doing a 'dir', so it was indeed working. Many would-be crackers did this to hide stuff on their disks, mainly this was done with utility disks.
andreas is offline  
Old 19 March 2003, 14:10   #11
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
ok, let me clarify this a bit, workbench ignored the h bit, some cli/shell replacements did support it as did the 1.3
cli. then it also depended on your dir command, I used a replacement that ignored it.

As DeAMI was looking on workbench I gave him the workbench info...
Severin is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCMCIA fault: DOS error code 225 - Not a valid DOS disk 4am support.Hardware 2 07 April 2012 10:20
Command Line question brolly support.WinUAE 8 18 April 2011 11:11
Dos.library question. Thorham Coders. General 2 11 January 2011 21:03
Amiga gfx in PC DOS game??? Lamer's question. Rafal project.Sprites 2 04 November 2008 16:49
The big question: What made developers choose between dos and NDOS format? MethodGit Nostalgia & memories 11 10 September 2001 19:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14375 seconds with 11 queries