English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 December 2017, 18:03   #21
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,129
ECS KILLEHB "disables" 6th plane: it is completely ignored when selecting palette. It makes no visible difference, it is only used as a genlock transparency mask.

AGA works slightly differently, it only disables EHB logic. I guess they did it this way because it is ECS compatible if palette entries 32 to 63 are copies of entries 0 to 31.

I am still wondering if there is any programs that use ECS genlock features..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 01 December 2017, 18:28   #22
ross
Sum, ergo Cogito

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 48
Posts: 1,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I am still wondering if there is any programs that use ECS genlock features..
Maybe this is the reason they removed the feature in AGA.
No program has ever used it.
ross is offline  
Old 01 December 2017, 21:13   #23
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
Maybe this is the reason they removed the feature in AGA.
No program has ever used it.
I did say it can be "emulated" in AGA by having identical palette in entries 0 to 31 and 32 to 64.

KILLEHB only disables EHB, it does not directly enable (or disable) any genlock features. There is separate plane selection (3 bits, ZDBSELx) in BPLCON2 that selects genlock mask plane. And finally there is bit to enable the mask (ZDBPEN).
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 01 December 2017, 23:34   #24
ross
Sum, ergo Cogito

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 48
Posts: 1,367
aah, ok!

All clear now

Thanks!
ross is offline  
Old 02 December 2017, 15:28   #25
ross
Sum, ergo Cogito

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 48
Posts: 1,367
This demo contain an interesting copper corrected full overscan screen h-scroll.

But could not the same effect be achieved with a sprite to mask the error on the right side of the video window?

EDIT: mmh no the glitch is too wide.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	panoramic.picture.gif
Views:	59
Size:	87.5 KB
ID:	55703  

Last edited by ross; 02 December 2017 at 15:45.
ross is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Menace - OCS Colour Palette invent Retrogaming General Discussion 10 25 February 2015 22:28
What are the best games that were specifically designed for ECS chipset? ceaser support.Games 14 26 August 2014 13:07
WinUAE v2.5.0 - possible bug with Hardware configs, ECS Agnus chipset setting SedrynTyros support.WinUAE 1 06 December 2012 22:29
Has anybody used the new Indivision OCS/ECS Flicker Fixer barney Amiga scene 24 11 January 2010 19:45
Chipset type: OCS / ECS Agnus Njinsa support.WinUAE 4 19 December 2005 01:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06335 seconds with 13 queries