English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 January 2018, 10:39   #1
bloodline
Registered User

bloodline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: London
Posts: 158
Interesting error message Kickstart 1.3

Hi all,

Does anyone here know what it means when Kickstart 1.3 is bootstrapping the machine, but halts and writes "HELP" to address 0x0?
bloodline is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 January 2018, 11:44   #2
chb
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: germany
Posts: 85
In the commented exec 1.2 disassembly there is some explanation (Ctrl-F "HELP"):
Quote:
; See if the system wants a guru put up after reboot.

; This works as follows: If for some reason, a guru can't be put
; up in the normal fashion, the system writes "HELP" at location
; zero, writes the alert data (number and 32-bit parameter) at
; location $000100, and resets.

; Early in the startup code (right here), this "HELP" is checked
; for. If it is present, it is removed, and the data at location
; $000100 is loaded into registers D6 and D7. If no "HELP" is
; found, register D6 is loaded with -1. This data will later be
; put at ExecBase->LastAlert, once the ExecBase structure has been
; built. The following subroutine call does all this.
chb is offline  
Old 15 January 2018, 14:41   #3
bloodline
Registered User

bloodline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: London
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by chb View Post
In the commented exec 1.2 disassembly there is some explanation (Ctrl-F "HELP"):
Very helpful! Many thanks.
bloodline is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error Message on AmigaOS 4.1 wizzard57 support.WinUAE 0 13 January 2017 15:41
Picasso96 Error Message pneron support.Hardware 4 08 January 2017 10:52
Please help with Picasso error message bebek support.Apps 1 13 December 2015 15:17
error message, could someone translate? s2325 support.Other 2 24 January 2009 16:28
What does this WHDLoad error message mean? Computolio support.Games 4 12 October 2004 16:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06993 seconds with 12 queries