English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 November 2017, 16:07   #1
Marlon_
AmigaDev.com

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 31
Posts: 588
MilkyTracker V1.02 for Amiga like OS

First of all, is this is in the wrong place, I apologise!

I've been working on this port of MilkyTracker for 68k Amigas for the last couple of months. Backporting new features and bug fixes to SDL1.2 to be able to run on 68k Amigas.
It's far from perfect and is in dire need of optimizations.

I've already tried the port on Vampire's but would like to see how well it runs on 060 as well. And if it runs any better with a sound card installed etc.

Let me know if you have any problems!

Updates:

---- 2017-11-18 ----
  • Optimizations, runs smooth even with 16+ channel mods with only 50 ms buffer
  • Amiga file browser for loading mods (thanks to capehill and his OS4 port)
---- 2017-11-27 ----
  • Some fixes to avoid crashes on UAE setups.
  • Gracefully exit if no FPU was found.
  • Updated download link for up to date binaries, just replace the binary from the LHA package and you're set
  • Added AmigaOS4.1 binary download
  • Now compiled for 040+FPU rather than 060+FPU
---- 2017-12-10 -------- 2018-03-02 ----
  • Version bumped to v1.02
---- 2018-05-06 ----------------------------

Minimum requirements for use with Vampire:
  • Gold 2.5
  • FEMU enabled (Disabled on Gold 2.7+)
  • Screenmode 640x480 with 16bit color depth must be enabled

General 68k requirements:
  • 060 with FPU, the faster the better
  • RTG
  • MOD/XM-files need to be in the same folder as the application

Download:
https://www.eevul.net/amiga/milkytracker

Source:
https://github.com/AmigaPorts/MilkyTracker

Last edited by Marlon_; 21 May 2018 at 14:39.
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 18 November 2017, 16:47   #2
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,180
Thank you Marlon, even though I'm not expert of musical programs i tested it MilkyTracker on AFA OS and I found it fast and functional

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 22 July 2018 at 12:21.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 18 November 2017, 16:48   #3
tolkien
AmigaMan

tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 537
Thanks so much mate. Thought is a bit confuse to need a minimun 060 and core 2.5
tolkien is offline  
Old 18 November 2017, 16:53   #4
Marlon_
AmigaDev.com

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 31
Posts: 588
Quote:
Originally Posted by tolkien View Post
Thanks so much mate. Thought is a bit confuse to need a minimun 060 and core 2.5


Gold 2.5 core+femu for Vampire users.
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 18 November 2017, 16:55   #5
tolkien
AmigaMan

tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 537
Oh yes sorry. I have ended to work now and I am not in. Again, thanks so much
tolkien is offline  
Old 18 November 2017, 19:48   #6
Marlon_
AmigaDev.com

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 31
Posts: 588
New version available!

New in this version:
  • Optimizations, runs smooth even with 16+ channel mods with only 50 ms buffer
  • Amiga file browser for loading mods (thanks to capehill and his OS4 port)

Download (same as before):
http://www.marlonbeijer.com/download...racker-68k.lha
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 18 November 2017, 21:59   #7
Overflow
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 373
Pedro Cotter made a youtube of the current version of Milkytracker running on a Vampire:

[ Show youtube player ]

Shk testing on his x14 core:

Vampire 500 V2+ Gold 2.7 x14
Amiga 2000
Delfina Lite Z2

[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by Overflow; 18 November 2017 at 22:57.
Overflow is offline  
Old 22 November 2017, 08:05   #8
Aladin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: France
Posts: 316
On winuae/060JIT, Milkytracker 68k+FPU works
On winuae/040JIT, Milkytracker 68k+FPU don't works:
Not possible to load a mod (the requester window does not display)
But on winuae/040JIT, Milkytracker 68k-noFPU works
Aladin is offline  
Old 22 November 2017, 08:08   #9
Marlon_
AmigaDev.com

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 31
Posts: 588
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aladin View Post
On winuae/060JIT, Milkytracker 68k+FPU works
On winuae/040JIT, Milkytracker 68k+FPU don't works:
Not possible to load a mod (the requester window does not display)
But winuae/040JIT, Milkytracker 68k-FPU works


It's compiled for 060, so some instructions are the same between the processors while some are missing. Will do a recompile for 040 for best compatibility, but a overclocked 060 is recommended if you want it to be usable on real hardware.
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 22 November 2017, 08:17   #10
Aladin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: France
Posts: 316
@Marlon
Thanks
Some emulators do not have 060. Max 040 (uae4arm ...)

the main thing is that it works on Vampire
Aladin is offline  
Old 22 November 2017, 08:18   #11
Marlon_
AmigaDev.com

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 31
Posts: 588
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aladin View Post
@Marlon
Thanks
Some emulators do not have 060. Max 040 (uae4arm ...)


Thanks, didn't know that!
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 27 November 2017, 18:26   #12
Marlon_
AmigaDev.com

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 31
Posts: 588
Original post updated!
  • Some fixes to avoid crashes on UAE setups.
  • Gracefully exit if no FPU was found.
  • Updated download link for up to date binaries, just replace the binary from the LHA package and you're set
  • Added AmigaOS4.1 binary download
  • Now compiled for 040+FPU rather than 060+FPU
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 10 December 2017, 01:34   #13
Marlon_
AmigaDev.com

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 31
Posts: 588
I'm starting an effort to collect the sources of ports to Amiga based OS'es in one Github organization.

The end game is that it should be easier to find ports and maintain them and keep them up to date, without having to look all over google, aminet, different forums etc.

I've started off by putting the repository of my MilkyTracker port for 68k and OS4 based Amigas (soon AROS, WarpOS and MorphOS as well).

If you want to be invited to the Github organization, just send me a PM or email me: amiga@eevul.net

It's available here:
https://github.com/amigaports/
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 10 December 2017, 15:07   #14
Marlon_
AmigaDev.com

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 31
Posts: 588
---- 2017-12-10 ----------------------------
Please try it and report back to me!
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 11 December 2017, 01:25   #15
spoUP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sweden
Age: 41
Posts: 342
Awesome, it seems speedy enough on the vampire as well!
spoUP is offline  
Old 23 December 2017, 12:13   #16
Overflow
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 373
Some MilkyTracker testing done by MsMadLemon;

[ Show youtube player ]

You should post some kind of "risk of overexcitement" warning upon loading of the program
Overflow is offline  
Old 27 March 2018, 12:30   #17
Marlon_
AmigaDev.com

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 31
Posts: 588
Our MilkyTracker for Amiga effort has been mentioned in the news on the official MilkyTracker website!
http://milkytracker.titandemo.org/ne.../version-1.02/
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 06 May 2018, 18:10   #18
Marlon_
AmigaDev.com

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 31
Posts: 588
MilkyTracker V1.02 for Amiga like OS

---- 2018-05-06 ----------------------------
Marlon_ is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Demo Coder Challenge - Vampire Beta Project ! Gunnar Coders. Asm / Hardware 342 29 July 2015 16:42
060 no FPU? orange support.Hardware 4 18 June 2011 23:55
FPU bug found WinUAE 2.3.1 beta 7 Cosmos support.WinUAE 5 18 December 2010 00:57
060 SysSpeed CPU FPU? ancalimon support.Hardware 7 03 January 2010 15:10
Where to buy 80mhz 060 with mmu and fpu? Smiley MarketPlace 33 17 January 2009 14:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08686 seconds with 12 queries