English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 August 2017, 18:28   #21
ross
Vae victis!

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Posts: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Coolio; will check it out tonight when home

...can you elaborate on what the Asman fix is or should I just read the WHDLoad version notes?
A bug in original code that prevented the start font animation.

Cheers

PS: Asman, a PM for you
ross is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 August 2017, 20:25   #22
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,252
Ok tested; work greats. Thank you kindly ross

...but two things though; where did you get the main file from?

a) Looking at it, the size is half what the file on "Xenex (1994-10)(Scorpius)(PD).adf" is and apparently not compressed (tried uncompressing with "Xfddecrunch")?



Also, it's missing this screen:



b) After skipping levels all the same enemies from the previous stage are still present and in the exact same position... Is that how it should be?
DamienD is offline  
Old 24 August 2017, 22:30   #23
ross
Vae victis!

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Posts: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Ok tested; work greats. Thank you kindly ross
Good

Quote:
...but two things though; where did you get the main file from?

a) Looking at it, the size is half what the file on "Xenex (1994-10)(Scorpius)(PD).adf" is and apparently not compressed (tried uncompressing with "Xfddecrunch")?
The executable is from the aforementioned .adf
After the various optimization and recompilation the size is 681844 (the main file is not patched but resourced).
To mantain the 1MB target i've used 'cranker' by TEK (credits in the cracktro).
[EDIT: The packing ratio is nice, the loading time halved, so a win-win situation]

Quote:
Also, it's missing this screen:
It's a choice, i simply disabled the message but is in file.
The game is no more shareware, the author give it free.
But if is a problem (to maintain some legacy) i can re-enable it.

Quote:
b) After skipping levels all the same enemies from the previous stage are still present and in the exact same position... Is that how it should be?
I've used the memory location 'abused' by Insane.
Skipping fifty levels give me an incredible amount of enemy on screen, so something changes

[EDIT: yes, the game logic for "next level" is not "destroy all enemies".
Disable "skip levels" in trainer and enable "infinite lives" and see.
The new level "add" some new enemy to those left.]


Cheers,
ross

Last edited by ross; 24 August 2017 at 23:00.
ross is offline  
Old 24 August 2017, 22:48   #24
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,252
No problem at all, nothing needs to be changed.

I really appreciate your work on this

...I'm just a perfectionist and analyse everything; hence why I asked so many questions
DamienD is offline  
Old 24 August 2017, 23:42   #25
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,252
Cool, just read all your [Edits] after my post...

Thanks for explaining

...your ultimate version has been added to my WinUAE collection

Again, grazie mille
DamienD is offline  
Old 24 August 2017, 23:59   #26
ross
Vae victis!

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Posts: 494
Quote:
...I'm just a perfectionist and analyse everything; hence why I asked so many questions
I appreciate it


Quote:
...your ultimate version has been added to my WinUAE collection

Again, grazie mille


Ciao!
ross is offline  
Old 25 August 2017, 23:00   #27
Asman
68k

Asman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 627
@ross - Thanks for PM. Indeed there are some mistakes in my source. I will sacrifice some time and will update Xenex WHD. Thank you.
Respect.
Asman is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3D World Boxing - Trainer partially working? ransom1122 support.Games 0 07 June 2017 04:47
Colorado trainer? lesta_smsc request.Other 35 03 February 2015 11:09
Mega Typhoon Trainer Version - Working! plasmatron request.Old Rare Games 1 03 July 2011 23:52
The Best Trainer Ever! Old Fool Retrogaming General Discussion 15 25 September 2008 16:56
Nathan Never trainer? the wolf request.Old Rare Games 2 06 September 2008 01:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14546 seconds with 11 queries