English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 July 2017, 05:24   #1
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,490
AfA_OS 4.8

You can find the newly released AfA_OS 4.8 in The Zone!
You are free to share it and upload it to Aminet.

Thanks to Bernd Roesch

AROS for AmigaOS

---------------------------------------------------

This is the release version 4.8 of AfA_OS.

Features:

Realtime Skin System, which can change Skins without closing the screen first,
and supports user defined border sizes for every border.
See Screenshot under the following link:
http://amidevcpp.amiga-world.de/AfA_...%20develop.png

It can be selected between Visualprefs, Birdie or the AfA-Skin system via
AFA_Prefs and a customized startup-sequence.

ReAction (ClassAction), KingCON and MUI Windowgadgets are supported and replaced
by the Skinsystem with code and help from Dieter Groppé.
DOpus5 Iconify and tbiclass Windowgadgets are also supported and replaced by the
Skinsystem by pushing and with help from Thomas Klein.

A user configurable Blacklist where you can exclude programs from using bigger
than normal borders as some programs do not work with increased border size
properly. The blacklisted programs will then open with standard border size.
Please drop me a line if you mention that programs do not work properly with
increased bordersize.

Many user configurable real time parameters like three different Borderlines.
The user can change the pre defined Skin parameters over a GUI.

Window Titel Font autonomous from AOS attuned Window Font selectable.
Position of Window Titel Font and shadow with adjustable depth selectable.

Skins consist of several parts: Screentitle, For- and Background for the verti-
cal and horizontal sliders and window frame parts like top, bottom, left and
right frame.

Now are 22 Skins from Ken Lester are usable. Here is a link to a screenshot
where 21 skins are shown:
http://www.five-star.com/kens_icons/...themes_all.png

AfA_OS allows you to use 32bit Dual Image PNG Icons, OS4 32bit Icons, "Palette"
GlowIcons and NewIcons with full Colorprecision and also faster than with the
original because colours must not be remapped to Workbench Palette. It works
in conjunction with DOpus Magellan and Workbench. Dragging of Icons works in
full 32bit colours with P96 and CyperGraphics V2. With CGX 3 and 4 icons will
only be shown in four colours while dragged.

OS4/PNG Icons can be scaled in realtime due to a high quality scale code by
Thilo Köhler. On a Classic (060) Mason-Icons with 30 pixel size can be rendered
faster than in original size.

Alpha-Channel support for picture datatypes.

TrueTypeFonts are supported with antialiasing.


Attention!!!!

Since AfA Version 3.96 NewIcons will be treated like GlowIcons. That means you
have to be the following things in mind: Icons will be converted into Glow-
Icons if you change anything on them (e.g. change or fix position, Tooltypes,
...).



Changes for this version:

The icon_lib.exe use now a buffer that fix Hits by displaying Icons in the
NewIcon format.

The saving of the Font cache was disable in the diskfont_lib.exe this fix
problems with write protected Volumes.

In the graphics_lib.exe a problem with RecFill was fixed that occure if it was
used in the Border area.

The blacklisting are extended that the program TypeSmith now works with the
ToolType entry "bxxxTypeSmith" in the BlackList Icon. "bxxx" indicates that
the hight of title bar are not set back to the defaults.

The max posibile value of the Icon-Size in the Afa_Prefs program are set to
256.

Thomas Klein has fix a Hit in morelibspace, reported by Frank Weber.

He also extend AfA_OS_Loader to support the parameter "OPTIMAL" with it the
AfA_OS_Libs are started in its optimal order.

The AfA_Prefs program are reviced by him, it is now complete localisable.
There are two new ToolTypes "ForceSkin" tries to close and open the Workbench
that the settings are used for all windows at the end of the program.
With "Layout=(0-2)" it is possible to switch between three layouts of the
Window settings, 1 is the default its the one that are used in older versions.
At 0 and 2 the stettings are grouped.
gulliver is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 July 2017, 08:01   #2
Romanujan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szczecin/Poland
Posts: 175
Cool Is there any way to use PeterK icon.library instead of the AfA one?
Romanujan is offline  
Old 13 July 2017, 08:33   #3
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,051
Perfect, finally the expected update has arrived, thanks for sharing

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; Yesterday at 23:35.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 13 July 2017, 09:30   #4
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,051
Ciao gulliver, Tell me how it's called and where I can find the application you see in the corner right of the window (New PowerWindows ?), thank you

N.B. link "http://www.five-star.com/kens_icons/screenshots/themes_all.png "My antivirus reports how dangerous it is !
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 13 July 2017, 10:04   #5
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romanujan View Post
Cool Is there any way to use PeterK icon.library instead of the AfA one?
Yes, that's already possible since AfA_OS 4.7, but you must decide if you prefer the highest quality with every number of true colors and also soft alphachannel blending of the icon borders - or if you want the highest speed, a much lower memory consumption, the best OS 3.x compliance, but only 255 colors and a simple transparency, which means a little less quality.

