English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 September 2017, 09:15   #1
JProctor666
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Wausau
Posts: 1
Operation Stealth Speech on Emulator?

Hello, I'm new to the Amiga emulation scene. I've been emulating DOS, SCUMM, and consoles for over 20 years though. I'm trying to get the speech working on Operation Stealth, but I'm having absolutely no luck in the matter. I got a few games running on FS-UAE and then found that WinUAE seems to have higher compatibility and is easier to set up, so I'm using that now and I've gotten Operation Stealth and a few other games running...just no speech. Please help, this is the one feature that really puts Amiga above DOS! Like this, it's both functional AND humorous!

[ Show youtube player ]
JProctor666 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 September 2017, 11:11   #2
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 314
i never heard about talkie on this version, but it seems only a rare cracked version seems use narrator.device.
you have to find that version. now i try to search this version
Seiya is offline  
Old 10 September 2017, 11:26   #3
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 314
found!
now i test if it really works.


Yes It works.
it is here on EAB FTP (Tosec/Games/ADF/O/
Operation Stealth V3.7 (cr PDX)

Last edited by Seiya; 10 September 2017 at 11:44.
Seiya is offline  
Old 10 September 2017, 11:54   #4
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,584
I always had the talkie version but like the notes said only played it on 512kb mode
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 10 September 2017, 13:52   #5
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 314
It's a nice things even if narrator.device not very good because has the same type of speech.
Seiya is offline  
Old 10 September 2017, 17:11   #6
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,264
Bah... the speech is absolute rubbish

I don't play the game with this enabled.

...however, if you do want it enabled, just set 1MB Chip RAM.
DamienD is offline  
Old 11 September 2017, 16:40   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Bah... the speech is absolute rubbish
It's the standard Amiga "say" speech synth.

Besides having 1MB enabled, you need to have the narrator.device and speak_handler too. Probably the 1.3 versions of both.
Akira is offline  
Old 11 September 2017, 16:53   #8
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
It's the standard Amiga "say" speech synth.
Yeah I know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Besides having 1MB enabled, you need to have the narrator.device and speak_handler too. Probably the 1.3 versions of both.
Is it not on the original disks?
DamienD is offline  
Old 11 September 2017, 16:59   #9
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,959
It's not a terrible speech system, for thr time, it's a pretty solid system, and if it was used properly, you can get really expressive speech. Only most tools using it did not tap directly into the extended parameters (try Speechtoy2 from Aminet for a taster of how crazy it can be)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Is it not on the original disks?
Yes, but when you install it to hard drive, it could be gone. So I mentioned it.
Akira is offline  
Old 12 September 2017, 12:18   #10
Mrz
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 92
games developers could be used the translator library to make talkie some adventure point & click games
not the original translator library which is very buggy , but the v42 which is multilingual and far better
I wonder if in this game appears a female character, will not fit in the male voice because I don't think this buggy crack have dealt with this
Mrz is offline  
Old 12 September 2017, 12:41   #11
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,264
Use the crack by Galahad

Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
In the zone, Operation Stealth v4.0, requested by Urbi as it had never been done before.

Was interested as its a known tricky crack, however, brain power and thinking outside the box and i was able to completely ridicule its legend.

Ive not seen anyone come up with my solution before.........
It's on the EAB File Server under: "/TheZone/files/_2016" and named "OpStealthv4.0(SCX) [Operation Stealth v4.0 cracked....].zip"
DamienD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Operation Stealth tuki_cat support.Games 6 07 February 2011 10:06
Operation Stealth XimeR support.Games 2 07 April 2010 10:05
Operation Stealth / James Bond 007 - The Stealth Affair lemm support.Games 15 16 November 2008 14:07
Operation Stealth turk182 support.Games 18 07 March 2006 01:24
Operation Stealth enigma support.Games 11 01 June 2001 19:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20823 seconds with 11 queries