English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 December 2017, 15:48   #241
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by guest.r View Post
There seem to be a problem with geometry
Fixed. (InputLayout was set to NULL, another cleanup, this time reason was wrong variable..)
Toni Wilen is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 December 2017, 16:44   #242
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 122
Thanks Toni, much better now.
I noticed shader scaling (1x, 2x, 3x, 4x) is not yet implemented, only 1x works normaly, otherwise the image gets a Top-Left positioned shrink.

If this works then at least most of the CRT shaders should do OK.
guest.r is offline  
Old 18 December 2017, 18:42   #243
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amiga68k View Post
Toni,

Some additional information regarding the noise. The following "combination" of settings is needed for the issue to not appear (I also tried them individually and vice versa, etc.).

- Hardware - RTG board: Double buffering
- Host - Display: No buffering
- Host - Display - Native, Windowed: - (for sync)
- Host - Display - RTG, Windowed: - (for sync)

With above mentioned combination I see one difference in the FPS counter. When the issue is experienced the value is:

FPS: 59.3 [50.0]

When there is no issue (above combination), the value is:

FPS: 59.3 [60.0]

The values between brackets are fluctuating, but around that figure...
Do you mean this FPS difference does not happen with last "working" version? (Just asking because it can be normal) Does AHI sound test also glitch?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 18 December 2017, 21:25   #244
Amiga68k
Registered User

Amiga68k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Do you mean this FPS difference does not happen with last "working" version? (Just asking because it can be normal) Does AHI sound test also glitch?
With Beta 10 I was able to choose Triple for Buffer mode. No glitching occurs when "-" is configured for sync (FPS: 59.3 [60.0]).

As soon as I configure sync settings, the glitching starts (also with Beta 10 btw, but less than Beta 13). Also with the 60 figures between brackets, so that figure probably doesn't say anything about the issue indeed.

Glitching occurs for Paula and Toccata settings when doing the AHI sound test. No glitching experienced for UAE (AHI) mode.

The glitching is worse with the latest Beta (13) ("-" for sync) and I now have to fall back to Double buffering.

Very nasty thing to get a grip on, because it seems very specific for my config...
Amiga68k is offline  
Old 18 December 2017, 22:13   #245
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Venom View Post
I'm getting a slight issue when using shaders that upon starting d3d11_shader.uae config, the screen is sized to only a quarter of the full screen size (see attached picture), if I then open and close GUI then it changes to full screen. It seems that only after opening and closing the GUI the x4 scaling setting is applied, but not on first startup? This is repeatable and seems to only happen when full screen and shader is selected.
No, it just caused reset to 1x

I don't know what goes wrong because all parameters are identical (compared to D3D9). Probably something is needed to describe output size or something that works differently in D3D11.

MSVC graphics debugger (which records all the data and allows to examine it later. Very useful.) shows that shaders get original size Amiga texture but output texture (which is 2x/4x larger) only has original Amiga size area filled in top/left corner. It should have been upscaled by the pixel shader.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 19 December 2017, 02:03   #246
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,157
Ciao Toni, beta 11/12/13 RTG systems with "DirectDraw" they crash

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 21 December 2017 at 22:43.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 19 December 2017, 09:44   #247
DualC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Rimbo
Posts: 14
Toni, falling back to d3d9 in Windows7 with beta 13 even in 32bit mode. Beta 12 works in 32 bit.

Attaching logs.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (15.7 KB, 41 views)
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (11.3 KB, 38 views)
DualC is offline  
Old 19 December 2017, 12:17   #248
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by DualC View Post
Toni, falling back to d3d9 in Windows7 with beta 13 even in 32bit mode. Beta 12 works in 32 bit.
Yes, I broke it yet again. See above (winuae.7z is fixed).
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 19 December 2017, 16:01   #249
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,534
2x/3x/4x option fixed. (ViewPort change was missing, RSSetViewports(), quite obvious reason..)

EDIT: "function"s are not supported ("texture shader", tx_1_0), there does not seem to be D3D11 replacements for D3DXFillTextureTX()/D3DXFillCubeTextureTX()/D3DXFillVolumeTextureTX()

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 19 December 2017 at 21:34.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 19 December 2017, 16:05   #250
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Ciao Toni, beta 11/12/13 RTG systems with "DirectDraw" they crash
Fixed, thanks.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 19 December 2017, 18:23   #251
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,157
Thanks to you Toni
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 20 December 2017, 19:33   #252
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,534
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_3600b14.7z
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae64_3600b14.7z

Beta 14:

Direct3D11 mode should be mostly complete now.

