English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 February 2003, 01:03   #1
Peter Leyland
 
Posts: n/a
2.1 gig IBM HD

I've just been to pick up the above hard drive for my A1200.
Would someone please assist me to get the 1200 to recognise and format it....Its dooin my yed in!
I assume I have to install the HD toolbox on the install disk, then go into partitioning and formatting, but thats as far as it lets me go, the only check box thats not ghosted is the Change Drive Type and thats not the one I want. It also says that the drive type is unknown.....Hellllllyp
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 February 2003, 01:17   #2
rattus
Registered User
rattus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 328
er...

I assume that you've put the HD inside the amiga? right then, boot the amiga with your workbench 3.0/3.1 disk in the drive, you should then be able to format the new HD from one of the menus...I think...

once that is done, boot with the workbench install disk in the drive and follow the instructions (or download BloodWych's ClassicWB from download.abime.net since it looks very nice )

just a quick note, for 3.0/3.1 amigas partitions must be under 2.0GB in size, so you'll need to have two partitions

sorry...I should be more helpful once I get my new HD sometime soon
rattus is offline  
Old 22 February 2003, 01:17   #3
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Don't boot with the workbench disk, boot with the install disk.

You need to choose change drive type and define a new type first. Then choose "read configuration" to read information from the drive and then you will be allowed to partition it.

No need to copy hdtoolbox anywhere. Just run it from the install disk. Making at least two partitions is a good thing. You won't need a large system partition ~200mb is enough.
 
Old 22 February 2003, 01:39   #4
Peter Leyland
 
Posts: n/a
Thankyou both for your Prompt and very helpful replies, I seem to be on a winner (fingers crossed)....

Thanx a lot
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to setup my 4 gig CF card ... waltermixxx Hardware mods 8 04 August 2013 23:07
40 gig hdd and sfs. leytond support.Hardware 50 12 May 2009 12:05
40 gig 2,5 HD shalonger support.Hardware 3 24 July 2006 17:00
4 gig or not 4 gig...that is the question ! THX1138 support.Hardware 9 30 May 2003 00:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16231 seconds with 11 queries