English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 August 2017, 22:18   #1
jazzyalba2108
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Folkestone/UK
Posts: 46
Amigakit???

Hi guys, I have recently purchased a PCMPCIA CF CARD adapter for my refurbished AMIGA 600. on its arrival, I noticed it was a high density diskette, no correct me if I am wrong, with amigas being 80s machines, used double density diskettes? anyway fail to say it didn't work and I got a boot error 44

here is the transcript of our conversation

Technical Support (Christopher) on 2017-08-13 02:24:50
Hi,

You will find the HD hole is covered, this effectively makes the disk DD. This practice has been used since the 90s in the Amiga community without issues.
Jeremy Bell on 2017-08-12 05:40:38
its a refurbished A600, you haven't even seen my system so how can you judge that its dirty, may i suggest more like a HIGH DESTINY DISKETTE, the issue says ADAPCMCFL READ ERROR DISK BLOCK 44

not very impressed with yourselves, to suggest blame on the customers is disgraceful, you check each disk 3 times, maybe start using DOUBLE DESTINY DISKETTES, this is the problem!!!

Technical Support (Matthew) on 2017-08-11 14:14:40
Hello Jeremy

Thank you for the ticket.

We check every disk three times on each sector for read/write integrity before despatch to customers to ensure that disks are working.

If the disk develops read errors it can be because a small amount of dirt has been introduced to the disk from quite often 30 year old floppy disk drive mechanisms that are very dusty and dirty after a long time being in service.

The ADAPCMCFL drivers are installed in the DEVSosDrivers directory and also various other drawers in the System partition.

We are happy to send you out another disk but I would suggest that you clean the floppy drive to ensure that is free from dust and debris that has built up over the years.

Please confirm the number of your order.

Thank you.

now I am not impressed by amigakit blaming it on the customer's, poor customer service.

what do you guys think PLEASE HELP!!!
jazzyalba2108 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 August 2017, 23:05   #2
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,458
1) I only have positive experience with Amigakit
2) HD disks with covered hole formatted as DD used to be commonly used
3) some drives can have problems with some floppies

ad 3) back in 90s me and my schoolmate bought both brand new A600s. His Amiga had English keyboard, mine has German layout. Not sure with kickstart etc. His Amiga read all the floppies he inserted, my Amiga refused to boot from some of his floppies (exact the same physical floppies) resulting Software Failure guru screen. Both these Amigas were new, all the floppies were DD.
Predseda is offline  
Old 13 August 2017, 23:05   #3
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 657
Quote:
now I am not impressed by amigakit blaming it on the customer's, poor customer service.
And I'm not impressed by whiny douchebags registering here just to vent about a non-issue.

He's "happy to to send you out another disk", all he's asking for is that you check your drive for dirt. I don't think that an unreasonable request.

And yeah, using HD disks is unfortunate, but often neccessary - because getting your hands on DD disks has been rather difficult for years.
Korodny is offline  
Old 13 August 2017, 23:58   #4
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,020
Getting your hands on DD disks is about as difficult as getting hold of D23 connectors, both of which Amigakit have refused to do even when pointed at where to buy them. They'd rather cut off D25 connectors or tape over HD disk holes (as if the Amiga even cared about that hole) than pay an extra quid for proper things.
idrougge is offline  
Old 14 August 2017, 05:49   #5
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 702
I have had the odd disk from Amigakit which is corrupt ,but never had a problem as I asked for an ADF of the disk and they sent it via Email,why dont you ask for this , much simpler and faster, lts life as they .
supaduper is online now  
Old 14 August 2017, 12:48   #6
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
I thought I got sent a bad disk too! But guess what. I cleaned my drive and it work! I suggest you do the same.
lost_loven is offline  
Old 14 August 2017, 18:35   #7
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,169
Hmmm, how can anyone *not* suspect an ancient floppy drive in situations like this? Regardless of how clean it might look from the outside, it's only as clean as the last disk you put in it.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 14 August 2017, 19:16   #8
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,959
Sure, but also HD disks used as DD are notoriously unreliable.