In case you prefer the latter, install my library as Libs:icon.library and move the Icon_lib.exe out of AfA_OS_LIBS:. Attention: some other features of AfA_OS may become unsupported then!
PeterK is offline  
Old 13 July 2017, 10:15   #6
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,051
On AFA OS in boot system just hold down the mouse sx key to start OS 3.9 Standard with PeterK Icon.library support, see screenshot.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 16 September 2017 at 01:34.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 13 July 2017, 10:22   #7
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,051
AFA OS 4.8 + MUI 5 Update

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 13 July 2017, 10:25   #8
Romanujan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szczecin/Poland
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
In case you prefer the latter, install my library as Libs:icon.library and move the Icon_lib.exe out of AfA_OS_LIBS:. Attention: some other features of AfA_OS may become unsupported then!
And this is exactly my problem - I prefer your icon.library because it is fast and the loss of quality is, in my opinion, very minor. But I would like to use AfA_OS window decorations and font engine...
Romanujan is offline  
Old 13 July 2017, 10:30   #9
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romanujan View Post
And this is exactly my problem - I prefer your icon.library because it is fast and the loss of quality is, in my opinion, very minor. But
Anything Icon_lib.exe anything Skin, if you use a RTG System at 32Bit the difference on the icons and windows you see, even speed and greater
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 13 July 2017, 10:45   #10
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romanujan View Post
And this is exactly my problem - I prefer your icon.library because it is fast and the loss of quality is, in my opinion, very minor. But I would like to use AfA_OS window decorations and font engine...
Unfortunately, it's not possible to combine all the best features of both worlds: perfect colors, alphachannel and complete support of the OS 3.5 colormapping for older tools. Such a solution would require lots of memory and would be very slow.
PeterK is offline  
Old 27 July 2017, 19:14   #11
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,051
Someone can explain me technically why AFA OS require FPU ???
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 27 July 2017, 20:22   #12
Gorf
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munich/Bavaria
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Someone can explain me technically why AFA OS require FPU ???
So it does not run on Vampires!
Gorf is offline  
Old 27 July 2017, 20:29   #13
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,051
Noooo i do not have a Vampire and i do not think I ever get it, it was my curiosity to understand what it could serve Floating-point unit
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 27 July 2017, 21:31   #14
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I would better ask: Why the Vampire doesn't have an emulated FPU yet?

They basically tell no program needs it, while the real answer is that or they don't have room or they can't run it at a decent speed.
Retrofan is online now  
Old 27 July 2017, 21:35   #15
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 473
It WORKS now with femu, a software FPU implementation.
It will be released very soon to aminet. It will work also on stock Amigas.
arti is offline  
Old 27 July 2017, 21:35   #16
roomeo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Telemark
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
I would better ask: Why the Vampire doesn't have an emulated FPU yet?

They basically tell no program needs it, while the real answer is that or they don't have room or they can't run it at a decent speed.
'



shhhhhhhh... we dont discuss this on this forum. People get too upset and this thread will be closed asap!!
roomeo is offline  
Old 27 July 2017, 21:43   #17
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by arti View Post
It WORKS now with femu, a software FPU implementation.
It will be released very soon to aminet. It will work also on stock Amigas.
. Shocked.

Glad that I discussed it

Edit:

[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by Retrofan; 27 July 2017 at 22:26.
Retrofan is online now  
Old 27 July 2017, 22:14   #18
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by arti View Post
It WORKS now with femu, a software FPU implementation.
It will be released very soon to aminet. It will work also on stock Amigas.
Yes Art i know already available HERE, i do not care the Vampire i just wanted to understand why it is necessary FPU to start AFA OS ???

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 27 July 2017 at 23:21.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE A4000 AFA_OS 68060: Description AMIGASYSTEM support.WinUAE 6 13 October 2016 18:00
Afa_os 4.7 HanSolo support.Apps 3 22 January 2015 21:04
Could you help me with fblit, systempatch, afa_os ? ancalimon support.Apps 0 01 January 2010 03:08
multiview crashing since installing afa_os DDNI support.Apps 6 03 December 2009 15:31
Afa_os Charlie support.Apps 0 17 September 2008 16:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20892 seconds with 11 queries