- D3D11: lower hardware levels are supported again. (broke in previous beta)
- D3D11: if Windows 7 and DXGI 1.1+ is not detected, show message that asks to install Platform Update (KB2670838). WinUAE requires DXGI 1.1. DXGI 1.0 won't be supported. (Confirmed on VM that Win7SP1 iso install + optional KB2670838 from Windows Update without installing any other updates is enough to use D3D11 mode)
- D3D9 low latency vsync was reverted to normal vsync if default.uae was missing or default.uae enabled D3D11 mode.
- D3D11 custom fx shader support implemented.
- D3D11 supports most existing D3D9 fx shaders by in-memory string renaming: technique -> technique10 and ps_2_0/ps_3_0 -> ps_4_0_level_9_3 and vs_2_0/vs_3_0 -> vs_4_0_level_9_3. For some reason D3D11 effect compiler ignores D3D9 technique format but nearly everything else is supported. D3DCompiler_46.dll or D3DCompiler_47.dll required.
- D3D9 and D3D11: if shader fx file does not have combineTechique but has at least one technique: automatically select first technique as combineTechique.
- D3D11 mode GUI D3D shader list is only shown if D3DCompiler_46.dll or D3DCompiler_47.dll is available.
- D3D11 in 16-bit mode but 16-bit not supported: switch to 32-bit instead of falling back to Direct3D 9.
- DirectDraw + UAERTG caused crash (earlier betas)
- Use 391078-01 CIA in A600 Quickstart. It seems most (all?) A600s have -01 revision, A1200/A4000 can have -01 or -02.
- If Direct3D 11 is selected as default, also select 32-bit as default depth.

D3D11 custom shader note: texture shaders (tx_1_0) are not implemented. D3D11 replacements for D3DXFillTextureTX()/D3DXFillCubeTextureTX()/D3DXFillVolumeTextureTX() D3D9X functions don't seem to exist. (But fx compiler supports "tx_1_0" shader target so perhaps they are hiding somewhere..)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 21 December 2017, 10:09   #253
Dr.Venom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Beta 14:
Works very nice as far as I could test so far.

One thing I'm noticing in D3D11 mode is that I cannot lower the soundbuffer below 6 or sound gets crackling. In D3D9 mode I can set the buffer to 1 without it causing issues. (This is on Windows 10 with GTX1070)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Direct3D11 mode should be mostly complete now.
Do you still have plans for low latency vsync / single buffering in D3D11 mode?
Dr.Venom is offline  
Old 21 December 2017, 19:18   #254
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Venom View Post
Works very nice as far as I could test so far.

One thing I'm noticing in D3D11 mode is that I cannot lower the soundbuffer below 6 or sound gets crackling. In D3D9 mode I can set the buffer to 1 without it causing issues. (This is on Windows 10 with GTX1070)
I can't duplicate. Does it happen in "all" modes? (windowed, fullscreen, different buffer sized etc...)

Quote:
Do you still have plans for low latency vsync / single buffering in D3D11 mode?
Probably not until 3.6 is out.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 December 2017, 14:20   #255
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
- D3D11: if Windows 7 and DXGI 1.1+ is not detected, show message that asks to install Platform Update (KB2670838). WinUAE requires DXGI 1.1. DXGI 1.0 won't be supported.
Currently you require DXGI 1.2 I think? CreateDXGIFactory1(__uuidof(IDXGIFactory2), (void**)&factory2);
and call CreateSwapChainForHwnd().

[How would the equivalent of CreateSwapChainForHwnd() be achieved with DXGI 1.1?]
mark_k is offline  
Old 22 December 2017, 16:53   #256
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,534
It should have said platform update adds 1.2 support. 1.1 and older won't be supported.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 December 2017, 17:30   #257
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Venom View Post
One thing I'm noticing in D3D11 mode is that I cannot lower the soundbuffer below 6 or sound gets crackling.
I moved Present() call to separate thread which is signaled from main loop so if Present() needs to wait, it won't stall whole emulation. Does it help?

(I think this can also enable use of GetFrameLatencyWaitableObject() later..)

EDIT: "no buffer" now enables DXGI_SWAP_EFFECT_DISCARD (blit model swapchain instead of flip model) so that flipping can be immediate, even when not in vblank.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 22 December 2017 at 18:54.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 December 2017, 08:51   #258
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 3,271
Sorry to distub,
but is it normal that older fx shaders display so badly with dx11 ??
Which others shaders will be perhaps supported ??
Sorry if you explained it before but there is some technical language i missed in your posts.
ps:X1X2X3X4 doesn't work for me (diplayed gfx bigger than the screen).
I'm late, i know.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 25 December 2017, 10:01   #259
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,534
Not enough information.

EDIT: 1) attach fx file 2) attach config 3) attach winuaelog.txt.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 25 December 2017 at 15:05.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 December 2017, 21:26   #260
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
EDIT: "no buffer" now enables DXGI_SWAP_EFFECT_DISCARD (blit model swapchain instead of flip model) so that flipping can be immediate, even when not in vblank.
Did you experiment with DXGI_SWAP_EFFECT_FLIP_DISCARD too?

Testing winuae.exe 2017-12-23 21:11 on Windows 10 1709, AMD FirePro W5100 in D3D11 mode:
- With "No buffering" vsync is now forced in full-window mode. Before (with 3.6.0b14) there was tearing in full-window mode with No buffering.
- With "Double buffering" there is still tearing in full-window mode (same as 3.6.0b14).
- Still in full-window mode, running emulation with double buffering, opening setttings, changing to no buffering and continuing emulation results in the previous image remaining static on-screen but sound playing. So emulation runs but the display is not updated at all.

Last edited by mark_k; 25 December 2017 at 21:34.
mark_k is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE Development. Better than the real thing...yet? antiriad76 support.WinUAE 6 18 May 2017 14:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09397 seconds with 13 queries