Floppies are a hard thing to get to work nowadays. Both the drive and the disk could be at fault. There's a lot of dirty drives as there are lots of bitrotten disks and HD as DD garbage.

Moral of the story: don't use floppies ;P
Akira is offline  
Old 14 August 2017, 21:00   #9
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,169
Yeah, true. All these things could be avoided with LHA and ADF downloads, though I guess there are chicken-and-egg situations where you can't get the files onto your Amiga without the software on floppy... The joys of Amiga life
Daedalus is offline  
Old 14 August 2017, 21:43   #10
Matt_H
Registered User
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 125
@ jazzyalba2108

I think you are seriously overreacting to a very reasonable variable that Amigakit suggested you try to eliminate: the cleanliness of the floppy drive. They ever offered to send you a new disk! What more do you want?
Matt_H is offline  
Old 14 August 2017, 22:02   #11
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
I guess there are chicken-and-egg situations where you can't get the files onto your Amiga without the software on floppy...
That was true up to about 3 or 4 years ago, but nowadays you can just get a Gotek floppy emulator! Thanks goodness.

I gotta replace all disk drives in my house with emulators ;P
Akira is offline  
Old 16 August 2017, 23:50   #12
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
I have had the odd disk from Amigakit which is corrupt ,but never had a problem as I asked for an ADF of the disk and they sent it via Email,why dont you ask for this , much simpler and faster, lts life as they .
Exactly what I was thinking and Amigakit are not going to tell the buyer to bog off are they! It is their bread-n-butter to keep amigans buying the stuff we ask for! Be thankful amigakit even exist

Maybe the floppy disk fairies will stumble upon limitless stash of DD disks one day lol

But they always rely on a clean working drive mind lol
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 17 August 2017, 12:18   #13
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,020
There are enough DD disks around to last a long time. Jens Schönfeld even commisioned new DD disks a few years ago, and it's Amigakit's own choice not to buy into that.
idrougge is offline  
Old 17 August 2017, 12:56   #14
Robbie
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Southbourne
Posts: 63
tragic.

just made myself laugh by imagining the OP having a complete meltdown over a floppy disk error.
Robbie is offline  
Old 17 August 2017, 15:31   #15
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,458
First (and only) post by that poster seems to be a trolling to me. This thread could be closed.
Predseda is offline  
Old 17 August 2017, 15:33   #16
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 38
Posts: 722
I'm not a fan of Amigakit, but i also think this is silly.
fryguy is offline  
Old 18 August 2017, 10:22   #17
alpine9000
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 356
I also got a floppy with my PCMCIA card from amigakit. I didn't really care about what was on the disk (you can get everything you need for PCMCIA cards on aminet), but I was super excited, because that took my floppy collection from 1, to 2

But alas, the amigakit floppy had read errors when I tried to image it, and also fails to verify if I try and write to it

My other disk works flawlessly, so now my floppy collection stands at 1 (working), 1 (display only).

For the record, both disks are 2HD.
alpine9000 is offline  
Old 18 August 2017, 16:33   #18
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,959
It's better not to use anything than to use 2HD as 2SDD.
When one has a floppy, one wants to trust it with whatever you put in it. 2HD cannot be trusted when formatted as 2SDD.
Akira is offline  
Old 18 August 2017, 23:44   #19
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 690
Ok here's a crazy thought. Boot from a different floppy, put the drivers on a second floppy.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 20 August 2017, 17:49   #20
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,706
Update:

We telephoned the customer on the last week and our Technician spent over 2 hours giving advice and support on using the customer's Amiga 600 with PCMCIA CF adapters.
amigakit.com is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmigaKit Signman Amiga scene 13 06 October 2016 22:29
Anyone know what's going on with Amigakit? Ox. Amiga scene 15 19 September 2014 14:43
Thanks Amigakit vitux support.Hardware 3 21 May 2013 15:45
does anyone know when Amigakit will be getting ..... reanimator support.Hardware 13 20 September 2008 23:17
amigakit.com... Photon MarketPlace 13 24 December 2007 18:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.31944 seconds with 11 queries