English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 March 2018, 17:35   #161
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Updated on my CD32, seems to have worked! We'll see, I filled one dir with lots of tiny files and haven't gotten a problem like I did before.
Must update the machine that gave me that issue!

Thanks so much Toni.
Akira is offline  
Old 10 March 2018, 00:54   #162
apex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 362
I still habe a question regarding updating my partitions. I updated PFS in my RDB and rebootet the Amiga. Everything fine!
I started PFS Doctor and checked all my partitions, even the 64GB one, no problems. No problems mean no reformat needed?
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0553.JPG
Views:	109
Size:	371.4 KB
ID:	57193
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0555.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	291.0 KB
ID:	57196
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0554.JPG
Views:	69
Size:	201.1 KB
ID:	57194  
apex is offline  
Old 10 March 2018, 14:56   #163
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,107
Yes, everything is fine if pfsdoctor does not find anything interesting, also not all errors are serious (=caused by this bug). Usual side-effect is lots of corrupted directory/file entries and lots of reserved blocks not used but allocated is reported at the end.

Bug will only happen when creating hundreds or thousands of small files quickly.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 10 March 2018, 16:43   #164
apex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 362
Thank you, great work Toni!!! It is good to have filesystem which I can trust.
Last question: The doctor still need to be updated?
apex is offline  
Old 10 March 2018, 16:54   #165
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by apex View Post
Thank you, great work Toni!!! It is good to have filesystem which I can trust.
Last question: The doctor still need to be updated?
I have the same question but want to elaborate a bit more.

How reliable is the old PFSdoctor with this new final PFS3aio? Even for repairs?
If there a new PFSDoctor being worked on, are you (Toni) working on it?
And how soon can we see a "testing" topic on it. Happy to help test basic functions etc..
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 10 March 2018, 17:07   #166
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,107
Changes in new pfsdoctor: support for >104G partitions, support for >4G file size (which is not enabled in pfs3aio v3), support NSD (original is TD64 and Direct SCSI only) and being CLI only.

Scan/Repair etc functions are 100% identical.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 10 March 2018, 18:06   #167
jurassicman
Registered User

jurassicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Bologna/Italy
Posts: 118
Thanks for all you work Tony!

I copied the pfs3aio file in L: then I updated the filesystem used in HDToolbox pointing to that file instead of the old "L: pfs3-aio-handler" file.

I rebooted my system, used pfs3doctor for a check of my partitions and everything seems fine.

I read the old post and I don't understand what you mean when you talk about the RDB. What's the RDB?
jurassicman is offline  
Old 10 March 2018, 18:17   #168
Turran
Moderator

Turran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by jurassicman View Post
I read the old post and I don't understand what you mean when you talk about the RDB. What's the RDB?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amiga_rigid_disk_block

Basically, if I understand it correctly. the filesystem information that the operating system needs to understand what is on the disk and how to read/write to it is stored in RDB on the disk itself.

Meaning, once you update your file in L and update your disk with it, you no longer need the file in L really as its stored on the actual disk itself.
Turran is offline  
Old 10 March 2018, 18:54   #169
Joel_w
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 10
Updating PFS3

A new version of PFS3-AIO was just released and I wonder if I can update my A1200 by just using the Add/Update feature in HD Toolbox or if I have to reformat?

The disk was formatted with the previous version, and when I run the PFS Doctor program it tells me that my disk was formatted with “PFS II 18.5”. The new file from Aminet has version number 19. But I guess that doesn't really matter, the important part is what version is loaded from RDB at boot, right?

Is there anyway to check which version of PFS is loaded?
Joel_w is online now  
Old 10 March 2018, 19:17   #170
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,798
Hey Joel_w,

Your thread / post has been moved here where you'll get more help
DamienD is offline  
Old 10 March 2018, 21:44   #171
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joel_w View Post
Is there anyway to check which version of PFS is loaded?
For example...
Code:
Version full DH0:
kolla is offline  
Old 10 March 2018, 22:45   #172
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
For example...
Code:
Version full DH0:
Noticed something there, when I do that, I get:
Code:
pfs3aio 19.0 (26-Sep-12)
written by Michiel Pelt and copyright (c) 1994-2012 Peltin BV
Shouldn't that date have changed, as well as adding credit for Toni?
Akira is offline  
Old 10 March 2018, 23:11   #173
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,107
Old C:Version gets confused with too recent dates. It isn't really 26-Sep-2012.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 10 March 2018, 23:26   #174
wiz12
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ireland
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Changes in new pfsdoctor: support for >104G partitions, support for >4G file size (which is not enabled in pfs3aio v3), support NSD (original is TD64 and Direct SCSI only) and being CLI only.

Scan/Repair etc functions are 100% identical.
Is there a new version of pfsdoctor for download?
wiz12 is offline  
Old 10 March 2018, 23:50   #175
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiz12 View Post
Is there a new version of pfsdoctor for download?
It's right there in the text you quoted?

http://www.winuae.net/files/b/pfsdoc...perimental.zip
kolla is offline  
Old 10 March 2018, 23:54   #176
jurassicman
Registered User

jurassicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Bologna/Italy
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turran View Post
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amiga_rigid_disk_block

Basically, if I understand it correctly. the filesystem information that the operating system needs to understand what is on the disk and how to read/write to it is stored in RDB on the disk itself.

Meaning, once you update your file in L and update your disk with it, you no longer need the file in L really as its stored on the actual disk itself.
Thanks!
jurassicman is offline  
Old 11 March 2018, 00:54   #177
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,001
Excuse me, so a new PFSDoctor is in the works?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 11 March 2018, 01:10   #178
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 36
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Excuse me, so a new PFSDoctor is in the works?
Yes, it's linked at the bottom of post #1
indigolemon is offline  
Old 11 March 2018, 22:36   #179
Sandancer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Wakefield/United Kingdom
Posts: 48
At the minute im running IDEfix for my partitions on my 70 gig HD, everytime wb loads i have to scan for my bigger partitions dh1: & dh2. Not really a big problem, but will this fix my partition issue, or do i need to redo my whole drive if i use this instead of IDEfix
Sandancer is offline  
Old 12 March 2018, 00:36   #180
Marmes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 105
It works perfectly!
Marmes is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PFS3aio vs SFS/02 White support.WinUAE 10 13 April 2018 22:44
PFS3AIO Probs ? Foul support.FS-UAE 0 21 February 2018 23:49
PFS3AIO Questions manic23 support.Hardware 26 22 April 2014 14:49
Pfs3aio ???? stingray76 support.Hardware 2 19 February 2014 10:15
FinalWriter 97; FinalCalc 1.04; Final Data 2.00 & Final Copy aebrown-u request.Apps 20 12 July 2009 12:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09304 seconds with 13 queries